1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Powercolor 6790

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by polomarko, Feb 16, 2013.

  1. polomarko New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2013
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Can you give me this rom?
    Or I need original rom for Powercolor 6790
    This not work
    http://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/i...ace=&memSize=0
    THX


    Quote:
    Originally Posted by OLEGX4
    Okay I back to post results.
    So I was found amd`s 6850 bios from same amd partner.Also my 6790 bios and 6850 bios that Iam found have closer version,same memory config , e.t.c.
    So I am only change the device ID in 6850 bios,and began to flash.win flash don`t flash the my card it because he found that the subsystemid mismatch,so I flash card using some commandline params,and flashing done.
    After i reboot sysytem the card with new bios don`t starts,and i only can bot by use my PCI video,but winflash dont found not working amd`s 6790(and card dont present in device manager)!
    So I do some extra work to prepare boot DOS with atiflash and old bios!(with some difficults)
    I succesfull flash not working 6790 with he`s stock bios also with some commandline params in atiflash(at because at now he`s also find subsystemid and bios p/n mismatch)

    I can say that 6790 can`t be simply flashed to 6850 (maybe amd don`t lies about cutting blocks in 6790).And image,that be posted on china website-fake,and its probably 6850 card on the image,with changed DEVICEID from 6739 to 673E (6850>6790)
    http://detail.zol.com.cn/picture_ind...x6238766.shtml

    I am posting image that I take,when I flash my not working 6790(with 6850 bios) back to stock.
     
  2. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,571 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    one from the TPU data base *may work

    Look here - http://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/...Powercolor&model=HD 6790&interface=&memSize=0


    *If you are able to access windows with a spare vga card or onboard vga; Uninstall any AMD drivers for the vga card

    go here http://files.extremeoverclocking.com/browse.php?c=21

    grab- HP USB Disk Storage Format Tool - v2.1.8 & Windows 98 System Files

    click Primary Download unzip the files to a folder on your HDD; make sure your USB Memory stick is attached to your PC; open HP USB Disk

    Storage Format Tool v2.1.8 ; select Creat a DOS startup disk/ select: using DOS system files located at: (these are the files you have just downloaded): browse to the files in win98boot; then start the process.

    Download latest version of ATIFlash here - http://www.techpowerup.com/downloads/2166/ATIFlash 3.99.html

    Add atiflash and 6790 bios.bin to the usb flash drives root directory

    Set the motherboard bios to boot from usb *press F8 during boot; select from boot menu if option is avalable; this should boot to a win98 dos prompt

    Type at the dos prompt - dir to veiw the content of the flash drive

    Type at the dos prompt; atiflash -i command at 1 to see if adapter is at this address and is recognised

    Type at the dos prompt; atiflash -unlockrom 0 to unlock the gpu in adapter 0 [Note: 0 is the primary card PCIe slot one & 1 is the secondary PCIe slot two][*may be required] [Note: when booting from onboard vga / igp also = primary position 0]

    Type at the dos prompt; atiflash -f -p 0 [#name of bios#].bin [Note: 0 is the primary card PCIe slot one & 1 is the secondary PCIe slot two] [Note: when booting from onboard vga / igp also = primary position 0]

    reboot once finished and remove the flash drive

    reinstall AMD Catalyst Drivers

    nb: unable to open and view the links in the OP

    atb (all the best)

    Law-II
     
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2013
  3. polomarko New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2013
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    not work:banghead::laugh:
     
  4. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,571 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    boot using a flash drive and type atiflash -i 0 at the dos prompt [Note: 0 is the primary card PCIe slot one & 1 is the secondary PCIe slot two][*may be required] [Note: when booting from onboard vga / igp also = primary position 0]

    from atiflash what message do you get?

    atb

    Law-II
     
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2013
  5. polomarko New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2013
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    FLASING GO OK
    But I not have right rom for my card
     

    Attached Files:

    Law-II says thanks.
  6. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    Why are you flashing the card?
     
