1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Post your HDD Speeds!

Discussion in 'Storage' started by satindemon4u, Sep 10, 2011.

  1. Morgoth

    Morgoth

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,795 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    250
    Location:
    Netherlands
    ramdisk is turning your ddr ram into a ssd
    hd tune does not see all my drives..
     
  2. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,406 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    875
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Here's 4gb ram caching on my Seagate:
    [​IMG]
     
    fullinfusion says thanks.
  3. satindemon4u

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    864 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Ok well I shall make an updated version of the first post to include ramdisk speeds. I will not put them under SSD speeds seeing as how these are two different things.
     
  4. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,406 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    875
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
  5. satindemon4u

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    864 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Thanks for the info! Also if you could possibly test with CrystalDiskMark that would be great!
     
  6. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,406 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    875
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Okay, Crystal results for 4gb cache on a 200gb partition on the Seagate 2tb:
    [​IMG]
     
  7. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,406 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    875
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    To configure Fancycache for optimal results per partition, set it about like this:
    [​IMG]
     
  8. satindemon4u

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    864 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    I myself use Dataram Ramdisk. Also here are my results if anyone is to care. :)

    [​IMG]

    EDIT: Hmm...I need to find out why mine is so low. Just tested the other day with results over 5000. Now, this. -.-

    Could it be that I am using DDR2 RAM?
     
    Last edited: Aug 30, 2012
  9. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,406 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    875
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Yes, system ram speed will directly affect cached results.
     
  10. satindemon4u

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    864 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Well then haha. I have been trying to sell the rig for a laptop. This simply makes me want to do that even more!

    Edit: By that I mean a new laptop would mean faster RAM. Instead of this dusty DDR2. ;)
     
  11. Morgoth

    Morgoth

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,795 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    250
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Ramdisk
    [​IMG]
    HDD ramdisk chache
    [​IMG]
    DDr3 1333mhz
     
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2012
  12. satindemon4u

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    864 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
  13. repman244

    repman244

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,129 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    462
    satindemon4u you forgot to add the results by Psychoholic that are on previous page.
    Also the test theoneandonlymrk took, shouldn't that be placed in HDD RAID? He said he used "3xdisk raid 0 is 3x western digital caviar blues 230 Gb 16mb cache".

    Anyhow here's my laptop HDD:

    Toshiba MK5061GSYN 500GB 7200RPM
    [​IMG]
     
  14. satindemon4u

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    864 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Thanks repman. I didn't take psychoholic's test because he was testing a server. That is different than your average pc. Or even a gaming pc. Updated.
     
  15. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,956 (4.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,140
    Location:
    Mysore
    my new memory card for the cellphone
    [​IMG]

    can anyone explain the weird downs?
     
  16. satindemon4u

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    864 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    I can explain none of that since it is a memory card...for a cell phone. lol.
     
  17. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,956 (4.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,140
    Location:
    Mysore
    its a class 10 SDHC, you can tell that from the test :p
     
  18. Arctucas

    Arctucas

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,811 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    313
    4GB RAMDisk

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  19. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,406 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    875
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Dam nice Artucas! Blowing my score away... how do you have your ram set up?
    Edit, yep, I'm lagging somewhere...
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Sep 1, 2012
  20. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,551 (3.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,293
  21. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,406 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    875
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Yeah, it helps to have freakish amounts of ram to throw around! It really does work though, caching my c drive I notice now every page in firefox loads instantly ect. All my apps load instantly... finally found a good use for all my ram!
     
  22. Psychoholic

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Messages:
    520 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    56
    Yea, that was a server in a lab at work.

    **Here's my 256GB Crucial M4**

    [​IMG]
     
  23. satindemon4u

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    864 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Nice guys, updated.
     
  24. Arctucas

    Arctucas

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,811 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    313
    [​IMG]
     
  25. Morgoth

    Morgoth

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,795 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    250
    Location:
    Netherlands
    im stil not listed.....
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page