1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Post your HDD Speeds!

Discussion in 'Storage' started by satindemon4u, Sep 10, 2011.

  1. Zedicus

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2004
    Messages:
    490 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    hopefully this works, dificult getting usable test results off of it. 8 1tb hitachi E7k drives in raid 5 on HP P410
    tests ran while box was in use. the +++++ means the test completed before a usable measure could be recorded, i increased the test size until i got mostly usable results. measuring with defaults got me +++++ on basically everything.
     

    Attached Files:

    • hd.jpg
      hd.jpg
      File size:
      106.4 KB
      Views:
      58
  2. satindemon4u

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    782 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Can you test it with HD Tune or no? Not sure how I am to pull data from that...lol
     
  3. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,168 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,044
    500gb Seagate 7200.12


    [​IMG]

    not bad considering it's 5-6 years old(I got it used in 2009)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. Arjai

    Arjai

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,048 (2.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,208
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    [​IMG]

    First time I have ever SEEN Disk 0, my 24 GB cache SSD, ever show anything but 0% ! Unfortunately, it was also the only time I saw a windows, perhaps ASUS, popup telling me my HDD was running unusually hot! Also unfortunately, TPU Capture would not load fast enough to record the activity on my SSD cache.

    So, forgot the guidelines for posting, and, really don't know why I did this with a 5400 RPM laptop HDD. But, here it is. They high point has to be the point where it accessed the SSD.

    PS, Also, not bad considering this thing is using SATA 2!
     
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2014
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. satindemon4u

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    782 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    List has been updated. :)
     
  6. Blue-Knight

    Blue-Knight

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2013
    Messages:
    332 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    47
    But the model is included in the post. Please, change it to HDD0 (ST380215A).

    But the model is included in the post. Please, change it to HDD1 (ST3160813AS).

    Thank you!
     
  7. satindemon4u

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    782 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    First post has been updated to include the models.
     
    Blue-Knight says thanks.
  8. EnJeyTee New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2014
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Four 1 TB WD Caviar Blue in Raid 0
    500GB System Partition
    3+TB 2nd Partition

    test 4hdd raid 0.png

    test 4hdd raid 0 .png
     
  9. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,179 (2.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,663
    4x WD Black RAID 0 - 404.7 - 490.2 - 453 AthlonX2
    [​IMG]

    2 x Seagate 600 RAID 0 - 980.8 - 1031.9 - 1000.8 AthlonX2
    [​IMG]
     
  10. Sleath New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2014
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Ramdisks are fun though... I think something is letting down the team in my pc though.

    [​IMG]
     
  11. Olias_of_Sunhillo

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    Messages:
    20 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Mine 2 by 1 Tb Samsung F3 in Raid 0
    HDTune_Benchmark_Intel___Raid_0_Volume.png
     
  12. azwel New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2014
    Messages:
    8 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    [​IMG]
    does mine look ok? theres a weird dip at the end. cpu is my inter dual core q9550.
    everything in my health was "Ok" Cpu was idle with no programs running for a few min
     
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2014
  13. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,972 (2.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,012
    Location:
    Oregon
    looks normal for an older drive. If the heath was good then its a good drive. Use Crystal Disk Info to see how many hours are on the drive. 40,000 hours is about it for a platter drive
     
  14. azwel New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2014
    Messages:
    8 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    thanks.. Ill download that
     
  15. azwel New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2014
    Messages:
    8 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    hey...40,670 hours.. Argh. How is the health "good' though
     
  16. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,972 (2.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,012
    Location:
    Oregon
    Its just not showing any SMART errors. They are designed to notify you if a failure is coming.

    You leave your PC running 24/7? lol

    If SMART data is turned on in the BIOS it will notify you before a failure. Hopefully. It actually works pretty good
     
  17. azwel New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2014
    Messages:
    8 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Yes. I leave it 24/7. Hmm what should i do from this point. Besides back the comp up.(although i cant and made another thread for that lol)
     
  18. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,972 (2.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,012
    Location:
    Oregon
    If it were me I would go ahead and replace the drive. Then sell the old one while its still good. But as long as you have a back up of your data. Just run it. It could last a while longer.

    A new drive will bring some performance gains with it
     
    azwel says thanks.
  19. azwel New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2014
    Messages:
    8 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    to what you mentioned above. how can i set up smart to turn up in the bios? will this help hd tune identify more things when i run it? i would thing hd tune would be automatically set to identify my problems. otherwise its lyinggg!
    thanx
     
  20. satindemon4u

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    782 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    I need to update the first page haha. Sorry guys! Will try to do so tomorrow. Been a bit busy lately with school and work and whatnot.
     
  21. freeleacher

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2013
    Messages:
    104 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    [​IMG]

    Intel 520
     
  22. 0x0000007b

    0x0000007b

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2012
    Messages:
    29 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Unknown location
    My Seagate Barracuda 7200.14 1TB drive on my new system bought on March 23 tested with HD Tune Pro 5.50.
    [​IMG]
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page