1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Power supply problem

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by TmdRockz™, Oct 7, 2008.

  1. TmdRockz™

    TmdRockz™ New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    236 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    SRI LANKA
    i got a LEGEND Server 500W power supply ..but stilli didnt fit it to the PC ..i want to know will it enough for me?
    Here is the image[​IMG]

    I have 2 Hard drives and 2 DVD WRiters and E8400 precessor and foxconn mars mobo and at last PNY 9600 GT ..it need extra power by a 6 pin wire

    will this psu enough for my requirements ?
     
  2. King Wookie

    King Wookie New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,197 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    277
    Location:
    Johannesburg, South Africa
    It will probably cope if you are not overclocking, but I'd strongly recommend looking for a better psu. Not necessarily bigger, but a more reliable brand.

    As the mantra goes, never skimp on your psu. If it goes wrong, it could very easliy kill your whole system.

    I don't know what you have available that side, but good brands are Corsair, Thermaltake, Antec, Seasonic, Silverstone, etc.
     
  3. burebista

    burebista

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    615 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    184
    Location:
    Romania
    It's an old ATX12V v1.3 design with load on +5V and +3.3V. On +12V you have only 16A. You'll heavily crossload this PSU with your specs.
    I suggest to look a good brand PSU. 400-450W is more than enough. Antec EA380/430 are good and cheap.
     
    King Wookie says thanks.
  4. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,177 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    very enough even with extreme overclock , if this bran name and give real 500w or even 450w
     
  5. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,388 (4.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,714
    Go with a Neo HE 500 or even 650 for peace of mind.
     
  6. King Wookie

    King Wookie New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,197 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    277
    Location:
    Johannesburg, South Africa
    Missed that!

    If I was you, I'd be shopping for something more suitable right now.
    16A on the 12V line is not that hot.
     
  7. Anusha

    Anusha

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Messages:
    753 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    dude we do not get good brand PSUs in Sri Lanka!!!

    I'm sure his PSU will be enough. I'm running a similar rig (the one in the siggy) with 18A on +12A without any hiccups. On this same forum, I saw someone having only 12A on +12V ran a 8800GT!!!
     
  8. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,973 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    863
    Location:
    Ohio
    you forgot PC Power & Cooling :slap:

    I'd go with them or Corsair. The 16A will probably be enough, I've got a setup running on similar specs (not the one in my specs list) with a worse psu that hasn't had any problems yet. It's just that you would want something more reliable, cuz if it fails it could take everything else with it. Even if it does fail, you still want a company with good warranty, rma support, etc. I think PC P&C even offers compensation for other hardware damaged by psu failure sometimes from what I've heard.

    edit: if you don't get good brands over there, it would be worth just importing something really nice to last you through multiple upgrades and systems so you won't have to worry for a while.
     
  9. Anusha

    Anusha

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Messages:
    753 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    Importing heavy goods (such as PSUs, HSFs) makes the price 2 or 3 times more.

    Check this site. This is like newegg over here. They import from USA, and sell. Divide the prices by 110 to get the US$ value. Very expensive.

    I have a 500W Fortrex 500W PSU (not the same model i think; iirc mine has 18A on +12V) which is over 4 years old, and still doing very well in my rig in the siggy.
     
    Last edited: Oct 8, 2008
  10. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,973 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    863
    Location:
    Ohio
    What if you buy second-hand and have them send it as a gift?
     
  11. Anusha

    Anusha

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Messages:
    753 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    Shipping charges are very expensive men :(
    I mean, just imagine the ~USD20 Freezer 7 Pro is about USD60 here.
     
  12. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,973 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    863
    Location:
    Ohio
    damn . . . well, I still think that if he had the funds he should just go ahead and get a total beast of a psu and not have to worry about getting another for a long time.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page