1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Possible bad hard drive?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by spud107, Aug 1, 2008.

  1. spud107

    spud107

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    1,194 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    131
    Location:
    scotland
    About a month ago i built a pc with vista64,
    specs
    athlon64 4800 AM2
    msi k9n neo v3
    2x1gb elixer 800mhz
    seagate barracuda 80gb sata
    generic 400w psu (temporary)
    7300gt (temporary)

    all seemed fine but was brought back to me a while ago, it wasnt booting up, just hanging, pressed reset,
    all i got when trying to boot was operating system not found,
    when i went to the repair option on vista's disk it didn't find any os,
    it seemed like it was formatted, no used space,
    reinstalled again an it went through that ok, got stuff reinstalled, left it for a couple days,
    went to go test it earlier and again, booting up, infinite loading bar again, reset - no operating system found, :banghead:
    right now im reinstalling again, but changed drive setting in bios from ide to ahci, also removed the speed limit jumper from drive, (forgot to remove when put together:))
    although i doubt those would cause a drive severe amnesia . . .
     
  2. richjordan255

    richjordan255 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    378 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Staffordshire, UK
    it is your HDD i had a similar issue with a maxtor a while back its because of bad sectors nothin u can do about that one im afraid, i did a zero fill at one point it lasted a week hen went its wont be reliable id get a new HDD or if thats still in warranty get it swapped
     
    spud107 says thanks.
  3. thoughtdisorder

    thoughtdisorder New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,818 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    269
    Location:
    Just South of Mars
    Does sound like the HDD. Do you have a "spare" HDD lying about that you could try out? That would let you know asap.....;)
     
    spud107 says thanks.
  4. spud107

    spud107

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    1,194 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    131
    Location:
    scotland
    hmmm 5 year warranty, should be ok lol,
    was planning on gettin a bigger one soon anyway, just a pain having to deal with this one,
    no point trying to reinstall if its gonna go tits up, better go press the OFF button , , ,

    edit - my main pc has eaten all my spare drives, but everything else on pc worked fine, ran tf2 until i got it back,
     
  5. thoughtdisorder

    thoughtdisorder New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,818 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    269
    Location:
    Just South of Mars
    Sounds like a plan! Good luck!:toast:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page