1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Post your Router

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by xaira, Apr 1, 2013.

  1. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,838 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    610
    Did you burp it? You're supposed to burp tupperware
     
  2. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,451 (3.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,578
    Netgear 3700v3.

    Good router. I got it on ebay for a really good deal. Only complaint is it does not have official ddwrt support because it is v3.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,905 (2.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,181
    WRT54G up in da house!
     
    Last edited: Apr 2, 2013
  4. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,339 (6.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,110
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Well, I was using my E4200 as my router, but now it's only serving up my Wi-Fi.

    I'm now using an AM3 machine with a 960t as my gateway. Overkill, yes, but it's temporary until I find more suitable hardware to be a gateway.

    Why: I needed more power and storage to do what I wanted to do.
    A: I wanted to log all incoming and outgoing traffic to and from my network WRT the internet.
    B: I wanted to run a BIND server.
    C: I was DDoS attacked last week; my iptables and 960t ate it up for dinner. :)
    D: I occasionally want to test code on the gateway when what I wrote utilizes the network.
    E: It also has some eSATA ports so it can dub as a NAS as well if I really wanted to.

    Long term I'm looking at either a Celeron G2020 based machine or a Celeron 847 based machine. The 847 would be cheaper but the G2020 would be more responsive and cost more. The Mini-ITX gigabyte board I would use costs as much as the 847 built into the motherboard. So I'm still debating and in the mean time, the 960t is being under-whelmed.

    In the meantime I might take some time to underclock everything and drop the voltages across the board. Right now it's running at stock with turbo disabled, but C&Q downclocks it to 800Mhz most of the time, so I probably don't have to do too much other than drop the HT and NB speed a bit

    There are also cases where I'm lazy, so I threw Webmin on it as well, but more often than not I will update things through SSH.

    [​IMG]

    ...and before anyone says anything about unlocking the 960t, I got it cheap because it doesn't unlock, but I knew that going in. :ohwell:
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Apr 2, 2013
    xaira says thanks.
  5. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,553 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    951
    Netgear WNR3500L. Goes for $38 refurbished and I've yet to see a better router for the price.
     
  6. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,311 (2.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    867
    Location:
    London, UK
    Sagem F@st 2504, because Sky my shite ISP said i must use this ¬.¬ before hacked a WAG54v2 onto it, was godlike on my connection
     
  7. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,661 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,408
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    That was a nice review, the range is amazing. Last night, I noticed my phone getting 1-2 bars from my router while I was out in the garage, about 175' away. Came as a total surprise and I dug to confirm it was my router. I may nix the idea of a second AP.

    I've had the WRT54G V2 running for a DECADE. I only had to reset it ONCE!!! I only switched to the RT-66 for 'N' and more range. Should the RT-66 die, I've got a backup.
     
    remixedcat says thanks.
  8. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,787 (6.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    I'm very happy with mine. As you can see, it's been on for a month straight with no issues, and it handles quite a few clients with ease (usually running about a dozen and a half off of it). When I'm doing heavy uploading ~(2 megabytes/second) the CPU load on it gets pretty high, but still does a great job. And when it eventually dies, I have a second one in a drawer :toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. ChristTheGreat

    ChristTheGreat

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    925 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    369
    Trendnet TEW-639GR

    Wireless N 300mbps, QoS, Gigabit, DynDns, all what I need :)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,420 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    639
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    WD MyNet N900.

    + 7 Gbe ports
    + Large file transfers at 115MB/s sustained.
    + UI is responsive
    + Couple USB ports for simple NAS (and printer, but haven't tried it yet).
    + I don't utilize it, but others might appreciate that it's dual-band (only have phones and Wii wireless)
    + IPv6 ready

    There may be other positives or negatives, but even after owning it for several months I haven't toyed with it that much. Haven't needed to; performance is good, even with two gamers in game and Vent and the kids watching a Netflix stream.

    Been meaning to drop my dedicated virtual server and host at home. When I get around to it, may or may not push me to tune the QoS settings.
     
  11. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,838 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    610
    Thanks!

    My Amped made this one person down the road's jaw drop I was streaming HD vids from 200 ft and she say's she can't even connect a couple feet outside her front door with her router!!! LOL
     
  12. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,661 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,408
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    That's unbelievable... how many cars are parked up and down in front of your house, crammed with kids, laptops and hoodies? :laugh:
     
  13. Fleurious

    Fleurious

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Messages:
    25 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tottenham ON
    Asus RT-AC66U

    I decided to go a little overboard and get this one because the wife's been complaining about her WiFi dropping all the time on the previous two wireless routers (Cisco DPC3825 and WRT54G).

    So far I'm loving it. I plugged a spare SSD into one of the USB to use as a NAS and a printer into the other. No problems with the signal either, she still gets WiFi on her cell phone even halfway down the block:laugh:! There are tonnes of options in the menus to play with too.
     
    Last edited: Apr 2, 2013
  14. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,838 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    610
    none.... it's mostly old people and hicks around here... lol
     
  15. A Cheese Danish

    A Cheese Danish

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    2,963 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    413
    Location:
    your local vending machine
  16. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,663 (3.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,262
    Them pornsites are going warm I hear.
     
  17. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,838 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    610
    Blef :( not old people!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
     
  18. rtwjunkie

    rtwjunkie

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,321 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    450
    Location:
    Louisiana
    I've found that by making little feet that raise the router up about a half inch, the airflow increases remarkably and it has run noticeably cooler ever since.


    I'm also running a Linksys e3000. It's been rock solid with 2 pc's (one is the HTPC ) and an xbox 360 connected directly, and a switch connected that has My gaming PC, an internet pc and our server (WHS 2011). It is gigabit LAN speed, and movies stream from server to HTPC without a hickup or hitch and seem to look better than watching straight from DVD!

    Also have one wireless laptop and various handheld devices (3 total) that use the wireles, with range everywhere in the house.

    In my opinion, one of the best routers Linksys has made.
     
  19. camoxiong

    camoxiong

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    655 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    Fresno, CA
    It's good one, but I want to future proof with the Wireless AC
     
  20. Geofrancis

    Geofrancis

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,042 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    153
    Location:
    SCOTLAND!
    routers running in my house just now:
    Motorola cable modem with 80/10mbit service

    custom via 1ghz c3 router
    Netgear WNDR3300 for wireless access in office
    5 port tenda gigabit hub for servers
    Dlink DIR-300 for bedroom 1
    Netgear rangemax 2.4ghz for bedroom 2
    Ubiquiti Bullet 2 HP free basic internet for neibours
    Ubiquiti Nanostation M5 high speed paid internet access for neibours
     
  21. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,585 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    525
    Location:
    Australia
    I just installed my brand new Modem/Router today!! I was using my trusty old Billion 7300G until I got constant drop outs and had enough of the 10/100 LAN speeds.

    I now rock a TP-Link W8970 With Wireless N, USB for HDDs and Printer connections, 4 Gigabit LAN and a WAN/LAN port for when the NBN kicks in (fibre) Cheapest one I could buy. $99 AUS about $50-60 US. Took like 2mins to set up and im loving it so far. Range of about 50meters (150feet)
     
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2013

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page