1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Pre-release Tests Conducted on AMD Denreb

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Jul 11, 2008.

  1. Assimilator

    Assimilator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2005
    Messages:
    611 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    105
    Location:
    South Africa
    Socket 775 (aka Socket T) was released in 2004.
    Socket AM2 was released in 2006.

    So Darknova, please stop your whining about Intel's "constant socket changes", it just shows how much of an AMD fanboy you really are.

    Back on topic, this is what I want to see from AMD. I'm not expecting them to take the performance crown anytime soon, but if they can bring much improved performance to the table and continue to undercut Intel's prices, they should see good adoption of the Denebs.
     
  2. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,797 (3.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    546
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    One positive I can tell you from Intel regaining the performance crown a year and a half ago, AMD no longer is really selling mainstream CPUs at $1000. I am so grateful for that. I couldnt afford to build or piece together a pc a few years back with the price wars going on. Hell at least a decent system at that. However, Today, I have affordability and some top notch AMD procs to choose from. Or I can go dark side and get a nice Intel monster. That I am thankful for.

    I dont need AMD to be King Dingaling in the procs. I need them to be competitive and offer price/performance. If you ask me, I believe they have done that. I dont need the fastest, hell most of the world dont need the fastest. If you need AMD to make a proc to kill an intel proc, you seriously have issues. If you are happy with what you got, terrific I applaud you. Im going to stay in AMD and I plan to move to either a 9850 BE or a 9950 (or one of these 45nm Quads when they are released if priced right).
     
    Kei and suraswami say thanks.
  3. Oliverda

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    OK, let's try to put a C2D CPU into a Socket 775 board which made between 2004 and 2006. It won't work thanks to Intel's "customer friendly" marketing strategy. :rolleyes:
     
  4. Rash-Un-Al New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    32 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Folks,

    Let's try to keep things in perspective.

    K8 and K10 (and apparently K10.5) don't do particularly well in SuperPi, when compared to Conroe/Kentsfield or Wolfdale/Yorkfield. This is perhaps the worst possible way to compare the Green and Blue teams.

    For example, it only takes a Wolfdale/Yorkfield operating at 2.40 GHz to achieve 1M SuperPi in approximately 20 seconds and it takes a Deneb @ 3.44 GHz to achieve the same time. A Deneb @ 3.44 GHz would decimate a Wolfdale/Yorkfield @ 2.40 GHz in virtually every single benchmark or application (other than SuperPi). In my estimation, that is why these SuperPi times were allowed to be leaked… because it doesn’t truly reveal the performance potential in just about every other scenario.

    Here's another tidbit to consider. At 3.00 GHz Current Agena (65nm) Phenoms achieve 1M SuperPi in 27.531 sec and the new Deneb (45nm) Phenoms in 23.547. That's a 14.4% increase in single-thread performance, at the same clock. This will erase and overcome the (approximately 8%) clock-for-clock advantage Yorkfield currently has over Agena.

    In other words, clock-for-clock, these Denebs are likely to be as fast as or faster than Yorkfields in most scenarios (outside of SuperPi).

    This demonstrates how Bloomfield and derivatives are an absolute must for Intel, rather than a technological luxury.
     
    Kei says thanks.
  5. Gallatin Guest

    i was using a nforce 4 sli intel edition with a C2D E6400:rolleyes:
     
  6. TheGuruStud

    TheGuruStud

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,615 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    168
    Location:
    Police/Nanny State of America
    It doesn't help that the NB and L3 is running at low speeds, just like the shitty, current quads.

    If the NB would be jacked up and the L3 ran like cache is supposed to be (full core speed), then superpi time would be fast. Idk wtf their problem is. It's a simple solution and it's not like it can't be done easily.
     
  7. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    Im running a 45nm Q in my 2006 mobo :p ASUS :rockout:
     
  8. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    ohhhh man, I can't wait till they come out. They should be really good, my two cents.
     
    Kei says thanks.
  9. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    Whine. Whine. Bitch. Bitch. I'm running Intel because it outperforms AMD by miles, and I'll freely admit that. I'm running Intel because I want the best. If I am such a fanboy as you say I'd still be running AMD and claiming it's better than Intel.

