1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Power supply for 560TI ??

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by drakesou, Oct 6, 2011.

  1. drakesou New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2011
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  2. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,524 (10.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,041
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Corsair 650TX or 750TX, would do nicely
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    No questions asked it will work if it has 2x 6 pin PCIe power connections.

    @B

    Why so powerful for? even a 2nd tier 500W would do.
  4. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,524 (10.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,041
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    You never know when he may want to add more. Then he would be stuck with another PSU upgrade as well.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,544 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,428
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    NVidia minimum spec is 500W I beleive, I would give it some margin however and go for a 600W, personally i wouldnt go above that unless I could get a really good deal on a decent higher rated one, simply because you wouldn't buy a bus to drive at 17 just in case that by the time you were 30 you had 30 kids :laugh:
  6. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2011
  7. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,165 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    631
    500W is the minimum and frankly what I would pick regardless. Something like Corsair 550VX would be my choice.

    I reviewed the 560ti and it only pulled under 370W at the wall with a hefty overclock on both the CPU and GPU.
    Also note, I am currently running a 4.5Ghz 2600k and a stock 580 Matrix with a 560W PSU (Seasonic X560). If I overclock the GPU, I barely break 500W at the wall (90% efficient so 450W actual).
    Jeffredo and JrRacinFan say thanks.
  8. drakesou New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2011
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  9. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Will just ask this, how old is your current one? I would say if less than 1 1/2yrs and has 2 6pin PCIe then it would work ok til you can afford to get a new one.
  10. drakesou New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2011
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    It is 2 years and 9 months old and it does have two 6pin as the 9800GTX requires two 6pin.
  11. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,165 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    631
    Absolutely. But to be truthful, the next part I would upgrade is your PSU. Im not sure of the quality as I have never heard of "Casing Macron" who actually makes your PSU and that is scary.

    Honestly, if you have the money, I would just do the safe thing and get a quality PSU...

    Here is a list of them: http://www.overclockers.com/forums/showthread.php?t=589708

    Corsair CX600 or 550VX would be my choices personally.
  12. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,544 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,428
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    No I'm not necessarily saying that, although he states he is also moving from a dual core to quad core, probably similar TDP ratings in any case, however the card has a minimum spec but NVidia always include a margin in that, I just don't like cutting it too fine, my point was as much that I would not go too overboard and get a 700+ Watt unit.
    JrRacinFan says thanks.
  13. drakesou New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2011
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Can someone just tell me whether my PSU is OK or not ???

    If it is not power enough, will it damage my board and other components while in use ?
  14. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,165 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    631
    We have alluded to that fact already....

    Your PSU is of questioniable quality. While it SHOULD work, as it is RATED for enough power, it may not due to its age and questionable quality. Cheap PSU's have more of a chance to take out your rig than quality PSUs. So like we have already said, try it, but make your PSU upgrade the next thing you do even if it does work.
  15. drakesou New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2011
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Ok, I will have a try. Just don`t know whether it will damage my other components or not if the PSU is not good quality and shut down straight away while the PC is running games or fully loaded.:confused:
  16. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,165 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    631
    Its a very slim chance it will take your system down with it if it cant hack it, but again, the propensity to do so is greater with cheap PSU's.

    Again, try it, but keep a PSU upgrade on your short list. ;)

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page