1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Preliminary Tests on GeForce GTX 295 Run, Leads Radeon HD 4870 X2

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Dec 16, 2008.

  1. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,585 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    525
    Location:
    Australia
    Yea the 3870x2 and 4870x2 do run very hot, even this 3850 im running now runs dam hot, at 80c under load:shadedshu but at least with all these cards you can update and put a better cooler on them, to bring down there temps, and there for overclocking them higher to get better performance with out the risk of overheating.

    When i buy a GPU i always look at the cooling on the card, as i like i nice cool running system, so the heat doesn't also heat up inside the case and makes other components run hotter as well.
     
  2. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,543 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    842
    yeah but look at the power consumption and die size.

    this card should be easyer to cool with more oc headroom, yes its not much better than the original 280, but just think of it as a newer core stepping.
     
  3. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    My 8600 GTS gets hot as hell, sadly.:shadedshu
     
  4. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,543 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    842
    well at GTX285 speeds a GTX280 would be consuming considerably more than 236w, i think its a testament to the 55nm shrink, they've done well. so far :p

    the power difference is 22.5% both cards at stock, at the same speeds, i bet its over 25%

    not bad for a ~15% die shrink right! they must have done some core steppings/revisions along the way to squeeze that sort of power savings out of it.

    and +1, this card should overclock very nicely. anyone here want GTX280 specs running at 800 core :p i know i do
     
  5. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,606 (11.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,648
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Dual-core and Quad-core CPUs could never put multi-socket to rest, although that's what was talked about when Pentium D was launched :)

    Today we have multi-socket setups comprising of those dual/quad-core chips. This is what could happen. GTX 280 wasn't quite a cost-effective design either (although the credit goes to the great way in which NVIDIA dealt with its partners to bring the price down).
     
  6. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,982 (3.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    PA, USA
    I like what I'm seeing. Let's hope Wiz gets a review sample as soon as they are available!
     
  7. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Damn dual cards. *growl* Sure they put up ridiculous numbers, but you pay out the ass for them and some in games they perform worse than a single card. Power, but where's the refinement and efficiency. Anybody can slap a couple cards together and charge double the price (more actually sometimes), I wanna see some innovative engineering, this is becoming more mundane than tick-tock.......
     
  8. a_ump

    a_ump

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,605 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    372
    Location:
    Smithfield, WV
    +1, i agree, and that's why i want to see what ATI is doing with RV870, or their gen after that. There were rumors that the RV870 would actually be dual chip like a Pentium D but i think that was shot down, but hopefully on next gen it will happen, i'd like to see the performance of 2 gpu's with a ring-bus.
     
  9. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,617 (4.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,529
    Ring Bus was the Flaw of the R670.
     
  10. a_ump

    a_ump

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,605 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    372
    Location:
    Smithfield, WV
    flaw yes, but flaws can be fixed as can all problems some way or another, i don't know much about this ring bus i just know(or thk) that they'd have to use one for 2 gpu's to share the same memory pool or w/e. there was also the idea that the 512-bit memory bus was fail but nvidia is doing just fine with one. though there is that non-active sideport on the HD 4870x2 that would allow direct communication with the 2 chips, which supposedly would negate micro-stuttering or at least minimize it greatly, wonder if they ever got it working or if it'll make a difference, and if it does have they been waiting to activate it in case nvidia did do a GX2 card.
     
  11. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,617 (4.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,529
    AMD has Architectural Charts of the R670 vs the R770.
     
  12. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,176 (2.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    looks good , but we can't depend on first test , we know this first tests always become not clear and not accurate , but if this card beat 2x gtx260 that's mean sure beat 4870x2 , but if is not this result will be forget it , and im sure ati do some respond and i think it will be release driver which is active the bridge between the two gpu in 4870x2 , sure this driver only support 4870x2
     
  13. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,759 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    538
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis
    AGREED!!!!!

    Nobody is talking about the HD 4870x2's secret "Sideport" weapon which can only be enabled through a driver update. Right now the HD 4870x2 is king, and if this new Nvidia card is a little faster it will only drive the HD 4870x2 down in price which is a good thing.

    Read the review on this site about the added "sideport" of an extra 5 GB/s both ways.
    http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/Sapphire/HD_4870_X2/

    Can this be a secret weapon to increase speed in games at high res?
     
  14. DarkMatter New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,714 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    184
    Short answer. NO.
     
