1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Power supply extension hooked up directly to power supply???

Discussion in 'Cases, Modding & Electronics' started by 20mmrain, Mar 10, 2012.

  1. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,768 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    Just a question to see if it would be possible. I know that Full modular power supplies have custom connections connecting direct to the power supply so hooking up an extension right the store direct to the power supply would be impossible. But if you were to switch the custom connection from the stock cable to an extension would it work?

    Has anyone tried this? a quick example....

    My XFX power supply's 24-pin has two connection blocks connecting it to the power supply. If I were to change these connection blocks to the 24 pin extension would it work? I ask because I looking to try something new and maybe a little easier instead of sleeving all my cables by hand.

    Thanks
  2. slyfox2151

    slyfox2151

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,606 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    524
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    as long as all the cable colors match up i see no harm...
  3. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,294 (2.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    859
    Location:
    London, UK
    Should be fine as long as you are only adding extensions... If you are Leashing to PSU's together i think it might be difficult
  4. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,768 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    No Leashing just replacing stock cables with Extensions....

    Would this really matter? I thought the colors were not exactly standardized. I thought.... as long as I would insert correct pin into correct slot things would be fine.
  5. KingPing

    KingPing

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    811 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    269
    Location:
    Argentina (South America)

    [​IMG]
  6. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,768 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    LOL I misunderstood what you were saying. Yes I understand ATX wires are color coded. For some reason... I thought you making a generalized statement about color coding on wires. For example ground wires are usually black. But I have seen ground wires also be white with a black stripe in some instances. (Of course not on PC power supplies) I don't know why I took your statement this way.... just not thinking today.
  7. Sinzia

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    836 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    199
    If its like my AX1200 then you cant, I have the "split block" on the PSU side, and there's multiple wires that are split between two pins, I'd check to see if that XFX is doing the same kind of thing.
  8. Arctucas

    Arctucas

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,764 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    290
    The AX1200 uses custom, non-standard connectors on the PSU end of the cables.
  9. Arctucas

    Arctucas

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,764 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    290
    Do this:

    Unpin the PSU end of both the OEM cable and the extension cable you want to use, one conductor at a time, moving the extension cable conductors to the OEM connector, making sure to keep the pin-outs the same.

    Problem solved.
    20mmrain says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page