1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Post your Speedtest.net Speeds!

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by DanishDevil, Aug 13, 2009.

  1. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,473 (4.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,745
    Homes built in the Later 90s early 2000s are built wire friendly just about.
     
  2. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,684 (6.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,336
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Yeah, my house is about a century too old for that. :p
    In defense, it is possible to run wires without too much hassle. The issue is that I can only use walls on the inside of the house as well as the fact that I don't have a spot marked out in the attic for a patch panel for the modem and gateway and such, so it's a big project if it undertake it.
     
  3. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,473 (4.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,745
    wire wrap,- Smart panels are good but you might aswell have a switch in the panel with the modem, and wifi routers across the house on cat5 ethernet (2 pairs used in cat 5-white-green,white-orange), gigabit ethernet uses all 4 pairs Blue, Orange, Green,Brown depending on size of home. Dialtone (Voip or Pots) would have to use a separate cat 5 line if using gigabit ethernet. Always have 2 cat 5 or better and coax home runs from where the telco box is to the smart panel (patch panel)
     
  4. minx

    minx

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    Messages:
    38 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    40
    Location:
    Deutschland
    One of the 5 (5-route-connection) connections at my company:

    [​IMG]

    They are combined through an array of PCs using our custom software to deliver 5 10k kB/s downstreams and one single 50k kB/s+ upload (hosting'n'stuff). The test above is what you get at an ordinary desk (regular employee). Whole company is wired.
     
  5. Arjai

    Arjai

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,208 (2.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,702
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2014
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. Lionheart

    Lionheart

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,071 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    824
    Location:
    Milky Way Galaxy
    Its been awhile :rockout:

    [​IMG]
     
  7. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,217 (3.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,116
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    Got home from vacation and just about shit myself at my randomly upgraded TWC speeds:

    [​IMG]

    Should apparently be 200/20 with a new modem. Upgraded for free from 30/5.
     
  8. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,964 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,219
    [​IMG]

    And I'm already "happy" with that because it's usually 1mbps down and 0.1mbps up...for a package that is "up to 2mbps"...
     
  9. xvi

    xvi

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    2,149 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,458
    Location:
    Washington, US
    Brought my SteamBox in to work. (We're an ISP. I think there's a 100mbps link somewhere that's limiting me.)

    10577890_10152639189323561_84330788_n.jpg


    I get giggly when things go fast.
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jul 26, 2014
    Lightbulbie says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. Lightbulbie

    Lightbulbie

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2014
    Messages:
    833 (3.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    248
    Location:
    Bremerton, Washington
    This gave me the giggles.
     
    xvi says thanks.
  11. mdbrotha03

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    Messages:
    132 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    [​IMG]
    From my house in northern VA.
    Wired
    Verizon Fios
     
  12. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,684 (6.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,336
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Wow, since when did FIOS start offering symmetric bandwidth?
     
    xvi says thanks.
  13. mdbrotha03

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    Messages:
    132 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    I believe about 2 or 3 weeks ago. I originally signed up for 75Mbps/35Mbps about a month ago for install on the 1st of Aug. I'd say about 2 weeks ago, I saw a post on dslreports.com stating that they were moving to symmetrical bandwidth. I called the Verizon and had them change my install to 150Mbps up and down. This will be pushed out to existing customers soon. You may be able to call and request the upgrade ahead of time. All of their tiers have gone symmetrical and they have bumped the lowest tier to 25Mbps vs 15/5 for the old one.

    Link for existing customers.
    http://campaign.verizon.com/fasterspeeds/?CMP=DMC-CVZ_ZZ_FD_Z_DO_N_X00002
     
    Last edited: Aug 5, 2014
    Aquinus says thanks.
  14. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,684 (6.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,336
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Verizon doesn't serve up my area. My only options are Comcast for cable and Fairpoint for fiber and so far, Comcast is doing pretty well, although I too would like symmetric bandwidth. :p I used to have 50Mbit down and out of nowhere Comcast upgraded me (for free) to 105Mbit (119Mbit realized), but I'm still stuck with 11-12Mbit up, which is still perfectly adequate as I don't tend to host stuff out of my home.
     
  15. mdbrotha03

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    Messages:
    132 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Surprisingly, Verizon is my only option. Usually on military bases your only choice is the cable company.
     
  16. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,194 (7.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,711
    [​IMG]

    This is with me running a VPN and my kids streaming Netflix
     
  17. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,947 (2.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,219
    [​IMG]
    With only me on the internet.



    [​IMG]
    Me using mobile data
     
    Last edited: Aug 5, 2014
  18. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,194 (7.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,711
    Honestly the house speed isn't that bad for gaming and such. What's killing you is that damn ping. Have you tried a different router? Something seems off with a DL speed like that and such a high ping.
     
  19. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,947 (2.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,219
    Tried with 4 different routers and 2 different modems. The speeds are just shit all summer because there are more people on their terrible network. The speeds are acceptable after midnight (10down, 2 up, and 40ish ping). It's either I'm with this company (with no data cap) or I switch to someone slightly faster and only have 40GB a month.
     
  20. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,194 (7.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,711
    Man something is up with that ping. Have you called them about this?
     
  21. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,947 (2.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,219
    When they know they're the only decent option in your area they don't give a shit.
     
  22. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,194 (7.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,711
    I would try man.
     
  23. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,442 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,623
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    Well, Verizon FiOS in this area is doing a mass cut over to make the upload speeds the same as the download speed paid for.
    As an example... I had 75/35; and, now after some provisioning fixing ('cause someone knocked out my service), we now have 75/75.

    [​IMG]
     
  24. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,473 (4.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,745
    pretty easy on fttp, not so easy on copper... Any home with FTTP has been built within the last 10 years pretty much- already have cat5/coax going from the phone box area in to attic at a junction or to a smart panel in a masterbedroom...
     
  25. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,684 (6.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,336
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    DOCSIS 3.0 is perfectly capable of providing 150/150mbit and considering (in my case Comcast's) the backbone is fiber, the only thing I lose is 6ms on round-trip communication to the internet by having last-mile copper, which is acceptable IMHO. What I'm annoyed with is Comcast not following suit despite my 119mbit download already. :p
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page