1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Power Button

Discussion in 'Cases, Modding & Electronics' started by Ammonite, Jan 30, 2012.

  1. Ammonite

    Ammonite New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    50 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Christchurch, NZ
    Power Button [Solved]

    Hello,

    I'm designing my own case and I was wondering about power buttons. I'm not fussed about making my own, I'd be quite happy with a button I could buy from somewhere else and just stick in a hole in the case.

    Is there any store online that sells power buttons? Preferably one with a wire so I can put it in the front of the case and attach it to the motherboard?

    Thanks in advance.
    Last edited: Feb 1, 2012
  2. _JP_

    _JP_

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,641 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    706
    Location:
    Portugal
    Lamptron makes/sells power/reset buttons. I don't know if you can find then near you, but if those are not available, I'm sure the electronics store has plenty to choose from.
  3. xfire

    xfire New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,395 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    Hyderabad,India
  4. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,280 (3.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,195
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    or you can use button for door bell
  5. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,333 (2.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,632
    Location:
    Oregon
    E bay for about $2
  6. white phantom

    white phantom New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    Messages:
    209 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    Kilmarnock Scotland
    yep +1 to this good old ebay will have plenty im sure or your local sparky shop
  7. Ammonite

    Ammonite New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    50 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Christchurch, NZ
    Thanks for the advice so far. I find a lot of these buttons will require me to do a bit of wiring myself. Isn't there something more complete that just needs to be plugged in? Quite hard to find since most cases have buttons in them I guess. :/

    Looks like its designed for no case and direct clipping onto the motherboard. I need something more distant from the board itself.
  8. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,333 (2.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,632
    Location:
    Oregon
  9. Ammonite

    Ammonite New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    50 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Christchurch, NZ
    I'd like to try and avoid eBay, I'm not a fan to say the least. But thanks for the links, I'll see if I can find a local solution with a similar product.
  10. xfire

    xfire New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,395 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    Hyderabad,India
    Why are you so worried about wiring? it's just two wires.

    Edit- Get a two pin connector
    [​IMG]

    Touch two wires loose ends for a second and release whenever you want to switch on the system.
  11. Ammonite

    Ammonite New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    50 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Christchurch, NZ
    When I say I'm 'building a case' it means I need a retail-quality solution. Opening it and touching two wires is useless. And I'm not sure how I could make a button myself.
  12. xfire

    xfire New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,395 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    Hyderabad,India
    Buy a push to on switch.
    [​IMG]


    you don't want a toggle switch. The one you want one should be a spring type switch. as you can see in the pic the other end has two terminals. join those two wires to this.
    Ammonite says thanks.
  13. Ammonite

    Ammonite New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    50 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Christchurch, NZ
    Thank you, sounds good.

    I will have a go with this. Will I need any special tools (like to weld?) or is there a simpler way like just wrapping the metal around it.
  14. xfire

    xfire New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,395 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    Hyderabad,India
    You have a soldering iron? If not you can wind it on around the terminals and press it hard with a plier. If you don't have a plier use electrical tape.
    Ammonite says thanks.
  15. Ammonite

    Ammonite New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    50 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Christchurch, NZ
    Understood. Thanks again, I'll be sure to update you with my progress!

    EDIT: Hey just a question, what is the name of that wire? I've tried simply searching "two pin connector" but its not helping much.
    Last edited: Jan 31, 2012
  16. xfire

    xfire New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,395 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    Hyderabad,India
  17. Ammonite

    Ammonite New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    50 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Christchurch, NZ
    - Forget this I'm too tired for this crap right now, I'll ask a few things tomorrow -
    Last edited: Jan 31, 2012
  18. Ammonite

    Ammonite New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    50 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Christchurch, NZ
  19. xfire

    xfire New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,395 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    Hyderabad,India
    It's essentially the same thing.
  20. Ammonite

    Ammonite New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    50 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Christchurch, NZ
    But a cheaper plugin-and-play option. Finding an all-in-one solution was something I wanted, though I thank you for your help and if I ever have the patience to make a standalone button myself I'll be sure to check back here.
  21. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
  22. angelhunter

    angelhunter New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    45 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    why not just find an old atx case someone is throwing out and just get the switch there. check local mom and pop computer store for the wire and switch
  23. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    Call up one of the computer repair stores in your region, they should have junkers out the back which they have not touched in a long time with all the wiring you need to make a custom build for next to nothing.
  24. Ammonite

    Ammonite New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    50 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Christchurch, NZ
    Because I may want to make a couple of these (its a mini-ITX system you see) and I need a supplier that isn't that... temporary. Plus I prefer things new.
  25. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    7,683 (9.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16,456
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page