1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Power Supply Consumption Program?

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by PyroX1040, Jan 4, 2008.

  1. PyroX1040 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    Messages:
    283 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Currently according to 3 different sites my computer requires about 675+ Watts of power and I was wondering if anyone has heard or knows of a power supply reader that can tell you your computer is taking [Ex:]500Watts out of Your 600Watts[/Ex:]

    If so please lemme know trying to figure out how much juice my computer needs,

    thanks!
     
  2. a111087

    a111087

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,760 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    201
    Location:
    US
    PyroX1040 says thanks.
  3. PyroX1040 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    Messages:
    283 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Okey I'll try that danke ^>^
     
  4. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    555
    Location:
    Earth
    PyroX1040 says thanks.
  5. largon

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,780 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    432
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    Get a power meter that plugs in the wall socket.
    Each and every "PSU calculator" out there is literally clueless.
     
    PyroX1040 says thanks.
  6. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    psu calculators on the net always overexaggerate because you always want to have head room on the psu. electronics are not ideal and the capacity of your psu will decrease over time, and thats why you always want to have head room. kill-a-watt, as many people have pointed out will tell you your psu draw.
     
    PyroX1040 says thanks.
  7. Dia01

    Dia01 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Messages:
    498 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    54
    Location:
    QLD, Australia
    The killawatt meter actually measures the current draw from your mains supply. So here in Australia at 240V mains supply, if a computer system is drawing say 2.5 amps then the wattage value equates to 600W for example. If you were brave enough and I highly don't recommend, you could use a multimeter if you had one set to measure amps, place it in series with the active supply at the outlet for instance to obtain the current draw. Using formula P=V*I you can find out the wattage. :ohwell:
     
  8. trog100 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    its not just total wattage.. its enough power on the 12 volt rails that feed your grafix cards.. u need three 15 amps rails or someting like that.. one for the cpu and one each for the cards..

    the cpu would be roughly 100 watts or 9 amps.. each card would be roughly 180 watts or 15 amps..

    its the 12 volt rails that matter.. u neeed a psu with three 12 volt rails 19 amps tends to be the max for each rail..

    the rail that feeds the cpu is overkill and mostly wasted.. u need to make sure the two card rails have enough grunt..

    a more powerfull psu with four rails wouldnt be any better unless u have more cards.. one would be doing nothing they dont mix..

    a less powefull one with only two 12 volt 19 amp rails like mine for example has way more than the cpu needs but would be struggling to feed to two power hungry cards like u have from its other 19 amp rail.. basically the power has to go to the places its needed..

    trog
     
    Last edited: Jan 5, 2008
  9. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    All this multi rail stuff is misleading tho'.I read an article that stated pc psu have 1 12v rail and all the other ones come off that.If you opened up your psu(god forbid) and looked,i bet that all the 12v leads come from the same point on the psu.

    If someone finds evidence to the contrary then i'll admit i'mm wrong.I will try and find the article.
     
  10. joker71

    joker71 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    31 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    finland
    psu power tester

    hey mate here is a link from antec that will tell you what u are using in powerconsumption

    i have a 1000watt from antec and i am using 968 watt in totall

    just fill everything in and when u are ready press calculate and it tells u what is your power consumption..

    http://www.extreme.outervision.com/powercalc.jsp

    :respect:
     
  11. trog100 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    the old ons used to do that.. some of the less powerfull ones still do.. but its some kind of intel spec.. they say no more than 19 amps from any one rail.. course it did mean their "cooking" P4 prescots always had enough juice..

    trog

    ps.. this little pic is interesting.. it does kinda suggest most folks go way over the top with their psu "gueses".. power draw at the wall socket..

