1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

PowerColor Launches GDDR4 HD 3870 X2

Discussion in 'News' started by Jimmy 2004, Mar 4, 2008.

  1. Jimmy 2004

    Jimmy 2004 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    5,491 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Location:
    England
    TUL Corporation today announced that it is introducing a high-end graphics solution, PowerColor HD 3870 X2 with Samsung GDDR4 memory that is designed to bring incredible performance and life-like graphics to all gamers.

    [​IMG]

    Providing stunning graphics, PowerColor HD 3870 X2 GDDR4 comes equipped with the fastest graphics memory now produced – Samsung's 16Mx32 GDDR4 memory, which has an effective memory speed of 1126 MHz. The video card also boasts a built-in Dual HD 3870 GPU that clocks at a core speed of 825MHz and an effective memory speed of 1126 MHz. This combination of leading-edge graphics memory and state-of-the-art GPU, essentially doubles the performance of the original version of the card. The new PowerColor HD card further enhances the gaming experience with 640 (320x2) stream processing units and 2X256-bit memory interface.

    The card also features three DVI outputs and one HDMI output with 5.1 surround audio support and comes equipped with PCS fansinks for both GPUs – ensuring efficient heat dissipation. Furthermore, the new card offers Microsoft DirectX 10.1, Shader Model 4.1, a Universal Video Decoder and ATI CrossFire X technology. The PowerColor HD 3870 X2 comes bundled with iClone 2 SE software, which provides the technology for creating full-motion 3D avatars and video story-boarding.

    “We are pleased to cooperate with Samsung to deliver the world's fastest HD 3870 X2 graphic cards. Fans of Samsung memory and PowerColor video cards are sure to be excited,” says Ted Chen, CEO of TUL Corporation.

    “Frankly, gamers around the world should be highly impressed with the quality of imagery generated by the PowerColor HD 3870 X2, said Mueez Deen, director, graphics memory, Samsung Semiconductor. “TUL has designed a graphics card that we expect will be popular with gamers around the world,” he added.

    Key Features
    • 825MHz Core, 1126MHz Memory
    • 1GB of GDDR4 Memory
    • 2 x 256-bit Memory Bandwidth
    • 640 (320 x2) stream processing units
    • DirectX 10.1 / Shader Model 4.1 support
    • ATI CrossFireX multi-GPU support
    • Built-in HDMI and 5.1 surround audio
    • Unified Video Decoder (UVD) for Blu-ray and HD DVD

    [​IMG]

    Source: PowerColor
     
    Gam'ster says thanks.
  2. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,611 (11.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,648
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    It was about time. All this time the GDDR3 variants just seemed like HD 3850 X2 with a high clocked core. I wouldn't be surprised if AMD comes up with an affordable "HD3850 X2" with 512 MB memory in all.
     
    Gam'ster says thanks.
  3. das müffin mann

    das müffin mann New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,759 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    335
    Location:
    Appleton, WI
    hell yeah, ive been waiting for this, cant wait to pick one up:rockout::toast::rockout:
     
  4. Azazel

    Azazel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,204 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    London, UK
    Sweet :)
     
  5. das müffin mann

    das müffin mann New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,759 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    335
    Location:
    Appleton, WI
    anyone know a price? or are they going to be priced the same as the ddr3 version?
     
  6. mdm-adph

    mdm-adph New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,478 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Location:
    Your house.
    My money's on an even $500.
     
  7. CY:G

    CY:G New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    173 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Doubt it, GDDR4 is more expensive not to mention that this is quite different from the reference card, 2 fans, 3 DVI connections, etc...

    Oh wow, and still doesnt come with PCIE 2.0....
     
  8. mandelore

    mandelore New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    3,251 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    UK-small Village in a Valley Near Newcastle
    yeah, this is what im talkin about.. still gonna wait it out tho. but this is gonna be sweet.

    why the 256 bus..why :(
     
  9. das müffin mann

    das müffin mann New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,759 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    335
    Location:
    Appleton, WI
    im guessing its going to be about $500, it maybe lower because of competition, but hey who knows, i can't wait to pick one up
     
  10. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,611 (11.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,648
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Oh yes, still no news on implementing the PCI-E 2.0 lane switch chip. I'm sure with a decent memory OC the performance will sky rocket. No problem if it's 256 x2 memory bus, if the memory is clocked higher, high memory bus bandwidth can still be achieved. A broader memory bus would mean re-engineering the architecture.
     
  11. TooFast New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2005
    Messages:
    391 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    montreal quebec
    ddr4= less power
     
  12. OrbitzXT

    OrbitzXT New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,969 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Location:
    New York City
    Its refreshing to be pleased with ATI for a change, I was getting bored of waiting solely on good news from nVidia, which theyre having trouble putting out these days it seems.
     
  13. mascaras New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    102 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    portugal
    [​IMG]
     
  14. HousERaT New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2005
    Messages:
    109 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Hmmmmmmmmm

    Something to actually consider. Wonder how much these will cost?
     
  15. Hawk1 New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,249 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    The Big Smoke, Canada
    Looks great, but where's the 3 DVI and 1 HDMI?

    Edit: Link is down now.
     
  16. happita

    happita

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,361 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    398
    Very enticing, I might go for this vs. the 2nd 3870 I planned on getting this month.
     
  17. Jimmy 2004

    Jimmy 2004 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    5,491 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Location:
    England
    Think it's a problem with PowerColor's site, I can't get anything other than the location selector.
     
  18. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,611 (11.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,648
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Whoa...looks great from this angle. Is the Powercolor website hacked/compromised again?
     
  19. Assimilator

    Assimilator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2005
    Messages:
    617 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    105
    Location:
    South Africa
    Looks like their site is just plain broken right now :/.

    Also, that cooling solution looks mighty odd... why offset it like that so that the only thing covering the 1st GPU is an aluminium heatsink? Or has the cooler just been "slid" towards the top of the board to show the components underneath?

    Anyhow, looks like this might be my next upgrade when I get tired of my quad-SLI setup :D.
     
    Last edited: Mar 4, 2008
  20. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,611 (11.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,648
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    That's the PLX PCI-Express lane arbiter (switch) chip, not a GPU. The cooler is in its position, is not slid up. Look at the PCB size at the edge.
     
  21. Gam'ster

    Gam'ster New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    980 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    113
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    +1 i agree, its good to see AMD step up a gear and a HD3850 X2 would :rockout:

    Cheers
    Gam
     
  22. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (2.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    The HSF on the left side is a bit off center. It looks like only 3/4 of the left side will vent outside the case via vent. The other 1/4 will simply be blocked. If it 's not blocked it would go back into the case.
     
  23. simlariver New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    91 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Now, let's see if there will be a pcie 2.0 version ...
     
  24. imperialreign

    imperialreign New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,043 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    909
    Location:
    Sector ZZ₉ Plural Z Alpha
    that pic just screams "BEEFCAKE this nVidia!! :nutkick:"

    I'm pleased to hear DDR4 finally taking a spot in the 70x2 lineup, bout friggin time. Core clocks don't look that bad, either.

    TBH, I wouldn't be too much concerned about these cards still only supporting PCIE 1.0, as the performance lynch-pin about these cards is the on-PCB communication of the GPUs; although, PCIE 2.0 support would allow for even better communication with the BUS.

    But, if we're now seeing a GDDR4 supporting model, the 'creme de la creme' model is getting ready to drop in on the scene - which could very well support PCIE 2.0 and stout higher clock speeds and 512bit as well . . .
     
  25. das müffin mann

    das müffin mann New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,759 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    335
    Location:
    Appleton, WI
    i would like to see a 2gb ddr4 version
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page