1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Pre-release Tests Conducted on AMD Denreb

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Jul 11, 2008.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,252 (11.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,584
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Pre-release Tests Conducted on AMD Deneb

    AMD Deneb is the code-name for the 45nm quad-core CPU which AMD plans to release soon. Chinese website ITOCP got their hands on two engineering samples. They used these samples at various clock-speeds set by altering the FSB multiplier and Vcore voltage. These chips were then subjected to rounds of Super Pi 1M benchmark. The results look rather luke-warm compared to what we saw of the Intel Bloomfield chips recently. The Deneb CPUs were supported by an AMD RD790 motherboard and 2 GB of DDR2 800 MHz unganged memory, running at timings of 5-5-5-18. The Phenom X4 Deneb 45nm will feature 6 MB of L3 cache apart from the usual 512 KB L2 caches dedicated to the cores.

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Source: ITOCP
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2008
  2. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4,812 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,440
    Alex, I'll take the 3.4Ghz for $235!! JK. If I read that right 3.4Ghz @ almost 1.6v!! Wonder how they are cooling it. Anyways can't wait to get my grubby hands on one.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    That looks a bit voltage hungry,my E6750 does 3.6ghz at 1.41v/3.2ghz at 1.35v.
  4. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    my e6400 does 3.2 @ 1.225V
  5. Judas

    Judas

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,032 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Lol your's is a dual core this is a quad, mind you it does seem quite power hungry
  6. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,551 (2.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    look at specs that is alot of volts :p
  7. Judas

    Judas

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,032 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    lol very funny :p
  8. Wayward

    Wayward New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2007
    Messages:
    235 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Denreb? :laugh:
  9. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,720 (6.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,866
    Those super-Pi times are pretty bad, I would be embaressed.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  10. Basard

    Basard

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    Messages:
    584 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Oshkosh
    seems like they could have used a better system setup.... unganged memory, that is not dual channel, right? and crappy timings...

    im not sure if that has much impact on superpi, but it does on everything else...
  11. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,720 (6.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,866
    That is Dual Channel. And 5-5-5-18 isn't terrible timing for DDR2-800, in fact they are pretty standard timings.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  12. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4,812 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,440
    unganged is best used if you are running alot of multi core apps since it will allow the Phenom to use both memory controllers. Unganged is 64-bit dual channel, ganged is 128-bit dual channel.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. postumus New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    these are really early "results", so let's just wait and see. also it's pretty pointless to compare a dual core intel vs a quad core+IMC amd in terms of power consumption.
  14. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,513 (3.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,142
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    I got quite a jolt from looking at all those volts that the CPU needs to run. Looks like I'll be needing a new PSU.
  15. jydie New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Messages:
    209 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    I thought Super-Pi was not "multi-thread friendly"? Is there a new version that actually benefits from having more the one core in your CPU? If not, then Super-Pi is not really a good benchmark for the current multi-core CPU's.
  16. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,201 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    973
    Location:
    Miami
    wow... poor amd... :shadedshu
  17. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,720 (6.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,866
    It is a guage on how a single one of those cores performs, which we can then use to get an idea on how all 4 will perform. If 1 core performs like crap, adding 3 more crappy performing cores just gives you a quad-core processor that performs like crap compared to other quad-core processors.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  18. jydie New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Messages:
    209 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    OK... thanks! That makes sense. As long as people realize the fact that it is only measuring one of the cores, then I can see it's use for benchmarking. So, then you should be able to run 4 Super-Pi tests at the same time on a quad-core, and they would finish MUCH faster then running 4 tests on a single core CPU... right?
  19. Darren

    Darren New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,936 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    I don't see why you are concerned about Super PI results. Who cares about synthetic benchmarks as long as the processor performs in real world tests and is cheaper than the competition. The Q6600 would beat the 9850 BE in Super PI yet would loose in majority real world tests.

    Whatever. Super PI has no baring on the results one may achieve in a game or in a spreadsheet or any other application one uses on a day to day basis.


    The Q6600 and 9850 BE are equivalent processors, my point is that the Q6600 would win in Super PI but a huge margin yet but won't win in other benchmarks (mostly real world) by the same margin, and hence why SuperPI isn't the best indication of performance.

    Again who cares about SuperPI as long as the CPU's perform well in the game your playing, or the application you use and the performance decent and is cheaper than the competition (Intel) that's all that matters not some silly score on some silly program.
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2008
    Zubasa and WarEagleAU say thanks.
  20. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,421 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,356
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    My E8200 does 4gig on 1.3V :D
  21. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,252 (11.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,584
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    It's not like synthetic-benchmarks aren't indicative of real-world performance at all.
  22. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,201 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    973
    Location:
    Miami
    ERM.... I would LOVE to see those tests... Here's some that say the exact opposite:
    http://www.legitreviews.com/article/735/1/

    9850 can barely touch the Q6600 (at stock clocks), and only matches it in 2-3 tests. BTW the 9850 gets KILLED in the Excel spreadsheet tests by intel dual cores.
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2008
  23. yogurt_21

    yogurt_21

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,357 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    551
    Location:
    AZ
    damn this is crazy amd needs t lose the phenom ide and move onto something better and totally redesigned. while the performance ios definetly higher than current phenoms super pi's it isn't anywhere near what current or future intel quads.
  24. johnnyfiive

    johnnyfiive

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,891 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    876
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    Awesome...45nm ftw.
    Kei says thanks.
  25. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,720 (6.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,866
    Yes, running 4 SuperPi tests at the same time would finish much quicker on a quad than on a single core. Also, because of the shared cache, if you ran 4 SuperPi tests at the same time, the times would be slower than if you just run 1. When you run 1, that single test gets the entire cache on the processor for itself. When you run 4, they have to share the L3 cache.

    I also would like to see the tests proving the 9850 BE beating the Q6600 in the majority of realworld tests. Everything I have seen show otherwise.

    And superpi is important because it does give an idea of processor performance. It doesn't give a well-rouned idea, it only shows a single aspect of the processors performance, but it is still important. It shows how good the processor is at pure number crunching.



    In the past, SuperPi results have been very good indicators of real world performance. Can you show me proof otherwise?


    We are all waiting on these benchmarks to prove this.



    We care because it gives us an idea about how the processor performs.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page