1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Powersupply for P35 ? 1 rail 12v or 2 to 4?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by GraveFiller, Jul 28, 2007.

  1. GraveFiller

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Messages:
    160 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    hollywood, fla.
    I'm done with all the components i'm going to get.

    I'm going to buy the
    -ASUS P5K3 DELUXE/WIFI-AP LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX Intel Motherboard - -
    -Intel Core 2 Duo E6750 Conroe 2.66GHz
    -Crucial Ballistix 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1066 (PC2 8500) Dual Channel Kit
    -Raptor 150 GB
    -soundblaster
    -2 optical dvd sony rom burners.

    So, after 20 different people telling me to get silverstone, or pc & cooling
    I decided to roll with this psu:

    This ones modular and you can remove cables that aren't necessary to keep clutter 2 minimum.

    SILVERSTONE DECATHLON DA850 ATX12V / EPS12V 850W Power Supply -

    link: > http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817256022

    WHAT PSU IS BEST FOR MY SYSTEM? 1 RAIL +12V PURER POWER MORE STABLE I THINK.
    or EVERYONE SAYING GO WITH DUAL OR 4 RAILS, SO AS TO FEED THE COMPONENTS I.E LIGHTS , GPU, FANS THAT GO UP AND DOWN IN SPEED .

    PLEASE, WHIch way should i go... please, this is my last stumbling block to getting my pc!

    Thanks alot....
    Nick.



    :banghead::banghead::banghead:

    Read this on psu's and 1 rail or more
    :eek::shadedshu
    http://www.overclock.net/power-supplies/167642-power-supply-guide.html

    Pleae enlighen me.....i've got to buy this buy monday.....!!:toast:
  2. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    from what've known before, the more 12v+ rails the better. its like lets say construction workers, lets say you have 1 contruction worker carrying oh idk, 20 bricks by hand, and then you have 4 works carrying the same 20 bricks but the bricks are spread out by the workers, and rather then the solo worker having to deliver the bricks to each destination, the 4 workers can take the bricks to its brick's location. so if that terrible example of mine is to be applied to psu's, for high power demanding systems, with 4 rails, each rail can take as much as a single rail can, so wiht quad rails, the amount of voltage that the rails in all can do is quadrupled, so the electricity can get to its destination, and so that there aren't almost "fights" if you will between power hungry components on the same rail. like if the cpu has its own rail, then when your grafix card wants some power, it'll get it from a different rail, and so that way your cpu's electricity isn't affected.

    note: i probably have no idea what i'm talking about, this is just my understanding of multiple rails..
  3. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    GraveFiller says thanks.
  4. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,299 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    To tell you the truth, I'm not too sure. I've heard good things about a PSU with, lets say, 3 Rails and 15A on each one, but then I've also heard that a single 45A is better than 3 15A each. I would just get a reliable brand, whether it be Single Rail or Multi Rail.
  5. Chewy

    Chewy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,289 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    Halifax, Canada
    I say 1 rail if your going to be hardcore overclocking.. less power loss and it wont trip if one component needs more amps than the rail needs.. multiple rails make it safer if the psu was to die, it wont take your whole system out like it can when a psu dies form my understanding.. both have thier upsides and downsides. Im sure someone will give you more on the spot info lol.

    Panchoman explained multi rail well. but with a good psu you wont see much fluctuation anyway.

    edit: also say you get the ocz 600 or 700 it will have the same amps on the 4 +12v rails but the extra volts let you draw more total amps of your rails. you cant just multiply 18x4 to get your total amps on a multi rail psu.
  6. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    i found out that for the atx psu specs, the second rail is always assigned to the cpu and the first one to the 24 pin mobo and molex,etc....

    wouldn't dual rails be better for ocing since the cpu gets it own rail to take as much power from the psu as it needs? -more stability you know?

    my crappy antec smart power 500 which has dual rails, when it crapped out, it only took a bit of my mobo (mobo works but doesn't read my temps correctly anymore) and hdd, but the test of my system stayed in tact.. so i would believe that chewy is right about multi rail psu's not taking out the whole system, which may help especcially if you have a expensive system...
  7. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    555
    Location:
    Earth
    @ chewy, that has been tossed around (back and forth) a lot and has been proven to not always be true. It realy depends on the PSU - look at the spec sheet to determine total power on the 12v rails when combined. If it's not listed than I don't trust that PSU.