    775 may have been out for 4 odd years, but can you go out and put a brand spanking new 775 chip in a board from the early days of 775? No.
    Can you put the latest AM2 chip in an AM2 board from the early days? Yes, sometimes via BIOS update.
     
    Chicken Patty and Kei say thanks.
  10. candle_86 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,916 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    no dark you can not, a Phenom will not work on early AM2 boards, it only sees 3 cores i tired it on my ECS Nforce4 board and got it from a few others. Quads are not supported on sevral early chipsets. Nforce4, Exrepess 200, Express 3200, and K8T890 and K8T800
     
  11. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    not true support for quads is determined by the manuf they can choose to update the BIOS or not xpress 3200 does support quads as does nforce4 look just cause your cheap ECS choose not to offer support doesn't mean its not supported by others
     
    Kei says thanks.
  12. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,937 (6.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,028
    That is true, you can't put a brand new processor in a 775 board from 4 years ago.

    However, you can put one in a board from 2006, which is the same time AM2 was released.
    Exactly, a lot of the CPU support issues has to do with the manufacture of the board. There is no universal truth. New AM2 processors will not work in all AM2 motherboards. Just like not all 775 processors from 2006 will support the latest Processors. However, my P5B that I bought mid-2006 still supports the latest quad-core processors. So the current 775 socket has been around for pretty much just as long as AM2.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  13. Amdguy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2005
    Messages:
    144 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    42
    Location:
    Miami, Fl
    Well my name is amdguy, but i'm running intel not only because it is currently faster but because i got a good deal.

    But now that we've gotten over my name, you have to admit that even though intel has not changed their socket in a while, every time they do a little revision you need to buy a good motherboard to run their "latest cpu's" even though it is socket compatible, call it what you will but i think that's reality, Amd has given people are better upgrade path.
     
    Darknova, Chicken Patty and Kei say thanks.
  14. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    I think this may have a hard time really earning price/performance honestly. $230 right? I guess we'll have to see, I would imagine around that time intel will release the q9650, drop the price of the q9550 to $299 and the q9450 to $230 or so, which will beat this pretty handily. Still nice upgrade for the amd users, big jump in superpi.
     
  15. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,458 (4.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,479
    idk about you guys but i'm grabbing a AM3 BE/FX CPU, AM2+ board, and a 4870 Graphics card
     
  16. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    When's AM3 being released? Is it confirmed to work w/ AM2+?

    I don't know if that's necessarily intel's doing. The p35s have been around for a while, they just have needed bios updates and revisions to run the 45nm's. AMD has released new chipsets to do the latest and greatest better too, it's just improvement. I like amd's approach to multi-card gaming much better though, as they require much less cash, which is already going to have to go to buying multiple cards.
     
    Chicken Patty and Kei say thanks.
  17. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,163 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    822
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    ha ha another Green vs Blue fight thread, nothing really constructive.

    Whatever people say fast slow dumb etc, can't beat a Local Frys sale of ECS + X2 4800 for $70. Thats what a stupid celeron + ecs mobo go normally. 4800 can do lots and lots of work way better than that celeron. That is called best bang for buck. Who cares if you walk around in the street naked with your stupid intel performance crown:D (because you don't have money to buy other necessary things)
     
  18. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    That's a silly argument, I won't take the time to counter it, just think a little more. Is amd green, I've thought of them as red for some reason........:laugh:
     
  19. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,163 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    822
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    Thats very true. They have be owned by Red now a days.
     
  20. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,937 (6.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,028
    Meh, tiger runs XFX 610i boards with E1200 combos all the time for right around the same price. And unlike the ECS POS, the XFX 610i can actually overclock the CPU with some decent voltage controls, and has a lifetime warranty.

    No, you don't have to buy a good motherboard every time they do a little revision. My P5B was bought in 2006, and it was no where near the high end when I bought it, I think I got it for under $150 at the time, and it support everything up through the 45nm quads.

    The only major change to the socket was done when the Pentium Ds were released. Most boards after that should support all the processors through the 45nm processors as long as the chipset supported it, and
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  21. From_Nowhere New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Messages:
    661 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    These seem to be good processors, especially if they are introduced at the same price as the current Phenoms.

