1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Post your gpu's ASIC quality

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by fullinfusion, Aug 16, 2013.

  1. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,444 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    Meh, my XFX 7950 has a meagre 61.5% ASIC score though runs cool and overclocks almost as well as my last Vapor X 7950 which had a really good score of about 85%
     
  2. BiggieShady

    BiggieShady

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    Messages:
    996 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    332
    Location:
    Zagreb, Croatia
    My ASIC is 84.6%
    Not oc-ing, plenty fast and loud as is
    [​IMG]
     
  3. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5,012 (2.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,032
    Location:
    Oregon
    Mine is like 58%
     
  4. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,850 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    613
    [​IMG]
     
  5. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,709 (13.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,108
    Card is stable, under water. 1.25v set in Trixx.

    [​IMG]
     
    fullinfusion says thanks.
  6. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,174 (2.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,048
    It's actually one of the first 7970 Core Edition models released by XFX.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. jihadjoe

    jihadjoe

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    386 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    97
  8. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,572 (3.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    642
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    XFX HD 7970

    [​IMG]
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    Not really tried to crank it max, I've not really got any experience with Nvidia cards or afterburner.

    If anyone fancy's giving me a hand, I will see what it can do.

    What is a safe voltage to set so I can give it a blast? The cooler is pretty good.

    I had it at 950/2200 with voltage at .975<this right with the .?

    [​IMG]

    I think that is stock voltage but I'm not sure.
     
  10. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    Hows this?

    [​IMG]

    Not a dubble post, wanted to bump it up if that's ok.
     
  11. welly31 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Messages:
    36 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    ASIC quality IS NOT how well a card overclocks. Its more about how much leakage there is and how effectively it utilizes its voltage. Indirectly ASIC quality could effect overclockability but just because a card has high ASIC does not mean it will clock higher than a card with lower ASIC.
     
  12. VulkanBros

    VulkanBros

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    1,350 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    283
    Location:
    The Pico Mundo Grill
    GTX 670 DirectCU II
     

    Attached Files:

    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,303 (3.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,097
    Ok I get ya but... explain to me why one of my cards cant handle 1200MHz @ stock volts ,and the other one can without any problems. the worse clocker is 65.7 and the better one is 73.4////
     
  14. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,709 (13.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,108
    Same for me!
     
  15. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,990 (2.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    803
    Location:
    Italy
    Thirded! :toast:

    The lower ASIC one clocks worse, even on water.
     
  16. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,303 (3.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,097
  17. shovenose

    shovenose

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013
    Messages:
    797 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Sparkle Calibre GTX 670 2GB - 83.5%
     
  18. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,990 (2.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    803
    Location:
    Italy
    I found that Valley runs higher clocks stable than some games.

    Like Skyrim/Crysis3 and MetroLL completely trash on my Valley stable clocks.
     
  19. Roph

    Roph

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    378 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    108
    [​IMG]

    Seems like a respectable overclock from a 7770. XFX Core edition.
     
  20. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    whether ASIC makes a difference or not, I'm surprised there are no more as high as my 94%.
     
  21. basco

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    97 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    austria
    tigger says thanks.
  22. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    Nice, how much volts will it take with the stock cooler? it does have a heatsink on the vregs too. max I have pushed it is 1k with 1.0volts, i don't know how far to go on the volts. Don't want to kill it :(

    Thanks
     
  23. basco

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    97 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    austria
    i put on the msi 560ti hawk bios with 1,21volt max.mine came without the vrm cooler.
    i think with norm bios is 1,15volt.
    if the temp does not exceed 80° to 90° with full load your good to go.
    you have to feel comfortable with temps then volt is not the problem.

    you can always look for spezifikation:max temp 99°
    http://www.geforce.co.uk/hardware/desktop-gpus/geforce-gtx-560ti/specifications
     
    tigger says thanks.
  24. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    Max volts on mine is 1.15v, The cooler is pretty good, most I've seen is about 75c ish.

    Will the 560ti hawk bios be ok on mine? I'll see if it's in the TPU bios collection.

    You got a link to the hawk bios?
     
  25. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,174 (2.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,048
    yet my 7970 has one of the highest ASIC ratings in this thread, but it won't do anything close to what Erocker's can do. Best I've gotten out of it using MSI Afterburner is 1090/1400. Using Trixx, I have gotten 1150/1425. But nothing close to the 1300 MHz Erocker can do on his core.

    [​IMG]
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 3 (0 members and 3 guests)

Share This Page