1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Post your Speedtest.net Speeds!

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by DanishDevil, Aug 13, 2009.

  1. ALMOSTunseen

    ALMOSTunseen

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2012
    Messages:
    833 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    326
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Do you find that when it gets used more in peak times it slows down a lot?
     
  2. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    43,538 (10.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,718
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    friend of mine went to a LAN event at one of the major universities here in aus...
    [​IMG]
     
    THE_EGG and AlienIsGOD say thanks.
  3. R3ign

    R3ign

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2005
    Messages:
    78 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Christ! would love to get those speeds! i'm still on ADSL 8mbps max :(
     
  4. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    43,538 (10.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,718
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    that speedtest was with 4-500 people on the connection, most of them downloading :/
     
  5. R3ign

    R3ign

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2005
    Messages:
    78 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    :O thats just unfair :D
     
  6. Daeso New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2014
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
     
  7. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,726 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    903
    Location:
    Denmark....
    this here is at work, with 6 ppl currently here and a lot of servers online on a 60/60mbit fiber connection:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  8. Fizban

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    272 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Shelby Township, MI
    [​IMG]

    Home connection, not great, but could be worse.
     
  9. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,528 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    941
    Mine on the gnex. Wifi. 27 ft from router. Pay for 22/1.5 tho. :(
     

    Attached Files:

  10. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,726 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    903
    Location:
    Denmark....
    LTE on my phone at work :D

    [​IMG]
     
  11. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    19,052 (8.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,506
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    [​IMG]
     
    THE_EGG says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. FX-GMC

    FX-GMC

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    Messages:
    939 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    392
    Location:
    Cumberland Plateau
    60mbps = 7.5MB/s ~= 7616kB/s

    Your torrents are downloading at the same speed as your speedtest.

    If you were getting 80mbps your download speed would be ~10240kB/s
     
    Misaki says thanks.
  13. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    8,150 (6.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,384
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Just did a speedtest, it might be luck of the draw but I'm supposed to get 50 down and 8 or 10 up last time I checked.

    [​IMG]

    I thought that it might have been a bug or something so I tried it again to be safe...
    [​IMG]

    Edit: I stand corrected. Comcast upgrade 50Mbit boost to 105Mbit and Extreme 105 is now Extreme 150 with 150Mbit down. All free for those who were already paying for it.
     
    Last edited: May 15, 2014
  14. Dimi

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    Messages:
    83 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Recently got an upgrade from 150mbit to 200mbit which is always nice i suppose as it was a free upgrade.

    [​IMG]
     
  15. v12dock

    v12dock

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,737 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    427
    My ISP is increasing speeds on all tiers. I went from 30/3 to this after I rebooted my modem last night. Great upload speeds for a signal channel 16 QAM upstream
    [​IMG]
     
  16. THE_EGG

    THE_EGG

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    1,743 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    634
    Location:
    Brisbane QLD, Australia
    brb I must check UQ again :p
     
  17. d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,803 (3.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,324
    new fibre broadband! paying for 100 DL, must be peak times?!

    [​IMG]
     
  18. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    8,150 (6.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,384
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Good to see last-mile copper keeping up with fiber just fine. :p
    I would expect lower latency on fiber though, so maybe you're right and it's just a busy time of day.

    Speedtest gives me 119 tops where torrents reflect that as well. I'm also running the torrent on my gateway and viewing it with Transmission Remote, so it's probably an accurate representation of what my connection is capable of since wi-fi won't be a bottleneck. If anything this is reason for me to start pulling up floor boards in the attic and running some CAT6 to my office.
    ohbaby.PNG
     
    Last edited: May 28, 2014
  19. THE_EGG

    THE_EGG

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    1,743 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    634
    Location:
    Brisbane QLD, Australia
    [​IMG]


    @ UQ using a taichi31. I'm not sure why speedtest is showing it being so slow. Steam and Origin download at around 8-10MB/s.

    EDIT: never mind steam and origin are downloading at only ~5MB/s today. It seems that it is fastest on Tuesdays -.-
     
    Last edited: May 28, 2014
  20. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    14,206 (4.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,072
    You got conduit?
     
  21. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    8,150 (6.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,384
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    No, that's the hard thing. The house was built in 1901 so the house isn't exactly wiring friendly which is why I've been putting it off. I want it more for local transfers since my wi-fi seems to speedtest the connection just fine. This test was on wi-fi:
    [​IMG]
     
  22. usmc362

    usmc362

    Joined:
    May 31, 2013
    Messages:
    15 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
  23. visi1617

    visi1617

    Joined:
    May 28, 2014
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    [​IMG]
    work - cabled in
     
  24. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    14,206 (4.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,072
    Homes built in the Later 90s early 2000s are built wire friendly just about.
     
  25. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    8,150 (6.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,384
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Yeah, my house is about a century too old for that. :p
    In defense, it is possible to run wires without too much hassle. The issue is that I can only use walls on the inside of the house as well as the fact that I don't have a spot marked out in the attic for a patch panel for the modem and gateway and such, so it's a big project if it undertake it.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page