1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

PowerColor Readies Radeon HD 6870 Eyefinity6 Graphics Card

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Feb 23, 2011.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,377 (11.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,607
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    PowerColor is reportedly working on a new Radeon HD 6870 graphics card that uses Eyefinity6 display output configuration. Eyefinity6 allows users to connect up to six full-HD monitors over each of the GPU's six TMDS links, which can then be virtually merged to create a large display head spanning the six physical displays. You can also create multiple Eyefinity display heads among the six physical displays, or use HydraVision to create multiple virtual display heads to occupy each physical display. The graphics card uses six mini DisplayPort 1.2 connectors to connect to its display, a variety of connector dongles should be bundled as well.

    Eyefinity aside, PowerColor's card sports 2 GB of GDDR5 memory over a 256-bit wide memory interface. Clock speeds are not known. The card uses the same GPU cooler found on the HD 6870 PCS models, and a red-colored PCB. The DirectX 11 compliant GPU features 1120 stream processors, and can pair with any other Radeon HD 6800 series graphics card in CrossFire configuration. PowerColor is likely to unveil this card at the upcoming CeBIT event.

    [​IMG]

    Source: FudZilla
  2. dacosta89 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Nice. I like the this HD6870. Will this HD 6870 help run the crysis 2? Maybe the 2GB GDDR5 is an advantage for this game, which, according to the recommended settings for DX11, advise the vga with 1.8 Gb or more .. But I don't know...

    And is it possible to make CF with this vga and a normal HD6870 (I suppose yes)?
  3. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,377 (11.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,607
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Yes, but this card will only use 1 GB of its 2 GB.
  4. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,998 (2.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,291
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    Why not do this with something more powerful like the 6970?
  5. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Because that would make sense, it's like when they put 7 DP ports on a 5770. just made no sense.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page