    Hopefully there will also be a higher end Phenom FX's with this generation. With a full speed HT Link (3.2GHz Core, 2.6GHz HT). Wouldn't make it a top of the line CPU (Intel Nehalem will be faster), but at ~$300 it would be hard to beat for that price.
     
    Kei says thanks.
  22. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    Another word for "Drab"? Denreb, the drab CPU! :p although, I dont think 20s @ 3.4GHz is too bad, assuming 3.4GHz is going to be the norm OC for them.
     
  23. Kei

    Kei

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    2,122 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    618
    Well...perhaps read the rest of the two posts by myself and the other guy. He stated that the Dual Core processors from AMD are still very good (they are) so I also stated that the Phenom on 2 cores is significantly faster than those Dual cores which would mean that you should notice the Phenom is also good.

    Now then...before making dumb comments like that read the rest not just a single line. And what exactly do you compare the new Intel processors to...newer ones? No you compare it to older ones.:shadedshu

    While we're at it...define "crap" when it comes to performance. Because something is not faster than something else does that make it crap? What do you drive because with that statement I'll have to consider it crap. Just because something MAY not be as quick doesn't make it crap, it's just slower. Last time I checked all of these processors from both camps are very very fast just maybe not as fast as you want them, but I guess if that was true you made sure you bought the fastest thing out there...oh wait nevermind.

    Speed is a very relative term people should get used to it.

    Have you ever got mad because you had to sit and wait for 3 seconds longer for a program to load or lost 7-10 fps in a game when running at 75fps ...prolly not

    K

    Btw, that was a really long run on sentence though :roll:
     
    Chicken Patty says thanks.
  24. theonetruewill New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,996 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    240
    Location:
    London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
    I don't think that's a stupid argument. I think it's not bad actually- not 100% bulletproof but he's got a point.
    Poeple may be able to get similar performance from Intel once you overclock the shit out of it- but not everyone sees the point in taking a gamble with overclocking whether it be with frying your kit or you simply got a bad chip. Overclocking is for enthusiasts not the common market. For god's sake I don't get this idea that tech enthusiasts are always promoting to everyone and their grandmother, 'just overclock it.' What a fucking stupid thing to say. Yeah void the warranty, and potentially break the hardware for a performance gain that WILL reduce the life of the chip no matter what you do. A 4800 is more than enough for most people- 90% won't be able to notice the difference between an AMD 4800+ X2 and an E8500 in realword applications unless they actually time how fast things take. We notice because we really care about it and want the best out of our machines. Using arrogant tech enthusiasts' logic is similar to Max power magazine's readers telling everyone they know to pimp out their cars to get max performance and huge exhausts from a car they use to take their kids to school. Think about whats a stupid argument before you apply your bigoted comments.
     
    Chicken Patty and Kei say thanks.
  25. Kei

    Kei

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    2,122 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    618
    Ummm...you must be following on a handful (if that) of the Phenoms that are out now because my 3.1Ghz Phenom is faster than your 3.3Ghz 6000+ in nearly every single test you can make up even if I'm running on only two cores. And yes I've done the testing using only two of my four cores, read my thread you'll see the difference. Even people with 3.5-3.6Ghz 6400+ systems realize that if the current Phenom was clocked at 3.2Ghz regularly it would beat the 6400+ in every single test very significantly. If your 6000+ and my Phenom were at the exact same clock (regardless of the clock) I'd leave you for dead.

    No offense, but you definately didn't do your research when you made the claim "shitty current quads". And what do you consider low speeds for the Northbridge, yes 1.8Ghz isn't the fastest of all the Phenoms (which makes this even better for the results) but that doesn't make it slow. Also remember on a Phenom we can just turn our speeds up because we have control of all the cpu parameters unlike the Athlon lineup (and yes I've owned those too).

    No offense to anyone in this thread but there is only a handful of responses that should even still be listed here as legit responses to the thread, the rest should be deleted or the thread should be locked because it seems as though 90% of the people posting here are only here to throw dirt as opposed to make legit comments useful to anyone.

    K
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page