1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Post your Speedtest.net Speeds!

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by DanishDevil, Aug 13, 2009.

  1. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    Rofl
     
  2. animal007uk

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,239 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    283
    Location:
    Warwick, Warwickshire, England
    [​IMG]

    About the best i can get due to where i live but i ain't going to moan as its totaly unlimited and currently cost me £9.99 a month but will go upto £19.99 soon but still a good price.
     
    Last edited: Jun 24, 2013
  3. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,798 (13.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,178
    California actually has ISP competition. I, for the most part do not.
     
    xvi and AsRock say thanks.
  4. shovenose

    shovenose

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013
    Messages:
    797 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Hardly. Choices are AT&T DSL (max 6mbps, which means you get 2mbps on a good day if it even works). or Comcast (great, but pricey and confusing).

    My friend and I are starting an ISP but I am not supposed to talk about that (some NDA shit) so hopefully y'all will get competitive internet :)
     
  5. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,054 (6.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,270
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    So apparently my ISP now is offering 50mb down for very small increase in monthly cost. Unfortunately Ill be moving soon, so it won't be worth it.
     
  6. shovenose

    shovenose

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013
    Messages:
    797 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Sure, go ahead, I've got a low security WEP-protected (hey, I want people to hack it) wireless router that's on a seperate VLAN as everything else throttled to 1Mbps.
     
  7. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,377 (11.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,682
    set up honeypot and have some fun.
     
  8. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,441 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    775
    my speed on my 30/30mbit fibernet connection with my Asus RT-N56U router

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]


    so i can't wait to see when i get 40/40mbit on Sunday to see what my speed will be than :roll:
     
  9. torgoth

    torgoth

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2013
    Messages:
    110 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    less then $20 unlimited, including 2x "tv boxes" with 90 channels
    [​IMG]

    Eastern Europe
     
  10. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,680 (9.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,154
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Here is another

    [​IMG]
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. Lionheart

    Lionheart

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,064 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    811
    Location:
    Milky Way Galaxy
  12. IamEzio

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    Messages:
    141 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    74
    Location:
    Israel
  13. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
  14. IamEzio

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    Messages:
    141 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    74
    Location:
    Israel
    Is it your only option ? it looks like your internet stuck at year 2000.. here is my HSPA+ speeds on my phone ..

    [​IMG]
     
  15. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,460 (4.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,264
  16. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    Ya, other than crappy sattelite this is all that there is. I'm 20 miles from the nearest town with anything better. So basically I just gotta suck it. Most of the time its around 1.7 down and less than .5 up


    Carhart or blue?
     
  17. jboydgolfer

    jboydgolfer

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012
    Messages:
    619 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    106
    Location:
    Amherst , MA
    I dont believe that These tests are very accurate. I Always see in peoples results tab that they are " in the 76% highest speed in the nation" , or whatever. How can EVERYBODY be in the 76th% region?Aside of course from the people whose results are RIDICULOUSLY slow that is(in which case they should just cancel their service, and go with 56K).Also I'm CERTAINLY NOT getting these speeds.

    [​IMG]
     
  18. DayKnight

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2012
    Messages:
    282 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    [​IMG]
     
  19. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,462 (6.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,188
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Well maybe a little bit of light on how networks work might explain it. You're connecting and testing your speed to a server ~50 miles away, which means fewer hops and the fewer number of networks that the packets have to traverse to get to the server. As soon as you connect to something further away you're hit with the bottleneck and latencies of all the networks you have to hit to download something from any particular server. So I can do a speed test and get 24-30MBit, but in reality as soon as I leave Comcast's network, I get closer to 18MBit.

    A better way to determine what your bandwidth is to choose a to a particular server would be to do a speed test closest to the server that you're actually connecting to, which could be several hundred miles away from you.

    Example: Comcast's SpeedTest in Boston
    [​IMG]

    Versus Comcast in Chicago
    [​IMG]

    Versus Comcast in Miami.
    [​IMG]

    Even within Comcast's own network, you can see how it slows down the further away you go.
     
  20. Jack1n

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2012
    Messages:
    1,026 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    Location:
    Central Israel
    [​IMG]
    :(
     
  21. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,785 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,344
    Most indeededly. I sometimes test against Australia for the heck of it.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]


    For added fun, and education, you can trace various servers and see where the holdup is.
     
  22. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,680 (9.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,154
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Yes I work for a ISP as a Switch Tech and our group has the raw speed before it gets restricted VIA Vlan. I downloaded BF3, BL2, Arma2/OA, and killing floor all at the same time and it took 5 minutes LOL. Its a 100% fiber ATM and MPLS network
     
    freaksavior and Easy Rhino say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,460 (4.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,264
    that is pretty awesome. now you just need to secretly pipe some of that bandwidth to your house :laugh:
     
  24. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,680 (9.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,154
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Technically I could pipe 100MBPS if I was in their coverage area but I am next county and they have not expanded there for the consumer market yet. They do power some businesses in my county that requested their service over charter and I am hoping with the next year we will have access.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,970 (1.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    861
    Location:
    Ohio
    Decided to do a test at work.

    [​IMG]

    I wonder what the DL speed would be like if nobody else was using the connection . . . It spiked around 20Mbps right at the start of the test, but then immediately went down to around 8Mbps, and then slowly down from there to where it is in the screenshot. I'm sure they probably have some sort of throttling and/or QoS in effect as well.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page