1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Post your gpu's ASIC quality

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by fullinfusion, Aug 16, 2013.

  1. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,473 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,211
    I seen on option I didn't know about in Gpu-z

    If you right click the top left of the program and click on "Read ASIC Quality" it will show you the quality of the chip for over clocking.
    *I hold the mouse over the Republic of gamer logo*

    Whats your card's Number %

    Here's my 1st card

    [​IMG]


    Shitty card

    [​IMG]
     
  2. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,946 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,613
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    MSI reference 7970: 72.7%, 1150/1650 1.2v (~1.13v measured). No idea what the original stock voltage was before flashing a boost BIOS, but I think it was ~1.15v
    XFX DD HD 7950: 84.2%, 1150/1500+ 1.175? (0.975v stock on a Gigabyte boost BIOS)
    Gigabyte HD 7950 Windforce 3x: currently out for RMA for turning into a veggie after just 6 months, was probably in the 60s because out of the box it had 1.25v vcore and it couldn't get over 1125MHz on the core.
     
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2013
    fullinfusion says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  3. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,778 (9.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,238
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    My gigabyte 7970 reference card.

    [​IMG]
     
    fullinfusion says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,473 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,211
    Stock voltage ok guys. Those numbers are nice!

    Nice it should clock like mad that one :respect:
     
  5. qu4k3r

    qu4k3r

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    253 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    156
    Location:
    Valencia, Venezuela
    PoV GTX570 TGT UC

    [​IMG]
     
    fullinfusion says thanks.
  6. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,215 (6.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,385
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    I don't have my rig up right now but my 780 ASIC is 84.3%. One of the highest I've seen on 780s.
     
    fullinfusion says thanks.
  7. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    EVGA reference GTX580

    [​IMG]
     
    fullinfusion says thanks.
  8. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,946 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,613
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    Updated my post with stock voltages. The XFX is the best of my three but has the worst VRM section, go figure. Vice versa with my Gigabyte, and my MSI 7970 is middle of the road. :)
     
    fullinfusion says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  9. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,473 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,211
    Yeah i hear what your saying!

    All this time I've been using my top card thinking it was the best one out of the two but was i wrong lol...

    Interesting to see the numbers we all have.

    This is my top card with the bottom removed from the system[/B

    [​IMG]

    Bottom card in the top slot now

    [​IMG]

    I should send the one back for RMA and say its screwed :twitch:
     
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2013
  10. acerace

    acerace

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2011
    Messages:
    252 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    57
    Location:
    Malaysia
    [​IMG]

    Yeah, haha.
     
    fullinfusion says thanks.
  11. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,473 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,211
    Try as admin? and that sucks if the 6 series dont show. Is that a reference ati card?

    Well I wished I knew about this months ago as I could have swapped it out no questions asked to the retailer I deal with but the catch is it's a 2 hr drive both ways to exchange it, and whats not saying I would've got a worse gpu lol... I did it with my 3770K but only needed to make the second trip to get a good one.. :D

    It's weird the one is better then the other, The batch numbers are within 200 so one would figure it be a good one. But I guessed wrong :mad:
     
  12. jihadjoe

    jihadjoe

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    393 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    101
    Doesn't work for 6000 series. AFAIK ASIC quality is only for Fermi, Kepler and Southern Islands (so far).

    You can look at the GPU-Z changelogs here: http://www.gpu-z.de/
    Just search for the ASIC keyword and it'll take you to the entries where support for reading ASIC was added to for certain GPU families.
     
    fullinfusion says thanks.
  13. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,747 (3.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,956
    [​IMG]

    Isn't there an old thread from when gpuz first got this feature.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,762 (5.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,294
    I don't know what the fuss is about asic, mine can overclock to 1250/1750 easily.

    [​IMG]
     
  15. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,473 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,211
    Well thats what we are trying to learn here...

    Is that stock clocks voltage?

    I can run 1275-1300 and 1850ish memory with higher voltage

    I test mine with stock volt and 1200mhz core for starters...
    the one card does 1145 no artifact... the other card 1225 no artifact so go figure.

    I run Hevenbench mark 3.0 on defaults to see if its stable.
     
  16. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    11,247 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,803
    Location:
    US
    Shame the 6xxx range was not added that's if it is actually possible.

    Although never had a issue with my card and the VRM's are some of the coolest i have ever seen.

    Yeah i believe it was added to GPU-z around version 0.5.0
     
  17. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,762 (5.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,294
    yea that's stock with the read asic.

    for reference I used another asus 7950 (exact same as mine)

    55% asic quality and doesn't overclock at all (1100/1500 crashes)

    however, I didn't reinstall drivers or anything when I used it. so that may have been the problem.

    your cards on water? mines on air cooling and well that's the max id push on air.
     
  18. MT Alex

    MT Alex

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,835 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,663
    [​IMG]
     
    fullinfusion says thanks.
  19. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,747 (3.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,956
    My card runs similar to yours.

    That old thread back during apparently gpuz 5.0, there was a thread like this. We learned asic really had very little to do with anything more than power consumption.
     
    fullinfusion says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. VulkanBros

    VulkanBros

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    1,388 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    307
    Location:
    The Pico Mundo Grill
    GTX480

    [​IMG]
     
    fullinfusion says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,473 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,211
    Didn't know that and thanks.. but I'm looking at all gpu's in general to see whats the most consistence out of them all.

    I'm sure seeing a nice difference in switching my cards around in my benches, and numbers is a good thing ;)

    Nope air cooled at 60% fan speed.... the highest temp is 60c
     
    d1nky says thanks.
  22. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    8,045 (2.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,802
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    Gigabyte GTX Windforce 3 GTX 770 2GB - 78%

    [​IMG]

    Been a solid performing card. Turbo's well past what it's ratings are..calls for 1137 core, runs at 1228 under load all day long at around 75C tops in the summer heat. I've yet to even try to OC this card because it runs so damn well and my games are soooo smooth.

    This thread should have a GPU Make/Model/ASIC % grid in the OP imho. :toast:
     
    fullinfusion says thanks.
  23. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,473 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,211
    You my friend have one hell of a gpu!

    Id do a grid but unfortunately my work keeps me away all week with one day to play. And grids would be new to me.. Umless :)

    If some one wants to volunteer Ill get a hold of a moderator to open up Post number two for the chart :respect:
     
    Kursah says thanks.
  24. Sempron Guy

    Sempron Guy

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    269 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    85
    XFX HD7950 DD - 86.7%

    doesn't matter though, my card is sh*t :p

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2013
  25. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,495 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    792
    here is my Asus GTX 670 DCII 4gb

    [​IMG]

    i am not excited about how far it clocks, but i can do like 1050mhz on core :(

    but i mostly just run GTX 680 speeds without a problem.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)

Share This Page