1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Post your HDD Speeds!

Discussion in 'Storage' started by satindemon4u, Sep 10, 2011.

  1. alexsubri

    alexsubri New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,391 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    199
    Thank`s, they are actually SATA 3Gb/s..however (not that it makes a difference) I have them plugged into a SATA 6Gb/s cable. My ASUS Sabertooth 990FX comes with 6 of 6Gb/s SATA ports and 2 3Gb/s SATA ports (different controller).

    Sure, but remember the HD-Tune isn't recording my Raid 0 Driver, I don't know why? :confused:

    I don't want to update my driver to AMD Raid because its only for the 88x series and my motherboard is 990fx. I don't know if its backwards compatible.

    Here she goes one more time:

    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

    • 1.jpg
      1.jpg
      File size:
      203.1 KB
      Views:
      93
  2. Maban

    Maban

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,457 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,052
    Location:
    Minnesota, Canadian States of Norway
    You aren't using traditional RAID. You are using Windows 7's built in, entirely software, RAID. You should set it up properly. You'll get better performance.
     
  3. alexsubri

    alexsubri New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,391 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    199
    Isn't stripping it, RAID 0? I can install the Raid Driver, but its for 88x motherboards, mine is 990

    edit: let me just ask this question, should I download the 88x Raid driver even though mine is 990?

    Thanks
     
  4. Maban

    Maban

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,457 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,052
    Location:
    Minnesota, Canadian States of Norway
    SB850 and SB950 are effectively identical. Make sure you have your SATA mode set to RAID in the BIOS. You'll have to reinstall Windows or do a registry hack to change it if it's not set yet.
     
  5. ERazer

    ERazer

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,543 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    492
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    heres my intel 510 120gb, pretty much at spec

    [​IMG]
     
  6. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,432 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,253
    [​IMG]
     
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  7. khemist

    khemist

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    197 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    447
    Location:
    Scotland, UK
  8. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,432 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,253
    You are right, every other benchmark program including the "pro" version gives me over 700MBps read from my RAID array, on a dedicated card, that hundreds of others have tested, and only HD Tune free version reports odd results.


    Yep, seems legit.

    Windows 7 starts in 7 seconds.

    Yep, its slow.
     
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  9. ERazer

    ERazer

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,543 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    492
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    read first page
     
  10. satindemon4u

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    846 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
  11. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,432 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,253
    Same as before, two Agility 3 in RAID 0 on a Rocket RAID 640 PCIe 4X
     
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  12. satindemon4u

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    846 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    updated!
     
  13. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,432 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,253
    Update, flashing to firmware 2.15 after a couple issues with Kernel_Data_inpage_error and windows suddenly taking minutes to load then acting normal.......they broke my drives.


    I have posted to OCZ forums to see if I will get support, however one mod is trying to blame my 640 for my issues, despite others still having or gaining these same symptoms after the new firmware has been installed.
     
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  14. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,432 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,253
    [​IMG]

    After a chkdsk and a day off.
     
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  15. ChristTheGreat

    ChristTheGreat

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    963 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    454
    Crucial M4 64gb SATA III on P67

    [​IMG]

    WD Black 1TB 32mb cache, RAID 1 on SB700 ( cause on my P67 they are a bit slower)

    [​IMG]
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,667 (3.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,879
    HD Tach version 2.70
    Drive: PhysicalDrive0 500.1gb
    CPU utilization: 5.1%
    64 zones to be tested (-833918kb zones).
    Random access Time: 15.5 ms (lower is better)
    Burst speed: 221.8 MB/s
    Average read speed: 102.4 Mb/s
    Maximum Speed: 138.1 Mb/s
    Minimum Speed: 62.9 Mb/s

    Western Digital Caviar Black 500GB Sata 3
     
    Last edited: Nov 13, 2011
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. MustangGT2142

    MustangGT2142 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    99 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Slovenia
    Crucial M4 128gb, sata 3, 0009 firmware

    [​IMG]
     
  18. TheOne

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    225 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    OCZ Agility 3 120GB
    (Newegg)

    Firmware: 2.15
    SATAII
    (3.0Gb/s)

    HD Tune Pro 5.00:
    Run 1
    [​IMG]

    Run 2
    [​IMG]

    ATTO Benchmark 2.46:

    Write: 259MB/s - Read: 277MB/s
    [​IMG]
     
  19. jgrahl

    jgrahl New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    57 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Monroe, Michigan
    Raid 0 1x WD Raptor 150GB 10k RPM and 1x WD Velociraptor 150GB 10K RPM SATA 3Gb/s

    [​IMG]

    Raid 0 2 x Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 ST3500630AS 500GB 7200 RPM SATA 3Gb/s

    [​IMG]

    Maxtor OneTouch 4 Mini 250GB

    [​IMG]
     
  20. stefanels

    stefanels

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Messages:
    929 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    309
    Location:
    Transylvania (RO) working in Barcelona (ES)
    Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 500Gb (main drive)

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]


    Samsung HD103SJ 1Tb (storage drive)

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  21. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    4,025 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    422
    Corsair Force 3 120GB SSD Sata 3
    [​IMG]
     
  22. Grnfinger

    Grnfinger New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    639 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    213
    Location:
    Canada
    2x60GB Vertex II Raid0

    [​IMG]
     
    Millennium says thanks.
  23. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,225 (2.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,701
    Necro :)

    Force GT 180GB RAID0

    [​IMG]
     
    Mindweaver says thanks.
  24. Millennium

    Millennium New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Messages:
    610 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    76
    Location:
    London, UK
    I was going to say that seems a bit slow - then I realised it's 1000mb/s not 100 lol! nice result. is it fast? :]
     
  25. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,225 (2.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,701
    Its decent, goes from bios to windows ,you see flashes of what used to be the loading screen :)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page