1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

PowerColor Pimp My Rig Contest - General Discussion

Discussion in 'Contests' started by W1zzard, Sep 3, 2012.

  1. vavyn New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    26 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    "rule number 4
    Only stand alone graphic cards are valid for this competition"
     
  2. camoxiong

    camoxiong

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    655 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    Fresno, CA
    ok, nvm
     
  3. GC_PaNzerFIN

    GC_PaNzerFIN

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    514 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    509
    Location:
    Finland
    Bunch of cowards getting x300s and pentium 2s. 30mins and got sub 500 score with 3930k and gtx 480 at stock, os and 3dmark on ssd. I would say well under 100 scores are easily doable even at stock clocks.
     
  4. vavyn New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    26 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I find that it is easier to get a lower score by using modern system than those p1-p4 with 9600pro or any first dx9 cards.
    @ GC I don't think ssd will improve or decrease the score.
     
  5. jdlm01412 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    hi, i'm new here. it is stated in the rules that a N/A result is not counted. will that void the whole score? the reason why i asked this is due to i have 1 result which is N/A at the Sound Test section of the benchmark.
     
  6. Maban

    Maban

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,458 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,053
    Location:
    Minnesota, Canadian States of Norway
    All you need are
    GT1 - Wings of Fury
    GT2 - Battle of Proxycon
    GT3 - Troll's Lair
    GT4 - Mother Nature

    All the other tests don't matter. You can even hit escape after the Mother Nature test so you don't have to sit through the CPU and feature tests.
     
  7. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,678 (2.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,776
    Location:
    Chicago
    Which is why most contests are not worldwide. That and the other added hassle of shipping halfway across the world and hoping it gets there.
     
  8. pcexpert

    pcexpert New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Messages:
    10 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Im going to need confirmation from W1zzard if this is only what you need for this competition.
     
  9. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,051 (3.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,954
    2.All game tests including Nature test must be supported and completed (First round)

    sound tests are not game tests
     
  10. keizcee New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ph.
    looks like it will be hard for those noobie(including me) to compete to this competition :))

    good luck! fellow members
     
  11. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,051 (3.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,954
    it just requires you to think a little bit outside of the box how to get a low score
     
  12. Absolution

    Absolution

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2012
    Messages:
    278 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    To upload my scores, I have to buy 3D mark 2003?
     
  13. Maban

    Maban

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,458 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,053
    Location:
    Minnesota, Canadian States of Norway
  14. keizcee New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ph.
    I tried underclocking my latest rig but still got a 10k score :D

    My lowest is 60 on my old dual coal pc but I cant underclock the gpu that much and cpu is locked :ohwell:
     
  15. Absolution

    Absolution

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2012
    Messages:
    278 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
  16. Maban

    Maban

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,458 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,053
    Location:
    Minnesota, Canadian States of Norway
    [​IMG]
     
  17. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,051 (3.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,954
    I just got a clarification from PowerColor regarding the rules. No notebooks of any kind are allowed. No exceptions for MXM

    Also the best score so far is not 1 so you still have chance
     
    Last edited: Sep 6, 2012
  18. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,215 (2.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    984
    Location:
    Miami
    make a virtual machine with a 1 cpu and run prime during the test.
     
  19. LTUGamer

    LTUGamer

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    180 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Lithuania
  20. keizcee New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ph.
    I think it's not valid, since you're using on-board graphics..
     
  21. keizcee New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ph.
    So how many winner/s for first round? Is it only 1 could get all that 5 stuffs for 1st round?
     
  22. Maban

    Maban

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,458 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,053
    Location:
    Minnesota, Canadian States of Norway
    http://www.3dmark.com/3dm03/6478323 Bollocks, needed to render one more frame in the first test and it would have been a valid 5 or 6. IE wouldn't even show the page properly, so even if it was valid I wouldn't have been able to tie it to my account.
     
  23. bigboi86

    bigboi86 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    1,450 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    techPowerUp!
    Just scored 279 with overclocked hardware and drivers set to performance lol.

    Not going to say what I had running in the background but it was only 1 app.

    I think I might have a chance in this.
     
  24. LTUGamer

    LTUGamer

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    180 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Lithuania
    So why system can't see my GTX 550 Ti card?
     
  25. keizcee New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ph.
    oh! I thought that you don't have a standalone graphics card since it says @ # of cards is 0

    try to update your graphics drivers and the Futuremark SystemInfo
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page