1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Power supply problem?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by vMG, Aug 18, 2010.

  1. vMG

    vMG New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    70 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    How do I know if my PSU is... FRIED?!

    I was just using my computer today. I bought a new CPU cooler and installed it.
    I decided to clean my computer too from dust and stuff and to make it more tidy inside.

    I put everything back together... and it WON'T TURN ON!

    W
    T
    F
    ?!
     
  2. streetfighter 2

    streetfighter 2 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,658 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    732
    Location:
    Philly
    Yeah I had that happen once. Plugged the power cord in and bam, it blew up six Cambodian Refugees.

    On a more serious note, is it plugged in and the PSU switch is on? Are any of the fans spinning? Does it make any noises? Mobo lights on?

    Last I checked PC Power & Cooling has some pretty good PSUs. Did it make a pop?
     
    vMG says thanks.
  3. vMG

    vMG New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    70 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    oh

    my

    friggin

    gosh!!!
     
  4. vMG

    vMG New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    70 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    I HATE YOU PC POWER & COOLING!
    :banghead:
     
  5. joytime360

    joytime360 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    187 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    lol
     
  6. vMG

    vMG New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    70 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    it won't even turn on, at all.

    power switch is on. i checked my components again. everything is fine.
    i don't understand why this is happening.

    thing is, it was actually working for a few minutes before it never turned on again.
    although there was something strange. it would turn on, but there would be no video feed.
    the case fans were running fine. but it would shut off after like 30 seconds of being on.
    and then turn on again, and then repeat the same pattern.

    eventually it just turned off and i could never turn it on again.

    and no, i didn't hear anything.
     
  7. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,553 (11.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,827
    sounds like you missed a power cable somewhere. pull it apart, put it together again.
     
    vMG says thanks.
  8. slyfox2151

    slyfox2151

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,611 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    525
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    maybe its just shorting out somewhere? take ur PC apart and stick it on the motherboard box outside of the case and see if it turns on then.



    imo broken motherboard is more likely then psu :p also maybe a better title..
     
    vMG says thanks.
  9. vMG

    vMG New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    70 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    ok so i managed to turn it on.

    it keeps turning on and off, 30 second intervals.
     
  10. slyfox2151

    slyfox2151

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,611 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    525
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    reset the bios and do the other things that i said.
     
    vMG says thanks.
  11. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,553 (11.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,827
    it still sounds like you've missed something. aux 4/8 pin connector for CPU power, power to the video card, etc.
     
    vMG says thanks.
  12. vMG

    vMG New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    70 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    how do i do that if there's no damn video coming up!?
     
  13. vMG

    vMG New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    70 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    also i noticed on my mobo there's these 4 lights called... "Phase LED's 1 2 3 4"

    all 4 are on! OMG! does this mean anything?
     
  14. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,180 (3.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,821
    Location:
    04578
    and if the psu is gone PCP&C is ridiculously easy to deal with on an RMA got my silencer 750 red back with all new guts on the inside i was right in the 12v rail just wasnt up to snuff any more :roll:
     
    vMG says thanks.
  15. Perseid New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    156 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Location:
    Wisconsin, USA
    You might want to google for that. The name/serial of your mobo and 'phase led'. That might be your key to figuring out what's wrong.
     
    vMG says thanks.
  16. vMG

    vMG New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    70 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    also noticed 3 green led's lit on my 4870.

    i also noticed a red LED on my 4870 flashing once every few seconds.
     
  17. Perseid New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    156 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Location:
    Wisconsin, USA
    A logical guess might say that those lights might indicate, 'I can't get enough power to do more than show these lights', especially if both the mobo and video card are doing it. Still, though, google. :)
     
    vMG says thanks.
  18. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Time to RMA the power supply. :)
     
    vMG says thanks.
  19. vMG

    vMG New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    70 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    i found out that the phase led's means the CPU is loading.
    The more the CPU is loading, the more LED's will light up.

    I have all 4 lit up while my computer is turning on... wtf?!
    screw it. im gonna just take it apart completely then.
     
  20. vMG

    vMG New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    70 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    No luck.

    It's shutting on and off again.
    All 4 Phase LED's are on and there's a Red LED flashing on my 4870.

    I connected my video card on separate rails this time. Nothing changed.
    Wow, I can't believe my computer is broke.

    Unless there's just something I'm overlooking... :confused:

    Could it be my Processor? When I bought my new CPU Fan, I had to apply thermal paste to it.
    Perhaps the thermal paste somehow got into the CPU?
     
  21. vMG

    vMG New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    70 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    For the video card, I am using a two separate rails.

    One rail is directly from the PSU, with 6-pins.
    And it's even labelled, "PCI-E" on it.

    The second rail is using the 6-pin adaptor that came with the video card.
    So it's a 6-pin connected to the white socket with 4 pins on it.
    It's strange because my video card has been on ONE rail since i first bought it.
     
  22. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Ok, clear cmos. If you still don't get post then remove battery and disconnect the main cord from the psu leavin everything idle for at least an hour. Post back with results.
     
    vMG says thanks.
  23. vMG

    vMG New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    70 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    I can't go into BIOS or CMOS, because no video comes up on screen.
     
  24. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    The clear cmos jumper is on your motherboard. Refer to your user manual.
     
    vMG says thanks.
  25. vMG

    vMG New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    70 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    I found it. it's two pins. what do i do with it?

    nevermind. ill touch it with a screw driver.

    nothing changed. manual told me to either put a jumper cap or use a screwdriver.

    i touched the two pins with a screwdriver for a few seconds.
     
    Last edited: Aug 18, 2010

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page