1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

PowerColor Radeon HD 7970 X2 Devil13 Graphics Card Detailed

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, May 28, 2012.

  1. Mistral

    Mistral

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    Messages:
    413 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    Montreal
    My guess would be around 360W or less in "normal" use - that much is obvious from the 7970 reviews.

    Though I'm pretty sure some crazy overclockers running specific software could probably hit the 525W if they try hard enough.
     
  2. Dj-ElectriC

    Dj-ElectriC

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,247 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    851
    I say, first of all buy 6-8 power supplies ranging from 1200 to 1500W
    then, decide witch one of them handle the best. After that sorting the best overclocker out of about 20-25 HD7970x2's will be an easy job :)
     
  3. blibba

    blibba

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    831 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    184
    Location:
    Oxford, UK
    It depends on whether the 525W is Furmark or peak gaming. If the former is true, then you'll be ok as long as you're not doing GPU-compute, furmark, etc. If the latter is true, I'd avoid this in favour of 7970 trifire (or 1*X2+1*7970) or some 680s/690s. What resolution do you game at?
     
  4. Recus

    Recus

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    533 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    184
    Don't worry, it will consume 650W on full stress. :eek:
     
  5. u2konline

    u2konline

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,963 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    Location:
    Dundalk, Maryland
    Please don't ever post a photo like that again lol
     
  6. SIGSEGV

    SIGSEGV

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012
    Messages:
    510 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    107
    most of peeps here complaining about power usage now..
    this is very funny indeed..LMAO

    i wanna see how those beast cards perform..
     
  7. jaywar

    jaywar New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2012
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Well now I understand why your location says "Trollithia" :rolleyes:

    2560 X 1440
    I am not really too happy with the 670/680/690's. Left me wanting more. Hopefully the gk110 will provide that. How do you think the driver support will be with these in crossfire?
     
  8. Ikaruga

    Ikaruga

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    Messages:
    887 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    194
    can't wait to play QuakeWorld with this in 800x600
     
  9. Dj-ElectriC

    Dj-ElectriC

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,247 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    851
    Now here's the kicker - every one of my trolling posts has at least 20% honesty and truth in it :)
    Nobody is a fortune teller to tell you what the actual power consumption be, heh?
     
  10. SIGSEGV

    SIGSEGV

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012
    Messages:
    510 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    107
    you dont need to wait this cards, you can play now your QuakeWorld with your GTX690 at 800x600 resolution :rolleyes:
     
  11. Animalpak

    Animalpak

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,174 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    627
    Location:
    Switzerland
    3 x 8 pin connectors AUHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA !

    [​IMG]
     
    Lionheart says thanks.
  12. Ikaruga

    Ikaruga

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    Messages:
    887 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    194
    TIL: what's not funny:shadedshu
     
  13. Jurassic1024

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Messages:
    173 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    This card is fugly.
     
  14. Jurassic1024

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Messages:
    173 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    3xDP for a triple slot card? You must like buying adapters. 3xDVI would of been a better choice for this card.
     
  15. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    639
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    I am glad I have no desire to want such a card.
     
  16. Jurassic1024

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Messages:
    173 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    You're far too low on your graphic card recommendations...

    http://www.techspot.com/review/532-diablo-3-performance/page3.html
     
  17. legends84

    legends84

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    346 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Jitra, Kedah, Malaysia
    if this card is more cheaper than gtx690... then its a win... :rockout:
     
  18. Animalpak

    Animalpak

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,174 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    627
    Location:
    Switzerland
    those fans need to be bigger
     
  19. r3zn0r New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    either is fine with me. but neither is on this card. ive got 3 triple slot cards currently and my monitors support both...
     
  20. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,734 (3.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,328
    Location:
    Mexico
    Legos?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. okidna

    okidna

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Messages:
    475 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    357
    Location:
    Indonesia
    They (PowerColor) already has it : PowerJACK.
     
    theJesus and TRWOV say thanks.
  22. babash*t

    babash*t New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2012
    Messages:
    74 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    Nairobi, Kenya
    ....and you think the DEVIL would care about power consumption and heat????

    anyway i love the design...looks like it runs on demon blood..
     
  23. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,603 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Kirk does

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  24. Vulpesveritas

    Vulpesveritas

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2012
    Messages:
    383 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    85
    Location:
    USA
    Look at the bright side, with zerocore when you're not gaming you won't be drawing anything whatsoever really from the second GPU... :roll:
     
  25. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,120 (4.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,325
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    hmm, my Intel CPU says it has 95 W TDP, but pulls 50W only.

    WTF is the big deal with TDP, exactly?


    TDP = Thermal Design Power? Not Total Drawn Power? :wtf:

    So teh design si made for up to 525 W, which means it can OC? Hence the big red button?

    :roll:


    You guys kill me, man, really.
     
    theJesus, Zubasa and adulaamin say thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page