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jan 5, 2008
  12. tzitzibp

    tzitzibp New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Messages:
    2,225 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Larisa, Greece
    try this http://support.asus.com/PowerSupplyC...Language=en-us for calculating your needs... then try the following

    http://www.legitreviews.com/article/348/1/

    http://www.overclockers.com.au/article.php?id=359867

    http://www.tomshardware.com/2002/10/...duct_labeling/

    to read about your needs and always remember that is better to have better efficiency from your PSU so you spend less. I mean that if you get a good quality product rather than a cheap one with the same specs you'll earn money in the long run....

    also posted at : http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=48792
     
  13. trog100 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    no f-cking way.. :laugh:

    trog
     
  14. trog100 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    so my little pic says 374 watts at the wall socket.. this is a powefull intel cpu.. with the most power hungry grafix card their is..

    allow for the 80% or so efficiency factor and we have total power draw of around 320 watts from the psu..

    hmmmm.. yes.. it seems the guys selling power supplies to "enthusiasts" are doing a grand job..

    trog

    ps.. the 80% or so efficiency factor is only true when the psu is working near its rated capacity.. it gets worse when its load is less.. another reason not to waste money on a psu u dont need..
     
    Last edited: Jan 5, 2008
  15. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,924 (3.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,433
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. Dia01

    Dia01 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Messages:
    498 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    54
    Location:
    QLD, Australia
    Decided to tong test my system at the wall outlet. All readings are taken at the maximum measurement.

    Boot: 1.4 amps
    System Idle: 1.35 amps
    Load (Crysis GPU Benchmark - DX10, 1024X768, Very High, no AA): 1.8 amps
    Load (Prime95 Torture Test): 1.5 amps

    So, calculating the power consumpstion at 240V mains supply:

    Boot: 336W
    System Idle: 324W
    Load (Crysis GPU Benchmark - DX10, 1024X768, Very High, no AA): 432W
    Load (Prime95 Torture Test): 360W

    Sytem: See system specs + 4 X 120mm LED Fans and 2 X 120mm normal fans, all system running at stock speeds.

    Tong Test System @ Boot.JPG
     
  17. thebeephaha

    thebeephaha

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    104
    Location:
    Bellevue, WA
    According to my UPS battery my computer in my sig pulls 370w "idle" and on load while running a game I've gotten it to like 475-500w, and stress testing with full CPU, GFX, & HDD load is about 550w.

    The kill-a-watt shows roughly the same numbers but I am more inclined to trust my UPS.
     
  18. Dia01

    Dia01 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Messages:
    498 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    54
    Location:
    QLD, Australia
    Head room is quite important I believe anyway. Why do people want to skimp money on such an important item anyway? :wtf:
     
  19. trog100 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    skimp isnt the correct word.. people just want to spend wisly..

    i could equally say why waste money on something that u dont need or wont benefit from..

    a decent psu will be quoted in 24/7 wattage with a seperate peak wattage..

    a lesser quality one will just use peak wattage.. power supply makers are getting more honest in the wattage they claim..

    as a general rule 450 to 550 is good for single mid to high end single card system..

    600 to 750 for twin card power hungry system.. a 1000 watts is for the birds..

    if the claimed wattage isnt backed up by more specific figures assume it aint real..

    trog
     
    Namslas90 says thanks.
  20. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    My psu is 430watt,it runs my pc sweet,even when its been benching at 4ghz.Iam gonna buy a new one soon,a corsair 520hx,but only coz i've had this 2 yrs and my mate needs a cheap psu.
     
  21. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,924 (3.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,433
    Many people buy a slightly larger PSU to have some extra "room" for upgrades.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    Aye,its the extra cost of unused watts tho'.I'll usually buy as big a psu as i think i need and not spend lots of extra dosh on watts i just dont need.If i upgraded my pc,then i would also upgrade the psu to match the new higher power parts i have bought.
     
  23. Dia01

    Dia01 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Messages:
    498 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    54
    Location:
    QLD, Australia
    True, all I'm indicating, (skimping is not an appropriate word, I agree) is that some components and especially GFx cards are quite expensive and an under wattaged generic type brand psu would not provide justice (you may be lucky but). I use a 1000W because at the time I could afford it and don't wish to upgrade for quite some time. It is overkill, granted, but it does not run at all close to its spec's and keeps quite cool without stressing the internals with heat. I had provided an earlier example of what my system is drawing in realtime proving with agreeance to your statement that some of the online calculator's are over the top with their estimations. :toast:
     
    Namslas90 says thanks.
  24. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,924 (3.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,433
    Maybe it's just me, but I never have all the money for all the parts at the same time. Usually it's "upgrade this now, upgrade that later."
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. Richieb0y

    Richieb0y New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Messages:
    471 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    The Netherlands Almere
    yea i tested too on diffrent sites but all where diffrent :)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page