1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Power Supply

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by xbonez, Dec 16, 2010.

  1. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
    I'm putting together a folding rig with the following specs

    Intel E7400 C2D
    320GB SATA HDD
    2x1GB DDR2
    GTX 470 w/ Aftermarket Zalman cooler
    EVGA 9800 GX2

    Will a 750W PSU be enough?
     
  2. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,727 (9.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,196
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    dude 750W is plenty
     
    xbonez says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. PopcornMachine

    PopcornMachine

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,563 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    459
    Location:
    Los Angeles/Orange County CA
    A 600w would be enough.
     
    xbonez says thanks.
  4. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
    cool. Thats great. I'm getting a good deal on the 750, so its working out cheaper than a 600W PSU, so i'll stick with it
     
  5. PopcornMachine

    PopcornMachine

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,563 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    459
    Location:
    Los Angeles/Orange County CA
    And it gives you room to expand. I'm running a i7 920 and two 4830s with a 650w psu, and I never use more that 380W.
     
  6. Blaiyan New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    36 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I'm trying to fix my mothers old pc that she hasn't been able to use for years now. That's been sort of out of commission. It's been taken terrible care of at this point but still works. I knew a lot less back when I tried to add a tv tuner and after that it went haywire. I guess I didn't have enough ram or psu power for add-ons. Stupidly had the pc in a cabinet and the cord would feel like it melted. That's when the pc started cutting off by itself. When trying to troubleshoot I saw that it wasn't working. Never knew how to replace anything so I would leave the case off and have a big fan blowing air inside the pc to keep it cool. That's when I still used it with the dead fan. For a long while it's been laying around with the side off getting dust in it (i know, you're angry right now lol). anyhow now that i'm thinking of building my own I want to fix that one up. I'm just puzzled by something. I think the fan died but if so how could the psu still work and the pc come on? I'm just think about buying a new psu. The one I took out here PC is 270W (I guess 300W then?) so I want to get a 400W. It's only $40.

    FSP Group SAGA+ 400R 400W ATX12V Power Supply

    or

    Rosewill RD400-2-DB 400W ATX V2.2 Power Supply

    Is there a such thing as having a compatible psu with your motherboard? I'm also concerned about the size. Her psu has to be unscrewed from a slip case that which purpose is to lock into place into the pc. All of these old ones usually the same size? I especially need one that comes with enough cables to power two hdd's, two disk drives and a floppy. So I checked and her current psu has 1 20 pin atx connector, 4 molex IDE connectors, 1 floppy drive connector, 4-pin 12v p4 connector and the last connector I believe is the power for the fan (3-pin Molex connector?).

    It has only two memory slots. so I'd like to upgrade that. I can't check if it's compatible fully but I think I find some that are. The info on her current ram say, 512 MB, DDR, 333 MHz, PC2700U. So that's what I searched for. Is it compatible?

    http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00008AYBE/?tag=tec06d-20
     
    Last edited: Dec 18, 2010
  7. Blaiyan New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    36 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    All I really need help with right now is seeing if these fans come with a 3 pin connector to plug into the motherboard to power the fan. That's what her current one does. Help is appreciated.

    *edit*

    Forget it. I'm going to get a molex splitter and a molex to 3 pin connector. The only reason that cpu and pc is probably still a live is because of the 3 pin shutting it down. I sound like I know what i'm talking about haha.
     
    Last edited: Dec 18, 2010
  8. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,072 (3.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,411
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    yeah with 750 watt you gonna have much power to run the rig, and your psu wont sweat much on heavy load and it will easy for you to upgrade in the future
     
  9. heky

    heky

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    888 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Slovenia, Europe
    saying that a 750w psu is enough is not correct. It depends what kind(brand) of psu it is. If it is some crappy noname psu i would say stay away.
     
    xbonez says thanks.
  10. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
  11. {JNT}Raptor

    {JNT}Raptor New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Messages:
    733 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    87
    Location:
    NY

    PCP&C PSU's are some of the best...if not the best.....I had the same 750 in my rig....ran my I7 at 4+Ghz with my gtx285 overclocked....with 6gig of memory and 5 HDDS......never a hiccup. :rockout:

    Hope it helps.
     
    xbonez says thanks.
  12. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    WOW that is a bold statement . But I guess from your point of view they are the best . As for me corsair is a better PSU IMHO .

    But yeah that 750w PSU will do you just fine .
     
    xbonez says thanks.
  13. {JNT}Raptor

    {JNT}Raptor New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Messages:
    733 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    87
    Location:
    NY
    Well before Corsair was making top Q PSU's.....PCP&Cooling were doing it...anyone that's been in this business for more than a few years will tell you the same thing. :)

    Both make a top Quality Unit...I'm currently using the AX850 from Corsair....would have went PCP&C but they won't make a modular PSU...at least before they were bought out by OCZ they wouldn't.

    Hope it helps.
     
  14. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
    Haha,...nice to hear Corsair and PCP&C are among the best. My main rig has a Corsair 840W, and my folding rig is getting the PCP&C. Thanks for the input guys.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page