1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

popups lately 8/4/09

Discussion in 'Comments & Feedback' started by Fitseries3, Aug 4, 2009.

  1. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (5.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    i been getting these about 5 times a day. they usually pop up on tpu homepage or a tpu review or news post. never on any other site. ad-aware doesnt find anything wrong with it and adblock isnt stopping it.

    is anyone else getting these? they all say opinion central

    [​IMG]
     
  2. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,341 (5.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,654
    Location:
    Florida
    negatory friend
     
  3. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,003 (3.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,876
    havent seen them either. can you expand the window and show what the location bar (of teh popup) shows?

    you might have some kind of trojan on your system
     
  4. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,882 (13.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,281
    I got one the other day, on the front page using IE 8. I closed it out and ignored it. Ran Malwarebytes and Avast, nothing turned up.
     
  5. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,217 (3.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,115
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    I got a popup blocked by firefox at work from the TPU homepage yesterday. I ignored it but fit and I talked about it.
     
  6. Asylum

    Asylum

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,817 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    686
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Got 1 running IE8 yesterday also.
     
  7. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,436 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,621
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    Fitseries3 says thanks.
  8. rampage

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,050 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Port Fairy, Victoria, Australia
    i had one at work either 24 or 48 hrs ago here at work, its using IE6
     
  9. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,217 (3.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,115
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    Just got the same Option Central one at work again.
     
    Fitseries3 says thanks.
  10. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (5.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    got this one by clicking on the navigation arrows in the review panel at the top of the home page.

    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

  11. sttubs

    sttubs

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    648 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    97
    I'm using IE8 with Avast! & Ad-Aware, never seen a pop up.
     
  12. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,175 (7.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,705
    I just got it. I'm on a Mac using Safari.
     
  13. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,436 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,621
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
  14. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    I'm running IE8 with only its default popup-blocker and have never seen these.
     
  15. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    MACS GET POPUPS?! :laugh: I don't think I've gotten anything, but I have adblockplus and I just reinstalled Vista64 so..
     
  16. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (5.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    again

    [​IMG]
     
  17. A Cheese Danish

    A Cheese Danish

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    2,963 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    413
    Location:
    your local vending machine
    I wonder if it has anything to do with that NikeStore add.
    I haven't received any pop-ups.
     
  18. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,882 (13.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,281
    Does it only seem to happen when the Nike Store ad comes up?
     
  19. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (5.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    not every time.

    for some reason that nike ad is the only one i've been getting now for over a week.
     
  20. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,217 (3.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,115
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    Just got the popup again at work, with the nike ad. Looks like there may be a correlation.
     
    Fitseries3 says thanks.
  21. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (5.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    well first i got this....

    [​IMG]

    was in the forums... no nike ad.

    but RIGHT AFTER THAT i returned to the home page and nike ad triggered this....

    [​IMG]
     
  22. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,003 (3.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,876
    you are saying you got a popup in the forums?
     
  23. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (5.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    yes. somehow.

    i have run:

    superantispyware
    ad aware
    avg antivirus
    avg antispyware
    norton corporate
    avast
    ccleaner
    registycleaner

    and a few others.

    i have found a few small things but this popup issue still exists.

    it ONLY happens on tpu.
     
  24. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,846 (11.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,713
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    From forums, going back to homepage, I think. I never saw a popup myself though. Because of where I live, I get "buy cheap watches" and IBM all the time :)
     
  25. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,003 (3.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,876
    there is nothing on the forums that could cause an ad to pop up.

    next time you get a popup get me the source of the page. also i need the source of the top right banner (right click close to its border until you get a view source option), and also the source of the popup. email that all to w1zzard@techpowerup.com
     
    Fitseries3 says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page