    @GraveFiller - Just go with the SILVERSTONE DECATHLON DA850 ATX12V / EPS12V 850W Power Supply - it should be just fine, even the site you linked us to recomended it. It is a lot of power, you probably don't need that much, but it's always better to have a little more than not enough.

    One of the benifits of the extra rails is having an extra set of connectors for lights etc.

    Always look at the spec sheets on the PSU you are planning to buy. Just by doing some basic calculation you can see if the numbers make sense (if the listed power output breakdown by rail adds up to more than the total output for example.) If the numbers don't add up then the PSU is probably not that good. After doing this on several diff brands of PSU's you will see the difference in quality by brand.
    Last edited: Jul 28, 2007
  8. Chewy

    Chewy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,289 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    Halifax, Canada
    Previous posts on multi rail psu's Ive read them before. well I like the best quality I can get so I dont have to worry much about my psu dying, I prefer single rail.. my current psu was originally designed, and is sold as multi rail but they got the ok to make it a single rail.


    Are Multiple 12-volt Rails Better Than A Single 12-volt Rail?
    http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=25489&highlight=rail single multi

    Why have multiple rails on PSU's?
    http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=27599&highlight=rail single multi
  9. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    people are saying that dual rails are good for the commoner, but for the extreme OCers you want a single beefy rail for like ocing prescotts to ~5.0, etc. so theres goods and bads to both, so its up to gravefiller as to what he wants to do..

    so going back to the example, the 1 worker can do all the work, and not waste time splitting up the bricks with the others, where he might accidently lose a few. and thats why for ocing, you want a single rail, so that theres no efficency loss.. though the thermaltake toughpower has quad rails and still has a rated efficency of up to 87%, which is really good.
    Last edited: Jul 28, 2007
  10. GraveFiller

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Messages:
    160 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    hollywood, fla.
    You kindergarted story telling mofo! hahah.... you must think i'm retarded with that kindergarten story! YOur right....! I'm a retard!!!
    Lol....the construction workers story, very amusing...yet simple for a stoner like me 2 understand!
    hahaha...:roll:

    I hate u.... now i've got to study up on 4 rails..... and which psu to change too!
    you bitch!!!!
    lol.........thnx panch!
    :banghead:
  11. FR@NK

    FR@NK

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Messages:
    559 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    89

    Uhhh....why are you getting a DDR3 board and DDR2 ram?

    P5K Deluxe is what you want ;)
  12. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Don't worry about changing psus. The one you listed is plenty enough for almost anything. However, it is a bit overkill.

    What video card(s) do you plan to run? A Corsair 620HX would be more than enough for any single card setup. It's listed as a multi rail psu, but it is actually a single rail, split "after the fact".

    I run an overclocked A64 X2 6000+, an overclocked HD2900XT, SB Audigy 2ZS, 3 hard drives, 1 optical drive, water cooling, and 9 fans on my 620HX, with no problems what-so-ever.

    Anyway, add Seasonic and Corsair(built by Seasonic) to the list of psus to consider.
  13. GraveFiller

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Messages:
    160 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    hollywood, fla.
    I haven't decided yet, all i've been doing is reading, answering posts, and posting about memory, mobo, psu, cases, last 2 things i forgot about are the dvd roms & the sound system.

    Hell, my abit av8 mobo has great sound on it right now...lol....i've got surround sound creative right now... too dark to see name right now....

    Will get back 2 you on those..still figuring out 1 or 4 rails thnx 2 u!!!! lol.
    :confused::mad::shadedshu
  14. GraveFiller

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Messages:
    160 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    hollywood, fla.
    Same shit here, i've heard some dipshit on newegg say 3 rails is best for him, 3 rails?
    Unless it's 1980's and cocaine, i don't know shit about rails !!!!...get it ?? Rails..??? lol.