  15. Pixelated

    Pixelated New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Messages:
    45 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Ouch! Yeah this thing will be EOL after 3 months. What a waste of resources that Nvidia could be using toward their next architecture. Also if this thing isn't engineered perfectly it could turn out to be a HUGE disaster that not even Nvidia's PR dept will be able to spin. Let's hope it doesn't idle at 80c.
     
  16. a_ump

    a_ump

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,605 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    372
    Location:
    Smithfield, WV
    i had already mentioned this in an ealier page :p, and i hope that this would improve performance, i know if it were to work as it should it would improve performance, but i don't they got it working. Probly will on the HD 5870x2.

    this means very little, it just means they changed the architecture of the gpu cause they couldn't get it working, doesn't mean it won't work. Did you know the Radeon X1000 series used a ring bus as well? for some reason the ring bus didn't work out with the 2900XT. Did you know Intel plans to use the ring bus on larrabee? they're not a stupid company so it must still have it's uses
     
  17. ThorAxe New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    99 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    Actually a single GTX 260+ gets 132FPS at 2560x1600 4xAA 16AF.

    http://www.pcper.com/article.php?aid=645&type=expert&pid=3
     
  18. a_ump

    a_ump

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,605 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    372
    Location:
    Smithfield, WV
    yea but that's at dx9, big difference.
     
  19. dmwxr9 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0

    What do you mean this by this is 2 GTX280's? Are you saying that it has the performance of 2 280's or are you saying that they used 2 280's for this benchmark?
     
  20. a_ump

    a_ump

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,605 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    372
    Location:
    Smithfield, WV
    technically the GTX 260 and GTX 280 are the same chip remember. so these 2 chips on the GTX295 are their own variant, one of GTX 280 specs-240 SPU's, but GTX 260 memory design-448-bit bus 896mb memory per chip. so it should perform less than GTX 280 SLI but more than GTX 260 SLI.
     
  21. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,759 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    538
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis
    I believe ATI was going to go with the Ring Bus memory once again with the HD 4870's. Thanks to AMD and the good old "Crossbar Switch" they've taken the performance crown away from Nvidia.

    Thanks the Microsoft heavily investing into ATI's R&D for the XBOX 360, ATI had the ability to architecturally design the "Ring Bus Memory Controller" for the XBOX 360. With no effort, they applied the same design for there Graphics Cards.

    In theory the Ring Bus should have performed much more efficient then it currently does, but IMO I think they need more time to perfect the technology.

    This is why AMD went with the Crossbar Switch which is quite similar to what is found in the Athlon 64 I believe.
     
  22. DarkMatter New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,714 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    184
    The problem with ring bus is that you need at least 2 similarly fast, bandwidth hungry units atached to it to make sense, or in defect of that, more than one fast memory pool. In GPUs that's not the case, you have 1 GPU and one memory pool, so building a costly pathway between them doesn't make sense perf/price or perf/watt wise. The ring bus is similar to the PCI bus in that the different units atached to it have to be arbitered and given some "time". Being so the ring bus was a lot of it's time busy feeding non-performance related units that didn't need all the bus power, canibalizing that power that could be used by the performance parts. It's like building a 12 lane highway just because sometimes 12 trucks are gonna go through it and then allocate the use of that highway to a lot of lonely cars, while the trucks have to wait.

    I might not be correct on this one but in the Xbox 360 the ring bus connected the GPU, the CPU, the main memory and the embedded memory, and of course many other "minor" things wiht DMA access. That's 4 performance units, instead of two, and many more units which required access to memory. So there it does make more sense. It does make sense to make a shared big highway, instead of many dedicated small pathways.
     
  23. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,670 (5.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,505
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    The GTX295 will contain two 55nm 240sp GPU's so same shader count as two current GTX280's, but with the memory and bus of the 260.....although because of the 55nm process they should be clocked much higher......I think thats the plan.
     
  24. drayzen.ocau New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    It might be possible to achieve those frame rates if they are using the Lucid Hydra, which has been rumored to achieve 100% scaling with multiple GPU's.
    Considering Lucid have kept their lips sealed about who they're working with, it's quite possible.
    Or perhaps those smartys at NVIDIA have come up with their own version...
     
    a_ump says thanks.
  25. a_ump

    a_ump

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,605 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    372
    Location:
    Smithfield, WV
    Interesting i had not heard of this till you linked it, and no i don't think nvidia got or made a chip like that, it's just regular SLI working on the GTX 295. i see the performance but now i want to know the price.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page