1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Power supply keeps blowing fuses.

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by pantherx12, Jul 16, 2012.

  1. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Any ideas why that could be at all?
     
  2. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,923 (4.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,506
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    Is it the internal fuse or the house fuse? You can try running the system outside the case to make sure there is nothing shorting to the case. If that proves good then go through your hardware to eliminate each piece until you can defiantly prove to psu is at fault. But don't take long doing it as it can burn down the system if it is the psu. You could also just go right to the psu and replace it with a test unit and see if all is well.
     
    pantherx12 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND

    Internal fuse is fine, house fuse is fine, plug fuse is fubared.

    Nothing seems to be shorting out inside the case or anything... I hope it isn't the power supply because I can't get a new one :laugh:

    Also I'm posting from the rig in question at the moment, it just happens sporadically, this time it happened whilst the PC was asleep.

    I think ( not 100% certain) that's when it happened last time.
     
  4. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,764 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,325
    Where is that plug fuse located? I don't understand where it is, it's not internal and not in the house and you shouldn't have more fuses.
     
    pantherx12 says thanks.
  5. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,581 (3.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,933
    It would be inside the wall plug i.e. the pronged part which goes inside the wall socket.
     
    pantherx12 and Frick say thanks.
  6. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,946 (2.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,211
    Maybe the power cable itself is the problem?
     
    pantherx12 says thanks.
  7. SnoopKatt

    SnoopKatt

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    202 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    SoCal
    Definitely switch that out and see if it helps.

    Sometimes different plugs can share the same fuse. The electrician who wired my house totally screwed it up, so almost have the plugs downstairs are on the same fuse. If I run two high powered devices at the same time in those specific plugs, I blow a fuse. Maybe it's happening when you are running a vacuum or something?
     
    pantherx12 says thanks.
  8. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,764 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,325
    Huh. We don't have those here.

    But yeah power cable.
     
    pantherx12 says thanks.
  9. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5,089 (2.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,076
    Location:
    Oregon
    Bad wall plug, do you guys have ground-fault circuit interrupters
     
    pantherx12 says thanks.
  10. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    I'll try a different power cable, though as this happens sporadicly we'll just have to wait to see if it works.

    "Bad wall plug, do you guys have ground-fault circuit interrupters "

    *shrugs* Not familiar with the term unfortunately.



    "Sometimes different plugs can share the same fuse. The electrician who wired my house totally screwed it up, so almost have the plugs downstairs are on the same fuse. If I run two high powered devices at the same time in those specific plugs, I blow a fuse. Maybe it's happening when you are running a vacuum or something? "

    Upstairs gets a fuse, downstairs gets a fuse.

    Those fuses are fine.


    It's the fuse inside of the plug that dies.
     
  11. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,096 (7.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,644
    Wall fuse? I'm confused. Can you post a pick I might be able to help.
     
    pantherx12 says thanks.
  12. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    In the UK you get fuses here as well
    [​IMG]
     
    INSTG8R says thanks.
  13. Sinzia

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    841 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    205
    check the connections, make sure every things tight, check for any signs of tarnish or wear around the fuse.

    My guess is its a bad connection inside the plug and thats causing it.
     
    pantherx12 says thanks.
  14. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Commonly known as GFI. Here in the use they are like a surge protector on a receptacle with test and reset buttons.
    [​IMG]

    Try a different power cable.
     
    pantherx12 says thanks.
  15. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,096 (7.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,644
    Ah ok. Sounds like you have a bad ground. Pull the receptacle from the wall and see if its back stabbed or around the screw. If its around the screw it might just be lose (easy fix) if its back stabbed then change out the receptacle. Dunno if you have access to a ground tester but its a good 4 dollar investment. FYI turn off the breaker first!

    Hes not talking about a GFI and I doubt he has one in his room. Those are for kitchens, bathrooms and garages.
     
    INSTG8R and pantherx12 say thanks.
  16. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Thanks for all the help guys, now to get my FX overclocking working properly again XD
     
  17. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,096 (7.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,644
    Let me know if you need any help man. My father was an Electrical contractor for years. If I can't help you Ill ask him. Ive done more electrical work myself then I care to admit.
     
    pantherx12 says thanks.
  18. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    I doubt he does too since he is in the UK. Also unless I was mislead with bad info, what do you mean what I posted is not a GF(C)I, stands for ground fault circuit interrupt no?
     
  19. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,096 (7.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,644
    Ah I misunderstood. I thought he had something similar to a GFI in his house. Also it IS a GFI you posted. I was just stating where they are located in a house. They don't put those in bedrooms and such. Only kitchens, bathrooms and garages depending on the code.
     
  20. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Yeah well aware. He was asking what it was, see directly which post I quoted. :)

     
  21. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,096 (7.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,644
    lol I know. I just got confused like a teenage Elton John.
     
    INSTG8R, pantherx12 and JrRacinFan say thanks.
  22. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Who is Elton John and why was he confused?! Oh wait I know who Elton John is wtf ok now Im confused


    :roll: J/k bro

    Again panther, hit yourself up with a new power cable and MAYBE replace the wall plug if your feeling energetic. (excuse the bad pun, it was intended)
     
    Last edited: Jul 20, 2012
  23. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Unfortunately I am not :laugh: besides only got a double wallplug spare at the moment and I don't fancy modifying the walls in my house to accommodate it :laugh:

    Got loads of kettle leads though so that's a real easy thing to replace. Hell I've so many I use them to tie bundles of other cables up :laugh:
     
  24. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,899 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    462
    Location:
    Lost in Norway
    Yeah outside of the plug itself being bad I would check the wall socket like Mailman said(if your comfortable doing it of course) and check that the wires are all connected, not touching each other/ grounding out.
     
  25. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND


    Aye it's not really a problem, just need to wait til everyones asleep so I can turn of the circuit for the walllplugs upstairs.

    I should note I'm using an obscenely long extension cable that's 30 years old...... ( my multiplug is pluged into that)

    I forgot to mention that before :laugh:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page