1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Powercolor HD3870 AGP at newegg

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Atom_Anti, Feb 29, 2008.

  1. Atom_Anti

    Atom_Anti New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Messages:
    176 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    Captiva Isaland, Florida USA
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,690 (12.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15,543
    Misprint. It's a 3850.
     
  3. Atom_Anti

    Atom_Anti New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Messages:
    176 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    Captiva Isaland, Florida USA
    Yeah, maybe you right, because the gpu clock only 668Mhz.
     
  4. 15th Warlock

    15th Warlock

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    2,981 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,557
    Location:
    Visalia, CA
    Yes, it's the 3850...

    Well, I jumped the gun and got me the Sapphire version, it was $20 less, but I got a Zalman VF900 Cu, temps are 36°C, and 54°C at max load at 720Mhz core, 950Mhz mem, which is the max the CCC will allow me to OC with the overdrive applet.

    If I try to OC with Atitool the clock go back to the 2D settings every time I try to set the new clocks. Anyone knows how to OC this cards beyond what the driver will allow you?
     
  5. Atom_Anti

    Atom_Anti New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Messages:
    176 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    Captiva Isaland, Florida USA
    Would you write me some benchmark? I`am really interesting how usefull a HD3850 with an old P4.
     
    Last edited: Feb 29, 2008
  6. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,484 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    Woo!

    Looking forward to seeing some reviews, amateur and professional.

    I'll no doubt be ordering the PowerColour one as soon as it becomes available in the UK. However, for those of you who think they have the worst machine ever, you may be interested in this...
     
  7. 15th Warlock

    15th Warlock

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    2,981 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,557
    Location:
    Visalia, CA


    Ok, my old PC died, talk about going with a bang, I was trying to OC it to 3.4Ghz using CPUFSB, and it turned off all of the sudden. :twitch: but before that happened I was able to play Crysis and Oblivion at 1280x1024 and max details, and both were running very smoothly. The last benchmark I was able to run was 3dMark05 at stock clocks, and got around 7800 marks :shadedshu

    After trying many times to turn on my old system, I ended up taking it apart, only to discover that two of the capacitors close to the socket had been leaking, who knows for how long... fortunately I was able to use my Iphone to order a new proc from ClubIT (they guaranteed the G0 Q6600), and a mobo and RAM from Newegg :nutkick:

    I got the parts yesterday after coming from work, and assembled my new build today, I was afraid the new video card had died too, but fortunately everything booted up fine, and I just finished re-formating and installing XP.

    With my new rig at stock clocks (don't wanna push my proc's stock cooler just yet, I'm about to order a Zalman cooler for it), I got 33,000 marks at 3dMark03, 17,000 marks at 3dMark05 both at 1024x768 and 11,000 marks at 06 at 1280x1024 (how can I change the res on the free ver of 06 btw? :confused:), not too bad, but considering everything is running stock right now, and considering drivers are not mature yet, I'm confident I can push this baby to new heights :D

    Crysis and Oblivion run like greased lightning now, and quite frankly, I don't see the need to OC till I get my new cooler :)
     
  8. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,277 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    Awesome it supports crossfire....

    Now where did I put that agp crossfire mb I had laying around....
     
  9. symix

    symix New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    wow..
    all this era of PCI Ex VGA, there is still a great VGA made for AGP?
    cool..
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page