1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Power adapters

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Meverix, Jan 7, 2013.

  1. Meverix New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    13 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I'm a relative novice when it comes to this sort of thing so I'd much appreciate the kind of feedback a toddler might get if he were upgrading his computer with a new graphics card.

    I got myself a GeForce GTX 570, but, not knowing a thing about how machines use power, didn't realise it required its own power source. My loose understanding has led me to understand my machine has a couple of loose AGP/Molex cables (I think - there are several loose four-pin connections in the machine that don't appear to lead anywhere but match the image in the graphics cards' manual), but the card requires two PCI-Express 6-pin connections.

    I understand adapters can be obtained to get around this, but I hear there's some no-nos about doing this with regards to how you route the power.

    Can anyone give me a dummy's guide-to on solving this? Happy to provide any further details that are within my limited knowledge.
     
  2. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,668 (3.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,262
    First we have to know what PSU you have. If you have no PCI-E connectors, it's very likely it's either old or underpowered or both. You will probably have to get a new power supply.

    EDIT: Also, the rest of your system specifications. :)
     
  3. Meverix New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    13 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Well, unless I need to look further, the sticker on the power block reads 280W.

    I don't suppose you could be more.. specific.. about the system specs? I'm never sure what's being asked for exactly.
     
  4. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    280 is very low. I once had a power supply that said 330 + 130, and was a 460 w power supply. If the 280 is in fact correct, the video card would require just about that.

    The 570 you have most likely exceeds the power requirements of your whole system as it is.

    By specs: How many hard drives, what kind of CPU (this can be found in the computer properties, which you can get to by right clicking on 'my computer') or found on CPU-Z, and what other hardware. This gives us an idea of what other devices are using power.

    Model number of the PSU might help also.
     
  5. Meverix New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    13 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Aye, you're right. The maximum GPU power quote from where I bought it is about 219W.
     
  6. Meverix New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    13 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    From 'My Computer'

    Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo CPU E7500 @ 2.93GHz 2.93GHz

    Installed Memory (RAM): 6.00GB

    System Type: 64-bit Operating System (Windows 7)


    PSU number pending, have to crack open the unit again.
     
  7. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,185 (5.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,976
    Location:
    Home
    It does sounds like you will need to upgrade your PSU, otherwise the 570 is going to turn it into a smoking wreck.
     
  8. Meverix New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    13 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I get the feeling that will be a costly process in itself.

    While I'm here then, would anyone be able to recommend something more suited to my machine that's a little more up-to-date than the GeForce 9500 GT I've currently got?
     
  9. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,185 (5.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,976
    Location:
    Home
    It depends on your PSU. If you are planning to stick with the 280w psu for longer, than your choices are pretty limited to a few such as 650/7750. Some of them will need the molex -> PCIe power adapter, but their power consumption should not be too high.

    If you are willing to upgrade your PSU, something along the lines of 7850/660Ti will be very good for your system, good enough not to be severely bottlenecked by your cpu, yet powerful enough for use when you upgrade your cpu in the future.
     
  10. Meverix New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    13 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I'd be more than willing if I had any idea what the procedure involved. Any time I've changed RAM cards or - in this one instance - changing Graphics Cards, its been a matter of common sense when I opened up the unit and took a look.

    Are PSUs expensive at all? And can you provide a guide to replacing them, or is it actually pretty simple?
     
  11. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    Most likely wouldn't even turn on, if so not for very long.
     
  12. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,185 (5.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,976
    Location:
    Home
    A cheap and decent one (~500w) will set you back by about $50 or less, so they are not that expensive (but still eats a significant chunk of your intended budget). They are pretty straightforward to upgrade. Unplug cable from component, plug in cable from new psu, done. Everything is size coded.

    Brands to look out for - Corsair (common and reliable), Antec, Silverstone (quite expensive if you don't know what to look for), Thermaltake. No need to get top of the range ones, even the budget ones will perform reliably.
     
