1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Post code 99 at boot; help

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Ravenas, Jul 18, 2012.

  1. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,635 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Location:
    Tennessee
    I just swapped some parts to my computer worked fine before now I am getting a post code 99. I can't get to windows or anything... My mobo is showing 99 too


    At this point I have tried all of the following:

    Disconnecting HHD (SATA and POWER)
    Disconnecting Opitical Drive (SATA and POWER) DISCONNECTING ALL F-PANEL (PWR SW, PWR LED, HDD LED, RESET SW)
    Disconnecting the USB and HD AUDIO
    Disconnecting ALL fans.
    Mounting and remounting the motherboard
    Mounting and remounting the CPU
    Attempting to use a new video card
    Attempting to use a new power supply
    Placing MOBO on a different surface
    Reseting the CMOS via the on board button and removing the battery
    Using only 1 stick of ram to boot
    New PSU


    Basically I am booting the PC with the power button on the MOBO and the only things connected are the 8 pin MOBO power, the CPU, 1 stick of ram, and 2 different working video cards.

    After doing all of those things, the MOBO stills post code "99" on the screen and on the MOBO itself. Additionally, keyboard does not work. Furthermore, I cannot access my BIOS or boot screen.

    The original video card and the replacement video card both work on another PC therefore they are not the problem.

    Thus, at this point, I have narrowed the malfunction down to either the following two components:

    Motherboard
    CPU (which I doubt, but do not have a AM3+ mobo on hand)

    Any suggestions or advice are more than welcome and needed.

    I am considering RMAing the motherboard... This process will most likely be 2 weeks and they may send it back saying it works it is my CPU...

    ADDITION (7-18-2012):

    On a side note, I decided to remove the processor. The processor and the heatsink became merged together. What I mean when I say they became merged is that the thermal paste become basically a superglue between the heatsink and the processor (the FX-4170 naturally runs hot, thus, AMD has included an upgraded heatsink in it with better thermal paste). Anyhow, in order to remove the thing I could only get the mounting lever about a little over half way up. Therefore, on the back row, the pins bent a little (I would say there were making somewhere between a 80-85 degree angle orthogonal to the board). I took a credit card and a screw driver and straightend the pins, stuck it back in, still posted the same thing.

    Last but not least, I read over the mobo specifications and realized that it was backwards compatible. The MSI 990FXA-GD80 AM3+ AMD 990FX SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard supports the following CPU types/sockets:

    I realized I had a (working) AMD CPU HDZ955FBGMBOX Phenom II X4 955 Black Edition 3.2GHz AM3 125W Retail, thus, I mounted it on the MOBO... SAME CODE POSTED...

    It must be the motherboard.
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2012
  2. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,635 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Location:
    Tennessee
    I can't get to bios either
  3. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,635 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Here is the sequence 19 364f 96 69 70 62 99
  4. temp02 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Messages:
    493 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    166
    None of those debug codes are mentioned on the manual for your system specs board (MSI 990FXA-GD80, page 39).

