1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Power Requirements for 20 HD 7990's

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Soup, Feb 1, 2012.

  1. Soup

    Soup New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    Messages:
    159 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    'merica
    Hey all,
    I'm looking for some input about the power requirements of 20 of the upcoming HD 7990's...
    Total wattage?
    Best PSU setup? ie. 10x1000W? 5x1500W?
    If I set these up in a home would I need a special high amp electrical drop? 30amp? 100amp?

    Interested to hear what you all think.
  2. sa seba New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    12 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    This should do:
    [​IMG]
    xfire, AlienIsGOD and Soup say thanks.
  3. Lost Hatter

    Lost Hatter

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Messages:
    157 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    This should do the trick
    [​IMG]
  4. Soup

    Soup New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    Messages:
    159 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    'merica
    Everyone's a comedian...
  5. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,864 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,411
    It would be about the same as 40 7970's http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/AMD/HD_7970/26.html You could get an idea of the power savings of the 7990 vs 2 7970's by looking at the power savings between 2 6970's CrossFired and 1 6990. As for the rest, that's your work to do. If this is serious, I'd be talking to PC Power & Cooling about custom PSU's. Maybe there's something out there already made for Tesla racks.
    Soup says thanks.
  6. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,493 (13.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,908
    Yeah, that's going to happen when these kinds of questions are asked. What is the purpose of running so many cards? In reality, it is quite easy to figure out. Required PSU for a 7970 is: 500W. In reality, they draw around 220w at max load. 220w x 20 = 4400 watts. Either way, you'll want to find PSU's that have no less than 8 PCI-E cables each.
  7. OnePostWonder

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Messages:
    579 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    107
    Whoa, Vegeta was way off. He was thinking the power needed was over 9000...watts.
  8. douglatins

    douglatins

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,862 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    273
    Location:
    Brasil
    why the f#@k would you need to know that? If you really wanted to know you could have easily estimated based on the 7950x2, so don't bash those that joked about it.

    Ohhh as reading the thread found erocker comment, he is a kinder person

    I think he is closer, the crazy person asked about the New Zeland so actually 40 7970 underclocked.

    Edit lol i though that actually there were a user named vegeta. U were making the over joke. But the figure made sense to me
    Last edited: Feb 1, 2012
  9. Soup

    Soup New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    Messages:
    159 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    'merica
    I'm just looking for some opinions from what I see as a pretty well educated crowd.
    I suppose I'm really more interested in your opinions in regards to my latter two questions:
    But I'm glad to see that John Gabriels Greater Internet F@#kwad Theory prevails. :)
  10. Soup

    Soup New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    Messages:
    159 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    'merica
    This is serious and thank you for the idea.
  11. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,864 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,411
    I'd also talk to Supermicro. (look at this link)
  12. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,493 (13.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,908
    If each card was hooked up to a separate system. :)
  13. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,821 (4.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,479
    @Soup

    I think erocker gave you the best answer on power requirements.

    Me, I'm intrigued why you're asking. You must have a special project in mind for this? Would nvidia do or does it have to be AMD? So many questions, share this with us! I think you'll find that people will get quite fired up about it if you let us know. :toast:
  14. Soup

    Soup New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    Messages:
    159 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    'merica
    Agreed.

    I'm looking into super high density parallel processing for complex aero/hydrodynamics simulations and possibly other things... bitcoin mining? hehe.

    I've priced out a single system that should host 20 cards, fingers crossed; just over $25000

    EDIT: AMD would be best.
  15. OnePostWonder

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Messages:
    579 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    107
    Is he related to Peter Gabriel? FSR love Peter Gabriel.

    Also, how do we know Mr. Hepcat here isn't working for the Russians? "Complex aero/hydrodynamics simulations and possibly other things"...sounds a lot like an airport, a seaport and a possibly a nuclear reactor to me.

    Just remember kids, "No Russian".
    Last edited: Feb 1, 2012
  16. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,821 (4.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,479
    That aero/hydrodynamics stuff sounds fascinating. It would be nice to figure out the rendering power at your fingertips if you could theoretically CrossFire them all together. :eek:

    Wow, 25 grand, you could be a car for that. :)

    I'm curious why AMD in particular though. Is it a special feature you want eg 28nm tech, or you just prefer AMD products and have more confidence in them?
  17. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,765 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    824
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    Holy Shit that is all I have to say Not trying to be a funny guy here but you might have cops trying to raid your house with that much power usage. You might laugh but seriously I would consider letting your city know when you do this. Why??? How do you think they catch people growing illegal plants?
  18. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,493 (13.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,908
    You sure? What kind of mainboard supports 20 graphics cards and/or what kind of mainboard supports enough daughterboards for 20 graphics cards?!
  19. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,980 (3.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    798
    Location:
    Italy
    If you are a business you can just ask higher profiles from your electricity company and no one will question you, atleast here it works like this, but yeah as a private might be a problem :D
  20. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,765 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    824
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    Yeah good point I am currently not aware of any main board even in the server market that can hold that many expansion cards. Even if there was a way to start splitting PCIe slots the bandwidth would be cut seriously low.

    Yeah that is what I meant :)


    *** Edit***
    to the above thought the only idea I could think of when he is talking about a single system..... is maybe some sort of server rack. While sure it is not really classified as just one system.... I guess you could call it a single unit depending on how you have it hooked up. We do things like this at my work for flight simulators and such.
  21. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,294 (8.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18,384
    Last edited: Feb 1, 2012
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. ViperXTR

    ViperXTR

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    1,394 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    407
    i was thinkin of the HD 7900 workstation variant, the AMD FireStream series for parallel computing, stacked on racks of cabinets, much more expensive than desktop variants tho.

    Ah, i remember that Fastra, i wonder if they will continue using Nvidia cards for the next one?
  23. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,392 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    633
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    I've only posted it here 4 or 5 times already ;)

    [​IMG]

    (don't count and find out it's only 19 slots) :D
    Sir B. Fannybottom says thanks.
  24. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,765 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    824
    Location:
    Midwest USA
  25. Darkleoco

    Darkleoco

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,598 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Cullowhee, North Carolina
    The applications for something this powerful seem very interesting.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page