1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Power supply - Can you daisy chain to power more Sata drives safely???

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by mrmotivator, May 8, 2012.

  1. mrmotivator New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    51 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bournemouth
    Hi there people...

    Im completely new at building a pc so excuse the questions!

    I have been looking into a 650W Corsair TX650 V2 80PLUS Bronze Power Supply, but it says it can only power up to 8 sata drive. I was hoping to have ten, can you daisy chain the power leads to them or do i need a more powerful psu???

    Advice would mean alot ;)
  2. Batou1986

    Batou1986

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,399 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    329
    Location:
    Baltimore MD
    Just spend the money and get something that can support 10 drives.
    The way i see it PSU's are a good long term investment if you spend the money now to get something high quality it will likely last you through several builds like my Silverstone has for 5 years.
    Last edited: May 8, 2012
  3. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,414 (10.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,985
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Just buy some of these for your extra 12V molex plugs

    [​IMG]
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,130 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    620
  5. mrmotivator New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    51 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bournemouth
    thanks, so you dont think it will overload it?!
  6. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,130 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    620
    We are talking HDD's here, not GPU's. HDD's use the most power upon spin up. 8 7200rpm HDD's I cant imagine to use more than 160W at spin up. Otherwise, they are around 10W in use.

    That said, the 650tx v2 is a single rail PSU so no way would it overload it. :)

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page