1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Powercolor And Its Messed-Up 5870 Bios Collection

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by FightCat, Aug 25, 2010.

  1. FightCat New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  2. FightCat New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Uuuh....

    Up ?
     
  3. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,832 (13.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,203
    For what reason do you want to use a different bios?
     
  4. netieb

    netieb New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    104 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Germany
    you can take every version expect the 2048 as your card has 1GB
     
  5. FightCat New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    @erocker No. I want to update my bios. I have a Powercolor HD 5870 and I want to use and updated bios, if there ever is one.
     
  6. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,832 (13.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,203
    You didn't really answer my question. Unless you are having problems with your card, there is absolutely no reason you need to change your bios.
     
  7. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    +1 what e said
     
  8. FightCat New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Actually, from time to time, I get a certain ~2 seconds of lapse which ends after hearing a *click* sound from within the case. I was about to go mad when an update of video drivers had instantly flushed the problem away.

    Yet, after re-formatting, using newest drivers now, I still have the same issue and considering how it resolved before, I'm intrigued about my video card.

    That's the story.
     
  9. zithe

    zithe

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,088 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    North Chili, NY
    Are you sure it's your video card? What else is in your system?
     
  10. FightCat New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I can't be sure but regarding the sheer fact that updating my video drivers had solved it, I could only assume so.

    My rig is composed of:

    Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R
    Intel Core i7 920
    2 GB Corsair DDR3 RAM
    ATI Radeon HD 5870 1GB
    Seagate and Samsung SATA HDDs of varying volumes
    OCZ Stealth-x-treme 700W PSU

    Oh and Windows 7 Ultimate 32bit for OS.
     
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2010
  11. alexsubri

    alexsubri New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,391 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    199
    Be more clearer..? You want an updated BIOS version so your BIOS is all up-to-date ...Or do you want one just to mess around with and to reach higher Clock values? And by updating your video drivers has solved what?
     
  12. FightCat New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I want an UPDATED Bios ASSUMING that it could help with the PROBLEM I currently have.

    Any better ?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page