1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Powerline Ethernet adapter?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by ebolamonkey3, Aug 8, 2010.

  1. ebolamonkey3

    ebolamonkey3 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    773 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    102
    Location:
    Atlanta/Marietta, GA
  2. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,814 (2.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,216
    Location:
    Olympia, WA
    Currently using it on my network. Connects my game consoles, HTPC, and my boy's PC to my gateway. Works like charm and in my setup it's faster than my wireless.
     
  3. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (2.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    Didn't even know what this was until i saw this on Newegg:

    Sounds nice.
     
  4. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    21,471 (6.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,414
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  5. ebolamonkey3

    ebolamonkey3 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    773 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    102
    Location:
    Atlanta/Marietta, GA
    bogmali, are you using the exact model I posted? I just ran to best buy and bought a linksys PLS300 and finally got internet on my basement computer. Do you know which one's better?
     
  6. CJCerny

    CJCerny

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    889 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    263
    Location:
    Akron, OH
    They work well, if the electrical wiring in your house is fairly normal. If wiring in your house is old or not grounded in places, all bets are off.
     
  7. twilyth Guest

    Try to put the transmitter and receiver on the same 220v leg of your service. You will get a much better connection.

    I use X10 for controlling devices like lights and appliances. It transmits its signal over the AC lines too. I had to get a bridge to connect the 2 220v legs in order to be sure the signal could go anywhere in the house. I've never seen anything like that for PLA's (power line adapters) though. Mine plugs into the 220v dryer outlet and makes the connection that way.

    But if you can get Tx and Rx on the same leg, it should work brilliantly.
     
  8. ebolamonkey3

    ebolamonkey3 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    773 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    102
    Location:
    Atlanta/Marietta, GA
    Well, after plugging in and trying out the Linksys PLK300 kit from best buy, it worked very well going from upstairs (where router is) to basement. So I just ordered the kit on Amazon (for $80 less!) and I'm going to return the one from Best Buy.
     
  9. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    21,471 (6.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,414
    Also, don't plug them into surge protectors, they kill the speeds.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  10. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,814 (2.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,216
    Location:
    Olympia, WA
    I'm using older models xe104 and xe103. Just remember when they get hot to the touch they need to be cooled otherwise you will loose your connectivity.
     
  11. ebolamonkey3

    ebolamonkey3 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    773 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    102
    Location:
    Atlanta/Marietta, GA
    Hmm.. are yours fast enough to stream 1080p video? I'm trying some Hulu right now and it's going great.
     
  12. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,814 (2.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,216
    Location:
    Olympia, WA
    Mine are fast especially when my 12 yo is playing his MW2 on xbox live.
     
  13. MBrandt New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I'm using powerline adapters from Plaster Networks, and I really recommend them over the units from Linksys and NetGear because they include a bunch of built-in management and diagnostics tools. These tools help you to troubleshoot any problems that you may have with the powerline network and also to optimize the network for streaming high def video. These adapters use the latest technology and cost a bit more, but they're well worth the price.

    By the way, in response to Twilyth's comment regarding X.10 - these adapters use the HomePlug AV standard (designed for data networking). HomePlug is completely different from X.10 in that it operates around 100-200Mbps throughput, whereas X.10 operates about one thousand times slower. HomePlug has no problem transmitting across the electrical phases in a house, so you do not need a bridge.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page