1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Power supply woes, Not enough watts? or Blown mobo?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by OOTay, Jun 16, 2010.

  1. OOTay

    OOTay New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Messages:
    710 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Cali
    Hey everyone long time no posts,
    I just have encountered an issue with my power supply/computer today and cant really put my finger on the problem and fix it without some clarification. First off I was cleaning the whole system out today, getting rid of dust and taking fans out etc. I was using a shop vac to suck the dust off the motherboard and fans and the power supply. I guess I must have held the vacuum to long over the fans on the power supply and induced some voltage from spinning the fans or from static electricity. Because when I reassembled the computer and flipped the PSU Switch nothing happened, then it made a high frequency noise and then a fan light flashed. After that I figured all systems go, so i pressed the power button and nothing happened at all.

    So after that I figure that its toast and ill try a reserve 300w psu (a 120w downgrade from my thermaltake 420w psu). I didnt connect hardly any fans but did connect my 3 hard drives and motherboard along with vid card and dvd drive, lol. It booted up just fine and went into windows 7 and it started to recognize all my accessories and hdd's. Then I go to plug my joy stick it in about 1 minute after that and boom, it shut off to a high frequency noise and no power to the computer at all. Probably from lack of power i assume.

    So my question is, Did I fry just my power supply or did I fry something major? Thanks for reading my post :)
  2. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    with the 300w watt psu, it's possible that it might be a lack of power. but for the first time, it's still baffling me why it would cause that. it's possible that the vaccum might have ripped out a cap or something... try and see if with minimal parts (no joystick etc), the system with work with the 300w psu.. then atleast you can pin point that it's the 420w psu, and not the mobo and the likes. If the 300w psu is giving you trouble, it might be that something might've gotten tore off your mobo or something.. though getting to windows 7 with a damaged mobo would be hard..
    OOTay says thanks.
  3. morpha

    morpha New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    416 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    Location:
    Australia
    I seriously doubt that you induced enough voltage spinning fans with a vacuum to blow a psu. Most PSU's have a tolerance towards that sort of thing. But I guess it could be the cause.

    As for the second psu it sounds like it overloaded. I've had that happen before with my own psu's. The thing runs fine for a few minutes or until the graphics card shifts into high power 3d.

    Your concern now should be acquiring another DECENT psu, and hoping you did no damage to your other components.
    OOTay says thanks.
  4. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,576 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    787
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    Did you plug joystick into usb on the back of the mobo, or on the front panel?
    If you plugged into the front panel you may have incorrectly plugged in the front panel usb cables into their headers on the mobo.
    That may be why it turned off when you plugged joystick in?
  5. OOTay

    OOTay New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Messages:
    710 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Cali
    Thanks you guys for the insight. Its funny you should mention the usb because I did plug the joy stick into the front panel and the cable was disconnected and reconnected during cleaning. So it is possible that it wasn't properly connected. That being said would that cause any damage or the whole computer to shut off and make a high frequency noise like the psu overloaded?

    Also what's a good brand of power supply that's reliable? I'm looking for around 500watts of power.

    Thanks guys!
  6. robn

    robn New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    180 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    Location:
    UK
    Yeah definitely a possibility, if it got plugged in in such a way to cause a short circuit. PSU overload protection is designed for spotting shorts especially.

    But if the PSU is dead: Corsair, Antec, Seasonic, Silverstone, FSP, Tagan... anything with a 80Plus certification and not super cheap.
    OOTay says thanks.
  7. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,576 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    787
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    This problem has killed mobo's completely before. Remove any front panel usb/firewire cables from mobo headers, cross fingers and try it again

    As for PSU's, robn's got you covered there :)
    OOTay says thanks.
  8. OOTay

    OOTay New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Messages:
    710 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Cali
    Thanks guys, ill give it a try when I get home from work today, really appreciate all the great suggestions/ideas.
  9. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,416 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,909
    I dont think you induced any sort of voltage at all. these are brushless DC fans and not possible to induce any voltage.

    You must have blown dust into the fan's ball-bearing/axle for which it cant move.

    tip: When cleaning a fan with a vaccum(i doubt if this method really cleans it), always blow air in a direction opposite to that of the fan when running (you will fin this direction etched on the fan's sides). This ensures no dust enters the bearings.


    Any graphics card should be run with more than 400W of PSU.
    OOTay says thanks.
  10. OOTay

    OOTay New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Messages:
    710 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Cali
    Ok all is well, the USB External cables were in wrong and did shut it off. So I disconnected mostly everything except the essentials and it booted right up. Now im gonna get a new power supply and everything will be a-okay.

    Big Thanks! to everyone for helping me sort all of this out!
    scaminatrix says thanks.
  11. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,576 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    787
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    No worries man
    Is the PSU definately knackered? AFAIK That problem's only killed mobo's or was the PSU gammy before?

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page