    You right, i'll just get a great psu, whether it be 1 2, 4... i like the sound of 1 as in less shit to go wrong..who knows....lmao...god i hate new info!!!! heheh.
    Thanks...
    p.s
    Your system is almost identical to mine..... plays everything still perty good for ol agp x850xt oc'd 540/560 mem.
    :rockout:
  15. GraveFiller

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Messages:
    160 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    hollywood, fla.
    Yes, yes, more info, more confusion, goes hand in hand i think....
    we'll, i guess, i'm gonna have to really research late tonight.... got to go out n ride my bike now.
    So dual rails.... I heard someone say at newegg, that his single rial psu wouldn't work with his 8800gtx...makes no sense how a compnay trying to sell psu, would make one that wouldn't work with most pop. video card......hmmm....i hate computers!!!!!!
  16. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    You're seriously overthinking this. Any top quality PSU with enough 12v amps to run your parts, will do just fine. Multi rail or not. I prefer single rails, myself.
  17. GraveFiller

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Messages:
    160 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    hollywood, fla.
    1 Rail is better the more i read!!!

    Read this on why you should have Single rail PSU!!!!

    Why Single Rail? Well there are benefits to having a single rail power supply. You do not need to fret about which rail your components are drawing from, as you may fear the overloading of a particular rail in a multi-rail environment. For this case, there is no such worry. The prescence of the molex and floppy power connectors on many of the recent motherboards are hgihly likely there for this reason: so as to draw from more than 1 rail if you are using a multi-rail power supply.

    link here: http://www.vr-zone.com/index.php?i=3036
  18. theonetruewill New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,996 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    240
    Location:
    London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
    I think in the end it's down to personal preference. I prefer Multiple rails myself.
  19. GraveFiller

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Messages:
    160 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    hollywood, fla.
    Yea man, i'm done going crazy about this question 1 2 or 4 frickin rails.
    I'm going with the 850 W Decathlon.... fugit!...
    More power is better power i say!!!

    Besides, this link proves it to me...

    Thanks alot for setting me str8t namslas90!
    check out this link:
    http://www.vr-zone.com/index.php?i=3036

    :D:wtf:
  20. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    you'll be fine, that psu is great. and as someone said earlier, it all comes down to personal preference, if you plan on doing extreme ocing, you want single rail, otherwise, its whatever you wish...
  21. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,912 (5.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,063
    Location:
    Ohio
    Go for the silverstone. With the one rail there is never the question of "is my <<insert component here>> getting enough power??".
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. {JNT}Raptor

    {JNT}Raptor New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Messages:
    733 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    87
    Location:
    NY
    Multi-rails being better Is a Myth.....Single rail will not fail you like a Multi rail PSU can.
    It's easy.....Look at one If not the Best PSU maker out there...PC Power&Cooling....they refuse to make a Multi-Rail PSU....so there must be something to It.

    I only hope that OCZ doesn't crap on them now that they bought them out.

    Only time will tell.

    Hope It helps. :)
  23. GraveFiller

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Messages:
    160 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    hollywood, fla.
    hell yea man, old school everytime...

    Thanks for affirming my decision.... everything i've read says 1 rail......

    check out this link too.....

    http://www.vr-zone.com/index.php?i=3036


    tu bud!!!
    :ohwell:
  24. GraveFiller

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Messages:
    160 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    hollywood, fla.
    :nutkick:
    I got your same rip just about now... runs everything good, except blows when i'm running thru my nudie pics.... fast but thumbsplus loads slow if i'm in 8 gb directory.

    That's why i can't wait for my new bitch!
  25. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,277 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    hey GF, just with that mb your getting, I don't think you want the p5k3, its a DDR3 board..

    You want the p5k... its DDR2

    Glad you decided on that psu too, nice

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page