  7. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,571 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2013
  8. polomarko New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2013
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Every catalyst drivers go to the blue death screen


    flashing go ok

    I tried all files for 6790
     

    Attached Files:

    Law-II says thanks.
  9. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,571 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    First - why is a non-reference AMD vga bios flashed SSID 00D0 [this is not helping]

    re-flash: use this - http://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/98879/Powercolor.HD6790.1024.110325.html

    - reboot to safe mode and shutdown from the login screen

    - powerdown the PC and power off at the PSU wait a couple of minutes

    - disconnect power cables and remove the HD 6790

    - power up the PC and access windows with a spare vga card or onboard vga; Uninstall any AMD drivers for the vga card

    Uninstall and deap clean AMD vga drivers
    download this ATiManUninstaller to completely clean out your drivers, you can get that here: http://www.mediafire.com/?0jdko53gk5npzo0 (Link is safe, erocker uploaded it)

    install to C:\
    Run Atiman Uninstaller.exe
    Select: A
    system will reboot
    Select: C
    application will end
    Select: Q

    - shutdown PC power down PSU wait a couple of minutes

    - reinstall the HD 6790 reconnect power cables

    - power up the PC and boot into windows

    - Download and Run GPU-Z http://www.techpowerup.com/downloads/SysInfo/GPU-Z/ take a screen shot and upload it - here

    [DO NOT INSTALL AMD DRIVERS AT THIS POINT]

    **Note: Confirm make and model of the vga card

    and fill in your system specs

    atb

    Law-II
     
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2013
    polomarko says thanks.
  10. polomarko New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2013
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    All according to your instructions
    no change
    I wrote to PowerColor, see what happens
     

    Attached Files:

    Law-II says thanks.
  11. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,571 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    Good luck with PowerColor support

    - you may wish to skip the following as there are other ways of cleaning ccc drivers out; there is a sticky at the top of the Graphics Cards page on TPU - here http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=52502

    However this is the method I use. (hope it helps)

    First things first; set a restore point and back-up any files and download Driversweeper v_2.1.0

    follow the instructions very carefully and all will be well;

    go to windows control panel \ add and remove programs \ uninstall catalyst driver (choose express uninstall)

    reboot

    enter windows safe mode (press F8) and run Driversweeper v_2.1.0 (highlite driversweeper, press right

    mouse button- bring up menu run DS in administrator mode) select ATI only in DS and analyse then delete

    NOTE when it ask you if you want to restart the system DONT - instead open control panel and go to

    Device Manager / Display Adapters (open this) you should be able to see a vga card installed - highlight press right mouse button - will open a sub menu -you want uninstall - when the system asks you to restart DONT - Then open control panel, device manager, select view/show hidden devices/Non-Plug and play Drivers/highlight amdkmdag and press right mouse button to bring up a sub menu/select uninstall (When it ask you to restart DONT;- select No option to restart later

    do not close DS leave it open on the desk top

    this next step has risk's involved

    follow the instructions very carefully and all will be well.

    Open Regedit

    goto

    HKEY_CURRENT_USER \Software\ATI and delete the ATI folder

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE \SOFTWARE\ATI and delete the ATI folder

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE \SOFTWARE\ATI Technologies and delete the ATI Technologies folder

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE \SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\ATI and delete the ATI folder

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE \SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\ATI and delete the ATI Technologies folder

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet001\Control\Class\ (you will see lots of folders we need the thirteenth (13) folder down from "Class" - open the folder and you will see 0000 delete this folder and any others 0001,0002 Note the Properties folder is read only and protected leave this as it is.

    close up all the sub folders and move on to

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet002\Control\Class\ (you will see lots of folders we need the thirteenth (13) folder down from "Class" - open the folder and you will see 0000 delete this folder and any others 0001,0002 Note the Properties folder is read only and protected leave this as it is

    close up all the sub folders and move on to

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Class\ (you will see lots of folders we need the thirteenth (13) folder down from "Class" - open the folder and you will see 0000 delete this folder and any others 0001,0002 Note the Properties folder is read only and protected leave this as it is

    (you only need to check CCS there should be no entries in the thirteenth folder other than properties)

    close up all the sub folders and move on to

    HKEY_USERS \.DEFAULT\Software\ATI and delete the ATI folder

    -Close Regedit

    next go back to the driversweeper software (Do you want to reboot screen) and select ok

    -Reboot - allow windows to start up and find a vga driver

    -take another GPU-Z screenshot [check that know ati driver is installed and see if settings for vga card show]

    next: if settings show

    -then install the latest AMD catalyst Drivers from their web site or use drivers that you know work well

    atb

    Law-II
     
    Last edited: Feb 24, 2013
    polomarko says thanks.
  12. polomarko New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2013
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    I then install the driver PowerColor
    and then the new AMD driver
    and already it goes

    Thank you very much
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page