    Meverix says thanks.
  13. McSteel

    McSteel

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Messages:
    577 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    278
    It would be most helpful if you could tell us your intended budget, and then the maximum you're able and willing to spend as well. The other significant information would be your location, or at least what stores are planning to purchase from. Then we can make a much more accurate suggestion, and, more importantly, a more efficient one (price/performance/availability-wise).
     
  14. Meverix New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    13 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    The budget is not a problem. Obviously I'd like to keep it as cheap as possible. And I'm in the UK. I'm not so good on stores, I just go where I'm recommended by trustworthy sites (Well, I followed nVidia's links to Scan.co.uk for most of my current hardware).
     
  15. McSteel

    McSteel

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Messages:
    577 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    278
    Scan.co.uk is fine. I'd suggest this one, but it's unavailable, and since there's no ETA yet, this one will be fine too. They both offer more power than you really need, but the less powerful models (at the same quality level) aren't any cheaper (up to 5 GBP), so it'd be a waste to go lower, since you'll be able to re-use the new PSU in a new PC if need be.

    Now, I'm not sure what size your PC case is, and what PSU standards fit, but if you need a smaller form factor, you're covered there as well. Now would be a good time to tell us exactly which PSU you currently own. Based on that info, we'll know for sure if your case can accommodate a standard ATX PSU, or if you need to get something smaller. Is your system a brand-name one? The 280W has a Dell-y ring to it :)
     
    Meverix says thanks.
  16. Meverix New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    13 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks for those suggestions. Is there anything I ought to know before I buy any of them? Do the dimensions have to be the same? And what's it like physically upgrading the PSU? Delicate work or are there few ways to really botch it? I know nothing about this whatsoever. Heck, I'd never heard of a PSU before seeing this site.
     
  17. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,376 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    859
    Location:
    Rochester area
    that cpu is gonna bottle neck the hell out out of that 570
    id seriously consider returning the gpu and start with a from scratch build you can get a pretty decent gaming setup for less then 600 bucks
     
  18. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5,007 (2.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,030
    Location:
    Oregon
    Welcome to land of upgrades. OneMoar's suggestion of selling everything and starting from scratch is the optimum suggestion. The parts sold separately actually will get the highest price and this option would be the less painful one and would render better performance but will take some time.

    You can swap out the PSU and run that 570. Changing a PSU is not that bad but your dealing with a proprietary case and there may be glitches in the process. Stuff not fitting right and so on. But it can be done just take it slow. You wont get the best performance out of that GPU with your current CPU but it will work
     
  19. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,376 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    859
    Location:
    Rochester area
    if hes intending on gaming with it at all it will be so slow it would't even be funny I suspect the op make have purchased said 570 expecting it to solve some sort of performance issue and it might help a little but his cpu is still a major factor infact its hurting him more then the 9500gt he has pouring any funding into that rig would be a waste of time by the time you dump enough parts into it he will be 3/4 the way to a whole new machine
     
  20. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5,007 (2.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,030
    Location:
    Oregon
    Yes true but if he doesn't have $600 then it may be his only option. He can transfer the parts to his new build. It will get at least 60% and it will still be better then what he has now. Even though I don't know what that is?

    Or take back the 570 and start saving
     
  21. Meverix New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    13 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Right, I've had a peek inside and it looks like I'm using a "PowerMan Model No IP-P300AJ3-1"
     
  22. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,604 (10.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,102
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    That is a VERY VERY low PSU for anything above what you have now. I used one of these in a AM2 build once and it lasted less than a year taking out everything except the ram when it blew.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. Meverix New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    13 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I guess I'm lucky this one has lasted almost three years now then.

    Slightly unnerved by talk of starting from scratch with a new build. I simply don't have the time or technical know-how to do this, and if that's what it would take to play some decent games, then I maybe I just need to find another hobby!

    Seriously though, if it can't be done, I'll start returning things. But if a new PSU is likely to resolve this, then I'll go with one of the suggested models.
     
  24. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,604 (10.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,102
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    A new PSU would get the 570 working but OneMoar does have a point of the E7500 being the bottle neck.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. Meverix New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    13 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    What exactly would that mean for the machine though? Would performance suffer in others areas or..?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page