1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Powering subwoofer - need some clarification.

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by selway89, Aug 17, 2009.

  1. KH0UJ

    KH0UJ New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    363 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Cebu City Philippines
    is your cyrus amp have just a plain stereo RCA output? how about connecting it to the plain output (if it has) to slave your secondary sub woofer amp.?
  2. selway89

    selway89

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    394 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    I does labelled tape out but the volume doesnt change on that as its for recording. Thats why I think that amp is good with its high level in. The TEAC is currently fed from the headphone out on cyrus fine and works perfectly minus the right channel. Noticed that you can hear a fair bit of noise from the teac as it has to work at higher volume. Cant wait to have a play with that amp :)
  3. KH0UJ

    KH0UJ New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    363 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Cebu City Philippines
    [​IMG]

    I enjoyed Drawing LOL
  4. selway89

    selway89

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    394 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Yeah thats how it looks, using the headphone out like iv said controls the volume in sync with speaker volume.
  5. KH0UJ

    KH0UJ New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    363 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Cebu City Philippines
    try to eliminate amp series connection, it increases distortion levels, or maybe try the headphone output, the problem of it is, the moment you plug the headphone plugs, it mutes the main amp. what i did on mine is, ived directed the internal switch inside the headphone jack itself, (there`s a tiny switch inside of it that mutes the main amp. everytime a plug is inserted) in that way i can still use the master volume control of my mini component and utilizing also the main power amp. with the built in speakers on my mini component.
  6. selway89

    selway89

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    394 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Well thats the beauty about the cyrus amp, having the headphones plugged in doesnt mute the speakers :)
  7. KH0UJ

    KH0UJ New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    363 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Cebu City Philippines
    Well you`re done man, that`s it :rockout:

    7 more post to the 5 star LOL
  8. selway89

    selway89

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    394 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Here are some pics, its not fully sanded down or painted yet. :)

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    The box is still around 30 litres but different shape, luckily it was pre-made from a desk I made in school few years back and the box sections for the draws is 30 litres, so cut the holes required and screw and glued it together with carpet underlay and some foam padding from an old arm chair.
  9. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    Nice M71 speakers :) do they sound niice.
  10. selway89

    selway89

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    394 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Yeah they're brilliant little things and with the sub have abit more meat to the sound, they are actually M30i :)
  11. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    Take the speaker down from there, and place it firing directly into the corner of the walls, about 1ft back.
  12. selway89

    selway89

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    394 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Yeh I know I had it up there to see what difference there was from carpet to something solid. Got it under the desk at the moment.
  13. selway89

    selway89

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    394 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Well my new amp has arrived, and it sounds fantastic, and very powerful :D, its all painted up now so here are some pics:

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    The power supply is an old Seasonic with a physical power switch, I opened it up and un-soldered all the other rails so there are no wires hanging around.
  14. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Nice job man!

    I've been looking for tutorials EVERYWHERE to turn computer PSU into amp PSUs.

    I don't suppose you'd be willing to help me out? :D

    PSU's are easy to come by and it means I can get a amp with high w rather then an indoor amp with less power.
  15. selway89

    selway89

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    394 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Sure of course. It's fairly easy to get a PC PSU powering a car amp. It's best to know what power draw (Amps) the amplifier will take.
    I used a regulated power supply with voltage control and Amp gauge and saw the amplifier drew less than 2A at the volume I normally use, so make sure the PSU you choose has the required Amp rating on the 12V rail.

    Also check the voltage on the 12V rail is in the operating range for the amplifier.... First PSU I tried had around 10V on the 12V line which was terrible and the amp didn't power up.

    Next bit is simple case of gathering up a couple of 12V and Ground cables (yellow and black) and pairing them together in parallel.

    For an ATX PSU to start it you need to short the green and black wires on the ATX 20-24pin header, or if it's an old one like mine just power it up.

    Edit: Also allot of car amplifiers have ignition sense terminals. I just put a jumper from the 12V to the sense terminal so it turns on straight away.
    Edit2: It might be wise changing the fuse on the amplifier to the rated Amps on the 12V on the PSU or have it slightly less. This will protect the amplifier and your PSU and blow the fuse first, not the equipment. (Iv yet to do this so not going to run it at full tilt yet :p )
  16. Taz100420

    Taz100420

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,928 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    Location:
    Fremont, Ohio
    Yea a amp from a car dont need to be a high wattage, trust me. I have a 50W Rockford on my 10" sub and it blasts me outta my chair. I changed it to put my amp back in my car lol, way too powerful for this and its a 240W!!
  17. selway89

    selway89

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    394 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Yeah after having it running for a little while now I have come to the conclusion that some songs etc are abit too loud. So I've bought an attenuator for earphones for when on the plane, this will hopefully allow me more control over the sub amp as I currently cant turn it any lower. I dont need to do it by much but its enough to get on my nerves in some cases.

    Overall though I'm ver happy with it :D
  18. KH0UJ

    KH0UJ New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    363 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Cebu City Philippines
    you did not bridge the tapping on the out bro? I think it only output the left channel on your pics:)
    I think the bridge tapping on that is on the two outer sides of the amp. speaker connector
  19. selway89

    selway89

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    394 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Nah there's no need. I have it on the mode where Left and Right are mixed then amplified so it doesn't make any difference. I adjusted the balance on my sound card to left and right and it comes through fine. :) the attenuator didn't work as planned so sending that back next week.
  20. KH0UJ

    KH0UJ New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    363 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Cebu City Philippines
    on mine i hide my amp supply inside my box:laugh: I like hard modding though, its only a 10 amp.transformer, I bolted it inside, mine`s also a 12V car sub but I hard mod it to have a 110VAC supply like this,

    [​IMG]

    figure 2 is a typical DC-to-DC split supply system on a car amp.

    I really love drawing circuits on paint :laugh:
  21. selway89

    selway89

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    394 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    I would have built it in but its quicker this way as I have a job coming up so needed to get it out the way, also buying the components to do it would be an extra cost so just thought i'd do it the free way.

    Also the amp has different modes.... Standard stereo, mono (bridged over L+ and R- terminals, which only uses the Left channel) and mixed where left and right are mixed then amplified for both Left and Right mono.... so I could have another sub wired up hehe :p
  22. KH0UJ

    KH0UJ New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    363 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Cebu City Philippines
    BTW nice build man:toast:
    selway89 says thanks.
  23. KH0UJ

    KH0UJ New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    363 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Cebu City Philippines
    :laugh:another sub FTW:rockout::laugh:
  24. KH0UJ

    KH0UJ New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    363 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Cebu City Philippines
    There`s a saying way back on my modding days bro:laugh:

    "IF THE MUSIC IS TOO LOUD THEN YOU`RE TOO OLD"

    :laugh: crazy client:laugh: he actually put it in his wind shield bro:roll:
    while roaming around with his car intimidating every granny in town with a full blast crawling bass and triggering all the nearby parked alarmed cars in the parking area, I think that guy is nuts.
    Last edited: Aug 29, 2009

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page