1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Power to CPU

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Castiel, Mar 20, 2011.

  1. Castiel

    Castiel

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Messages:
    3,318 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    310
    I think I put this in the right forum.

    At the moment I am putting together a new PC, and I don't know if my AMD 1075T requires a 8pin Power Connection or 4pin. I am using the MSI 870A-G55 motherboard. My PSU has both, I am just needing to know 8pin or 4pin.

    Thanks in advance!
  2. ChewyBrownSuga

    ChewyBrownSuga

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    398 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    If the motherboard has a 8 pin power connector then you should use an 8 pin connector
    Castiel says thanks.
  3. Castiel

    Castiel

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Messages:
    3,318 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    310
    Is that a guess, or will that actually work?
  4. ChewyBrownSuga

    ChewyBrownSuga

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    398 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    It will work, if they wanted you to use a 4 pin connector they would have put a 4 pin connector on the motherboard and not an 8 pin
    Castiel says thanks.
  5. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,201 (3.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,089
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    Just make sure it's a 8-pin ATX and not an 8-pin PCI-E. The latter shouldn't fit anyway.
    Castiel says thanks.
  6. Castiel

    Castiel

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Messages:
    3,318 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    310
    But they have a piece of plastic that is covering up the other 4 pins. So go ahead and remove the plastic and use the 8?
  7. Castiel

    Castiel

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Messages:
    3,318 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    310
    I also read that if the CPU is above 100w use 8 if below 100w use 4?
  8. ChewyBrownSuga

    ChewyBrownSuga

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    398 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    Yeah go ahead and remove it. It was most likely there for protection

    I don't know if thats true or not but your cpu is rated at 125watts so just use the 8 pin and enjoy your new build :)
    Last edited: Mar 21, 2011
    Castiel says thanks.
  9. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,154 (5.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,959
    Location:
    Home
    Think of it this way: plugging 8 pin will not hurt because the motherboard only receives as much power as it wants to => just use 8 pin and forget about details.
    Castiel says thanks.
  10. Castiel

    Castiel

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Messages:
    3,318 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    310
    Thanks guys!

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page