1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Post your gpu's ASIC quality

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by fullinfusion, Aug 16, 2013.

  1. Prof1980 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2014
    Messages:
    7 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    This is mine.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. xvi

    xvi

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,987 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,158
    Location:
    Washington, US
    Looks like the HD 6XXX series is a no-go as well as the integrated 7310 on my work computer. :(

    Anyone have an explanation on where these values are coming from? Is it estimated off of stock voltage or something? Is it written in a register on the card somewhere?
     
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2014
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. Prof1980 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2014
    Messages:
    7 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Apparently its based on the actual gpu itself, and the higher the percentage you get, means it needs less volts, overclocks well (even just as standard with gpu boost 2.0) without doing it yourself, but I have read that this means if you want to overclock further your more likely to achieve a higher value, this is based on some research i did the other day and it seems to be the case, it actually checks your card when it opens to access how good it is basically for that, it only works on nvidia 6 series and above and the latest ATI which is why your not getting the value
     
  4. Shambles1980

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Messages:
    538 (3.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    102
    ok so this asci stuff is a bit strange..
    basically if you have good cooling (custom loop withe plenty of rad space) A lower asci will let you over clock higher than a high asci score because you have access to more power as they had to give it more power to get the stock speeds working. but you will need a lot more cooling.
    and if you use stock cooling a higher asci will let you over clock further because of the cooler temps and lower voltages. but you will hit a wall sooner because you dont have as much power

    this would only be true if you dont think about editing bioses to increase the voltage, if you edit the bios and up the voltages then the higher asci score is always going to be better

    Thats about right isnt it?

    also is there a feature like this for cpu's?
     
  5. fusionblu

    fusionblu

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    282 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    London, England, UK
    Here is the ASIC Quality of my Gigabyte GTX Titan Graphics Card. Quality results seem to be random.

    ASIC Quality Titan.png
     
  6. Prof1980 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2014
    Messages:
    7 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Yes I think this is basically it man. It doesn't necessarily mean say my card with 93.5% is 'better' than yours with 75% it just means mine will need less voltage so on air I would probably achieve a higher clock speed, If you have a custom loop you should be able to achieve the same speed as mine although you'll need more voltage.

    Now as a guess im assuming this is used by the card to determine how much it will auto up itself on it's own too (G.P.U boost 2.0) as my card hits a masssive 1320mhtz on the core with no overclock forced by myself at all (770gtx). I havnt even tried overclocking it further with afterburner (yet lol).
     
  7. Prof1980 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2014
    Messages:
    7 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I Assume it's coming off the stock voltage, and no it can be different for two of the same card so it's not coming from the bios.
     
  8. Prof1980 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2014
    Messages:
    7 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Having looked at this again, it would seem that nvidia does infact embed the number onto the chip after manufacture, And it relates to electrical leakage, So higher percentage means less leakage so in turn the chip should run on a lower voltage.

    However this does NOT mean the chip will necessarily over clock higher only that it will achieve a clock at lower volts, meaning less temps. It's entirely possible to outclock a high percentage asic with a lower one however this will require more volts, so it may need to be cooled with a custom loop to achieve what a higher percentage asic will do on air :)

    To be honest if your not overclocking it makes no difference at all.
     
    HazMatt says thanks.
  9. D1RTYD1Z619

    D1RTYD1Z619

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    29 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    so what percentage would be considered crappy and why should I care about my cards ASIC?
     
  10. Shambles1980

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Messages:
    538 (3.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    102
    dunno if you would need to care really.. lots of variables other than asic quality come in to play when you are talking about ocing gpus' vrm's what type of memory, bios voltage limits.. i guess in the end of the day in a perfect world 90% and better would be considered great though as it seems the boost ratios and stock voltages are the same for 90% and 100%
     
  11. Prof1980 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2014
    Messages:
    7 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    No from what i can fathom it basically means higher score - less voltage - less heat. It has no bearing on the clock-ability of the card except for most users that will be cooling on air of course a higher percentage is favorable. I mean i'm keen on pc's and have water cooling on my cpu but I tend to upgrade the graphics card more often so in my case I cool it on air, Which lets face it the majority do so in that case yes higher asic is better. I get the impression iasic in it's infancy atm I should think we will start to see some more meaningful purpose in a few years time.... And as far as cpu's are concerned I should think the manufacturers prob do embed a similar thing however there is currently no software to let you know the end result.
    Apparently nvidia have had the info embedded on the chips for years it just wasn't detectable due to lack of software to show the values.
    It was done apparently so if lets say gigabyte sell a premium range (i.e overclocked as standard) graphics card, they could choose the best (or better chips) from the embedded info. I'ts highly likely Intel have the same info embedded on there cpu's so they can determine which one will be a standard/k version/extreme however im guessing at that if im honest but it would make sense considering the amount that are being produced to put them in some sort of order ....
     
  12. Prof1980 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2014
    Messages:
    7 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I wouldn't worry at all man, I think it would only ever really be an issue if your an extreme overclocker, Figures like this can seem worring when not explained properly to the likes of you and me, which is why I think they will have a better way of determining the outcome in future, but for now really it is a figure embedded by the manufacturer and was never really meant to be told to the general public, It won't have any bearing on how long the card will last etc...
     
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2014
  13. bubbleawsome

    bubbleawsome

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2014
    Messages:
    155 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    66
    Whoo, new 7970.
    [​IMG]
     
  14. AlienIsGOD

    AlienIsGOD

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,443 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,491
    Recently acquired GTX 680 :D

    Screenshot_3.png
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. savemenico New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2014
    Messages:
    1 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Zotac GTX 770 Amp 2GB

    [​IMG]
     
  16. The N

    The N

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    39 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Pakistan
    Gigabyte GTX 760 Windforce 3x

    can easily OCed till 1332/1702 Benchmark Stabled @ Valley Benchmark

    [​IMG]
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (1 member and 1 guest)

dingfix

Share This Page