1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Post your Speedtest.net Speeds!

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by DanishDevil, Aug 13, 2009.

  1. v12dock

    v12dock

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,667 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    339
    [​IMG]

    New home connection i was able to upgrade from 50/5 to 150/20 for an extra 10 dollars a month. 150/20 is not officially supported in my area but should be within the next few weeks.
     
  2. JUSTIN1982

    JUSTIN1982

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2014
    Messages:
    13 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    3742827620.png need help with ping please
     
  3. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    14,166 (4.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,052
    The smaller the number the better. Its the distance you are from the server you ran your test from.
     
  4. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    14,166 (4.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,052
    Bear in mind the other end or your server/equipment has to adjust (step down in speed if that end is faster than your equipment/server or if your server/equipment is faster than the other end).
     
  5. JUSTIN1982

    JUSTIN1982

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2014
    Messages:
    13 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    noo im all 1000mb set up router modem everything this is the ping i get from not even 50 miles away ?
     
  6. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    7,411 (6.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,840
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    It depends on the route to the server it needs to take. For example, someone next door might have Fairpoint Fiber but if they were to ping me (being across the street) the packet would have to travel all the way to fairpoint's top most router, go across the internet however many hops, on to Comcast's network potentially 50 to 200 miles away, then all the way back to my house. As a result a result such a connection would have a latency of something like 50ms instead of <1ms for crossing the street. So depending on where the endpoint is on the internet itself can impact what your ping is.

    Example: Speedtest to Comcast's server in Boston:
    [​IMG]

    ...and an equally distant server in Vermont that is known to be on a fast fiber backbone:
    [​IMG]
    My bandwidth is just as fast but the route across the internet first requires the packet to travel to Boston or NYC then back to Vermont, as a result the ping is 18ms higher even though I'm just as close physically to the server as I am with Comcast's, it still needs to make that trip probably Boston or NYC, as I said before, to get to the other server anyways.
     
  7. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    14,166 (4.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,052
    1000mb is the max ethernet your equipment can handle behind the modem. The modem will connect at the speed it does. Also it only uses what it needs on ethernet. Its not running at 1000 all the time more like what your modem connection speed is. Ive used speed test.net testmy.net to see if a customer is getting their advertised speed they paid for. Ive also fixed wifi issues by moving the modem from inside desks/tv cabinets to fix speed and reception issues.
     
  8. JUSTIN1982

    JUSTIN1982

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2014
    Messages:
    13 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    thanks guys for everything
     
  9. v12dock

    v12dock

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,667 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    339
    Are you speeds constant on mediacom?
     
  10. JUSTIN1982

    JUSTIN1982

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2014
    Messages:
    13 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    for the most part yess but im running windows 8 and ive just seen some wierd funny things going in on it security wise i think windows 8 is a joke im seriously thinking about going back to windws 7 ultimate because my ping was way lower with that op systme dowload and upload are the same but ping jumped way up lmao i had windows 98 up there i just caught that
     
    Last edited: Sep 9, 2014
  11. v12dock

    v12dock

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,667 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    339
    [​IMG]
    ISP maintenance last night and I am now the full speeds I am paying for
     
    Last edited: Sep 16, 2014
  12. Arjai

    Arjai

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,693 (2.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,009
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    [​IMG]

    WiFi at Goldens Deli

    Test 2 Same place different Server...
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2014
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. Lionheart

    Lionheart

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,126 (1.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    882
    Location:
    Milky Way Galaxy
    Love my ping :D

    [​IMG]
     
  14. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,958 (2.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,650
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    New 105Mb/s Comcast Xfinity service... over a 5Ghz N wireless signal;

    [​IMG]

    And with 2.4Ghz N wireless signal:

    [​IMG]
     
  15. THE_EGG

    THE_EGG

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    1,686 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    599
    Location:
    Brisbane QLD, Australia
    NBN?
     
    Lionheart says thanks.
  16. Lionheart

    Lionheart

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,126 (1.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    882
    Location:
    Milky Way Galaxy
    Indeed it is friend :toast:
     
  17. Scrizz

    Scrizz

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,994 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    416
    Location:
    Florida, US
    in my sig
     
  18. Tonduluboy

    Tonduluboy

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    140 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    Location:
    Sabah, Malaysia
    Hey guys, how much do u actually paying per month getting 10 MB/s above in your place? I wanna compare to my place, becoz i believe my country is one the most expensive broadband at lowest speed!

    I pay close to $30 a month for this SAD speed.
    I hate when service is monopolize by 1 company only!
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Oct 5, 2014
  19. Tuna Yücer

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2014
    Messages:
    43 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    Turkey, Amasya
    My Internet speeds are good for me.
    image.jpg
     
  20. RandomSadness

    RandomSadness

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2014
    Messages:
    45 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    I really wish I could have a faster internet connection :(
    [​IMG]
     
  21. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    11,255 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,697
    I hate my latency.

    [​IMG]
     
    Tuna Yücer says thanks.
  22. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    7,411 (6.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,840
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Which would make no difference regardless of the internet you had because you're traffic is traveling crossing the world.
     
  23. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    11,255 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,697
    And it proves I'm getting shafted by Aussie ISP's.
     
  24. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    7,411 (6.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,840
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    It proves that light, electricity, and radio waves can only travel so fast. :slap:
     
  25. stefanels

    stefanels

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Messages:
    970 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    328
    Location:
    Transylvania (RO) working in Barcelona (ES)
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Oct 13, 2014

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page