1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Power Color R7 260x (2Gb) problems

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Lost Hatter, Mar 17, 2014.

  1. Lost Hatter

    Lost Hatter

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Messages:
    157 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Is anyone else running a R7 260x having issues? I got the card for my GF as an upgrade for her 6770. In the new 3dmark Fire strike benchmark it scores quite impressively. It gets 3500 and change. My 6970 gets 3900 and change. So its got PLENTY or power for $150.

    My problem is pretty much when playing World of Warcraft. In heavy situations the clocks actually lower when they should really go higher. In a 25 or 40 man event, engaged in heavy fire, the card clocks it self around 500-700mhz (in most cases). But while casually wondering or questing the card fluctuates between 500-1160mhz. Its completely random is seems. Is there a way to make the clocks max out 100% of the time when in 3d mode? I want my shit at 1160c/1650mem when gaming. Naaa mean?

    (the memory never bugs out, it always runs max when needed)


    I tried the cd drivers just for shits and giggles (dont remember what version)
    13.10 (lots of game crashes)
    13.12 (lot of game crashes, artifacting, and white lines)
    14.2beta (mild crashing. most stable, but still flakey)

    When she plays Thief or any other newer game on ultra or max settings its smooth. There doesnt seem to be any problems with core clocks. Its a pretty impressive card actually...when it works.

    Her specs:

    ASRock 970 extreme R2.0
    AMD Phenom II x4 925 @ 3.24Ghz (eventuly going to get her an FX 8320 or 6300)
    8G Corsair Vengeance @1600
    Power Color R7 260x 2G
    600watt Thermaltake PSU

    23i ACER @1920x1080
     
    Last edited: Mar 17, 2014
  2. Lost Hatter

    Lost Hatter

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Messages:
    157 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    :(
     
  3. FX-GMC

    FX-GMC

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    Messages:
    927 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    373
    Location:
    Cumberland Plateau
    The GPU is downclocking because the CPU is bottlenecking the card.

    On my FX-8320 overclocked and the settings maxed at 1080p (in WoW) I get around 40fps with a GTX 780. Wow likes CPU power.
     
  4. Arjai

    Arjai

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,541 (2.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,440
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    I really don't know, really. I am guessing. WOW doesn't work right with your new card but, it runs everything else just fine?

    2 and 2, makes me think of one thing....:rolleyes:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. Lost Hatter

    Lost Hatter

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Messages:
    157 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Yes its just WoW that has issues. Thief runs so nice. With everything set on max she gets 40fps in the benchmark and like 50 average in game. Its a really powerful card. She scores almost as high as my 6970 in 3d marks firestrike benchmark. Im guessing its just bad drivers. AMD is good at that...


    "facepalm"
     
  6. Lost Hatter

    Lost Hatter

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Messages:
    157 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    With my 8320 at 4ghz and a 6970 clocked at 960/1450 i get an average of like 80-100 fps in WoW. 30-40 in large raids with lots going on. In some cases is hammers up to 300-400 fps in Outland.

    How do you get 40 average with a 780? I think you're doing something wrong...lol
     
  7. FX-GMC

    FX-GMC

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    Messages:
    927 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    373
    Location:
    Cumberland Plateau
    It doesn't use the 780 at all......that was the point. :shadedshu:

    GPU ~40% usage (at 850MHz after it downclocks itself from being bored)
    CPU ~25% usage at 4.6GHz (didn't look at the per core usage but it certainly isn't taking advantage.)

    That is at 1440p and it was actually around 55fps standing near about 20 people in orgrimmar.
    When you gain fps with increased resolution it just proves that its a poorly coded game in the graphics department.

    I'm doubtful that you are fully maxed out.
     
    Last edited: Mar 26, 2014
  8. Lost Hatter

    Lost Hatter

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Messages:
    157 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Yes true story. I actually run everything on ultra at 1080p with shadows on low (on my system). You gain so much with shadows off its stupid not too do it. Hers is set mostly on high, with some options on low. And she still gets shitty frame rates. Like you said, the game is poorly coded. Especially when it comes to recent technology integration.
     
    FX-GMC says thanks.
  9. FX-GMC

    FX-GMC

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    Messages:
    927 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    373
    Location:
    Cumberland Plateau
    Thanks, I'll look into the shadows option. Maybe that is loading down one of the cores it uses. It's funny because turning down a lot of settings has no effect on frame rate so I just kept everything maxed and dealt with it. Don't have much time for WoW anymore tho.
     
  10. buildzoid

    buildzoid

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,455 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    418
    Location:
    CZ
    There are ways to stop the gpu ever going below x mhz clocks the only problem that is that the gpu will stay at x mhz even on the desktop. AMD cards tend to downclock when the card deems the work load too low which is caused by running a really really low requirement game or the cpu not keeping up.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page