1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Power Supply issue

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by GSG-9, Jun 2, 2010.

  1. GSG-9

    GSG-9

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Messages:
    1,680 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Mn
    Power Supply issue (EPS 2.1 not booting ATX mobo?)

    I just moved my entire rig into a new case as my matx power supply had a fan that was failing. Instead of try to go through the pains of finding a matx psu larger than 450w I bought a atx case so I could start using a 550w Switching EPS power supply I have had around.

    After the move and install I cannot get my computer to post with the EPS-12v power supply. Is there something I don't know about using an eps supply in a standard atx/matx rig (Yes it did look around online and found nothing really)

    If you know anything please fill me in!


    Athena Power
    Model: MPS3ATX55E(KY-650ATX_
    550W PS3 EPS-12V Switching Power Supply
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2010
  2. GSG-9

    GSG-9

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Messages:
    1,680 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Mn
    Bump
  3. slyfox2151

    slyfox2151

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,606 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    524
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    does it work outside the case?
  4. MKmods Case Mod Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5,697 (2.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,748
    Location:
    Nevada
    Last edited: Jun 3, 2010
  5. GSG-9

    GSG-9

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Messages:
    1,680 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Mn
    I'm not sure what you mean, the whole st up starts without that psu, with it I cannot get the setup to start with onboard and just what is needed. But it is more powerful than my current psu (see specs).

    It has extra pins coming off the 24pin. I am wondering if it is something specific to dell computers. The PSU powers the board (leds go on) but pushing the power button does nothing.

    Look at what im running it off of now, and it does not have power issues.
  6. MKmods Case Mod Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5,697 (2.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,748
    Location:
    Nevada
    sweet so it hasn't exploded yet and taken out all ur hardware...Keep pushing ur luck.
  7. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,333 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,558
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    That PSU has gotten some poor reviews over at Newegg.
    However, just to add a note here, Newegg has the 2x12volt rails wrong, as they are 16A, not 13A as Newegg has listed. Athena site: HERCULES 550W AP-MPS3ATX55E

    These are basically replacement for OEM PSUs found in these cross referenced system.
    And, if the supply is good and working properly...IMO, it should work.

    Try this:
    Use a multimeter and check the outputs on the connectors.

    Make sure you have connected all the connectors to the MB , vid card, and etc..
  8. GSG-9

    GSG-9

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Messages:
    1,680 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Mn
    This is my current PSU and it is working fine btw.

    I think mine may be damaged since it will not even start to boot the computer. My only other thought is that I did not get this cable with it, it may bring the 6 pin back in.
    [​IMG]
    I bought it quite a while ago though so I can't return it.
  9. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,587 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,927
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page