1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Power issue.

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by Lightbulbie, Mar 26, 2014.

  1. Lightbulbie

    Lightbulbie

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2014
    Messages:
    561 (3.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    119
    Location:
    Bremerton, Washington
    So I'm looking for a new CPU and the one I picked (FX-8350) would probably nuke my PSU. So I was wondering if a FX-6300 would do the same.

    I'm running a 530w PSU from Raidmax and I've had no issues.

    I'm also carrying over a MSI GTX 660 OC in the upgrade.

    16GB DDR3 1600mhz RAM.

    And... Dunno of the mobo is a big issue.

    PRETTY MUCH will my PSU take a FX-6300?
     
  2. silkstone

    silkstone

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,882 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    From customer reviews and the amount of failed units in there, I doubt it would actually be able to push 530 W.

    It seems to have a tenancy of blowing up rather than just failing too. I wouldn't put one of those things in any rig.
     
  3. RCoon

    RCoon Forum Gypsy

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    6,888 (7.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,158
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    A good quality 550w PSU would run that system no problem and allow OC room. That PSU though, is not highly regarded on the few forums I've googled. Might wanna pick up a Sea Sonic 550w or something.
     
    Lightbulbie says thanks.
  4. Devon68

    Devon68

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2014
    Messages:
    590 (2.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    222
    For the fx-6300+GTX 660 that psu in enough. A friend of mine has a FX-6100+GTX660 - he ran the pc on a cooler master 460W psu at first and later changed it to a 500W model.
     
    Lightbulbie says thanks.
  5. Lightbulbie

    Lightbulbie

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2014
    Messages:
    561 (3.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    119
    Location:
    Bremerton, Washington
    Okay awesome, so some OC room is in there. I just got this PSU so I wasn't looking into buying another one. Thanks guys, you helped more than the last forum I used~
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page