    Reset the BIOS using the Clear CMOS jumper (see page 34 of the manual) or the back button (see page 26 of the manual), then try to boot again.
    Ravenas says thanks.
  5. lindy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Messages:
    81 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    45° 59' 55.57” N 86° 09' 20.10” W
    What I found is that it may be a damaged MBR. Try going into the BIO's at boot then hitting save and exit... It might work as a work around. The other thing to do would be as an extreme measure is restore the MBR. I say extreme because I'm not concrete certain about the error code.
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2012
  6. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,635 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Location:
    Tennessee
    I can't get to the bios even with ps2 keyboard.
  7. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,453 (7.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,967
    disconnect the HDD and see if you can get to bios.
  8. lindy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Messages:
    81 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    45° 59' 55.57” N 86° 09' 20.10” W
    Can you boot from the optical drive, or a USB thumb drive?
  9. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,635 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Keyboards aren't working. No lights on them or anything. Can't get to bios or boot menu
  10. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,635 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Location:
    Tennessee
    I removed the battery (waited 5 mins) in order to reset the CMOS. Same code... If I take the video card out no more code 99 posted on motherboard
  11. lindy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Messages:
    81 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    45° 59' 55.57” N 86° 09' 20.10” W
    Well that should be a clue dere eh. :D Do you have another vid card to try?
  12. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,635 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Not currently. It could be the PCI-e slot as well... Im going to get another vid card tomorrow.
  13. lindy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Messages:
    81 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    45° 59' 55.57” N 86° 09' 20.10” W
    Try the card in another slot? The worst that can happen is that your computer will burst into flames, dance around on your desk, and shoot fire ball at you! :D
    Ravenas says thanks.
  14. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,453 (7.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,967
    wait, you say you swapped around some parts, what was swapped?
  15. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,635 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Location:
    Tennessee
    No no just swapped from 1 case to another. I tried a different PCI-slot it thinks there is no video card
  16. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,635 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Location:
    Tennessee
    The computer worked this morning in the previous case now since I swapped it doesn't work.
  17. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,453 (7.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,967
    sorry to say this, but its either a short or you possibly knocked something lose.

    I know it isn't what you want to hear, but I would pull it all out of the case and see what happens there. At least you can eliminate a dead short to the case or possibly the F Panel wires.
  18. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,635 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Location:
    Tennessee
    I tried to unplug everything and plug back in... The f panel may not be right. I tried booting with one stick of ram as well
  19. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,453 (7.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,967
    ok, but if the board is shorting on the case somehow, all of that really wont matter;)
    Ravenas says thanks.
  20. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,635 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Location:
    Tennessee
    I checked the f panel. Everything is unplugged as far as optical drive and hdd. It has to be the board shorting. It could be the the GPU as well.
  21. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,635 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Location:
    Tennessee
    I literally unplugged everything even the f panel and moved the motherboard no luck. Maybe the video card
  22. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,635 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ok update, does not work with new video card

    Maybe motherboard or psu?
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2012
  23. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,635 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Location:
    Tennessee
    This morning, to no avail, I tried a new power supply.

    At this point I have tried all of the following:

    • Disconnecting HHD (SATA and POWER)
    • Disconnecting Opitical Drive (SATA and POWER)
    • DISCONNECTING ALL F-PANEL (PWR SW, PWR LED, HDD LED, RESET SW)
    • Disconnecting the USB and HD AUDIO
    • Disconnecting ALL fans.
    • Mounting and remounting the motherboard
    • Mounting and remounting the CPU
    • Attempting to use a new video card
    • Attempting to use a new power supply
    • Placing MOBO on a different surface
    • Reseting the CMOS via the on board button and removing the battery
    • Using only 1 stick of ram to boot
    • New PSU


    Basically I am booting the PC with the power button on the MOBO and the only things connected are the 8 pin MOBO power, the CPU, 1 stick of ram, and 2 different working video cards.

    After doing all of those things, the MOBO stills post code "99" on the screen and on the MOBO itself. Additionally, keyboard does not work. Furthermore, I cannot access my BIOS or boot screen.

    The original video card and the replacement video card both work on another PC therefore they are not the problem.

    Thus, at this point, I have narrowed the malfunction down to either the following two components:

    1. Motherboard
    2. CPU (which I doubt, but do not have a AM3+ mobo on hand)

    Any suggestions or advice are more than welcome and needed.

    I am considering RMAing the motherboard... This process will most likely be 2 weeks and they may send it back saying it works it is my CPU... :banghead:
  24. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,635 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Location:
    Tennessee
    I assume Windows will not let me boot on from my HDD if it detects a new motherboard and processor (I have found a test proccessor)?
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2012
  25. D007

    D007

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,052 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    361
    Location:
    Pompano beach, Florida
    I'm shooting in the dark here and scouring web pages trying to find something about this.. You try a non-usb Keyboard or mouse yet? Something to try..
    Safe to assume all power connectors/pins are connected to the mobo?

    EDIT: I'm pretty sure you tried the memory in every slot as well?
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2012

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)

Share This Page