1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

PowerColor ATI Radeon 7000 oem bios needed

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by cg, May 3, 2005.

  1. cg New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi,

    I'm a noob here. I just bought a PowerColor Radeon 7000 PCI to flash for my old Apple G3 BW. I discovered too late that this card has a 64k prom chip even though Flashrom indicated it's a 128k version. It will need modding (replacing the chip with a 128k) if I want to use it on my mac.

    I'm thinking of just returning it but when I flashed it back to the original backup bios using Flashrom all I'm getting after the usual Windows XP boot-up is a black screen. I don't know if the backup bios is corrupt.

    Could anyone please send me a good PowerColor Radeon 7000 pc bios. I have 6 days to exchange this item so I need to do this quickly.

    Thanks for your help.
    cg
     
  2. djbbenn

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    2,736 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Location:
    Canada
    Just bring the card back...say it didn't work or it started to mess up after a while. Don't tell them you messed with the bios on it. They will take it back as long as they don't know what you did to it. :D

    -Dan
     
  3. cg New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I ordered the ST M25P10AV 128k eprom chip from dgkey.com at 3pm yesterday. It was shipped from Winnipeg and it arrived today here in Toronto via Purolator at 9am. Amazing!

    I will solder the 128k chip and flash it for the mac. I hope it works. If not I will reflash it for a pc and consider it a learning experience.

    thanks
     
  4. djbbenn

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    2,736 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Location:
    Canada
    Have fun and good luck lol

    -Dan :D
     
  5. cg New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I soldered the 128k chip and flashed it under OS 10.3 using the ATI Oct 04 flasher and it's working great!

    I tested both the DVI and VGA connections and both work fine. DVI is definitely better with my LCD. I also installed the PCI Extreme Quartz hack and it works fine. Overall GUI performance is much improved:)

    cg
     
  6. obso1337 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Messages:
    77 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    really?
     
  7. djbbenn

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    2,736 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Location:
    Canada
    Nice job there cg...:)

    -Dan
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page