1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Post your HDD Speeds!

Discussion in 'Storage' started by satindemon4u, Sep 10, 2011.

  1. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,996 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    409
    Corsair Force 3 120GB SSD (RUNNING ON SATA2)
    [​IMG]

    WD VelociRaptor 300GB
    [​IMG]
     
  2. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,411 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    572
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    is something wrong, why is my ssd not listed yet dude 500Mb/s Revodrive x2 < ive read the list a bit better, here.


    the 3xdisk raid 0 is 3x western digital caviar blues 230 Gb 16mb cache and peaks at 225Mbs read spd, file is K220fast one
    the ssd is a OCZ revodrive X2 120Gb plugged in a pciex 2x8 and is file ssd500fast

    oh i read a bit more ill sort summat
     
    Last edited: Sep 15, 2011
    More than 25k PPD
  3. satindemon4u

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    810 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    I may have skipped it for that reason. Or more than likely had to get off and never remembered to add it. However if you test and post now with HDTune I can guarantee it will get up there! :D

    Sorry :/
     
  4. satindemon4u

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    810 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
  5. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,996 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    409
    Why not im only running Sata 2 not 3 like the others are.

    Corsair Force 3 120GB SSD
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  6. satindemon4u

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    810 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Oh. I guess that would do it then! Well thank you good sir!
     
  7. SlayerJC

    SlayerJC New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    Messages:
    39 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
  8. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,996 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    409
    HD Tune doesn't read SSD temps correctly.
     
  9. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,798 (6.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,680
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Old drives that refuse to die...
    2 x Seagate Barracuda 7200.7 250GB on ICH10R (RAID0) - 22.6 - 102.8 - 83.8 FordGT90Concept
    [​IMG]

    HA! -1.0% CPU usage. It's going so fast, it's gone backwards. :D
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. satindemon4u

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    810 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    lmfao!
     
  11. khemist

    khemist

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    191 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    441
    Location:
    Scotland, UK
    [​IMG]

    HyperX 240GB.
     
  12. rfowler30

    rfowler30 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    80 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    retested my ocz vertex 3 ssd on the intel p67 sata III driver and what a difference in speed!!!!!!!!!!!!! marvel is a really bad sata III port. im gonna retested my hdd too as i bet speeds will be much better with that as well. for now heres a pic of my ssd. not much of a difference with the hdd, but still none the less a little bit better scores.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Sep 16, 2011
  13. khemist

    khemist

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    191 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    441
    Location:
    Scotland, UK
    Did you run that installed as c drive or clean drive?.
     
  14. rfowler30

    rfowler30 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    80 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    i ran it as the C driver and D drive, no fresh install. just ploped that sata III cable into the p67 intel SATA III ports for both.
     
  15. khemist

    khemist

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    191 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    441
    Location:
    Scotland, UK
    My ATTO speeds are fine at least, that's good enough for me.

    [​IMG]
     
  16. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,644 (2.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,124
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA
    My Crystal Disk scores:

    OS Drive (Corsair 128GB SSD)

    [​IMG]

    App Drive (Seagate 320GB SATA)

    [​IMG]
     
  17. satindemon4u

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    810 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    List has been updated. Nice jumps fowler! Only thing is, I guess I don't understand what you mean when you say you changed something. What did you change?
     
  18. rfowler30

    rfowler30 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    80 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    i moved both of my 6gb sata III drivers from the marvell adapter on the asus sabertooth p67 to the INTEL sata III outlets on the motherboard, read on youtube.com and other places that ocz vertex 3 are meant for maximum speed on INTEL not marvel outputs. see where it says marvel sata 6 ports, i moved them from that and placed the sata 3 cords for my main devices into the INtel sata 6 ports
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Sep 17, 2011
  19. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,370 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,221
    [​IMG]

    Is this fast enough?

    2 120GB OCZ Agility 3 in RAID 0 on Highpoint Rocket RAID 640 Gen 3 PCIe 4X controller card
     
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  20. repman244

    repman244

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,104 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    456
    Steevo, how come there is such a massive difference between reads and writes?
     
  21. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,798 (6.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,680
    Location:
    IA, USA
    SSDs tend to have slower write performance than read performance because of how writing physically occurs in the drive as well as various wear-leveling technologies which extend write time. Write times are still usually substantially faster than HDDs though.
     
    repman244 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. repman244

    repman244

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,104 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    456
    I knew that writes are usually slower but I didn't know it was that much. Thank you for informing me, I only tried an SSD a few times on other computers but never really tested one.
     
  23. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,370 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,221
    Plus the Agilities don't have any cache, so writes have to occur directly to the memory, requiring all the work to be done immidiately.

    [​IMG]

    Increase my speed by tweaking NB speed and disabling PCIe power control, so it stopped putting lanes to sleep when not used. Stability testing continues today. After 24 more hours I will add the second array of 2 3TB hatiachi drives in their own RAID 0, then my 2TB drive by itself to be a backup drive.
     
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2011
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  24. Millennium

    Millennium New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Messages:
    610 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    76
    Location:
    London, UK
  25. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,370 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,221
    [​IMG]


    2) Hatachi 3TB 32MB Cache 5400RPM in RAID 0 on High Point RocketRAID 640 PCIe 4X
     
    10 Million points folded for TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page