1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Presumably GK104 specs

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Crap Daddy, Jan 9, 2012.

  1. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,760 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,051
    Here are some specs and pricing leaked for the GK104. Take it as you wish.
     

    Attached Files:

    okidna, dude12564 and arnoo1 say thanks.
  2. dude12564 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    Messages:
    472 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    216
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    If that price is true... I will be very happy.
     
  3. arnoo1

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    746 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    124
    Location:
    Netherlands
    so it should be faster than a gtx580, i don't like that we don't have a shader clock anymore, i think it will decrease performans, but we have to wait how it will perform
     
  4. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,559 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    954
    If true I'd expect it to match the 7970 at stock in most cases, and I'd also expect them to raise the price instead of fighting a price war.
     
  5. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,760 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,051
    It's the first leak that seems close to reality. NV is holding a press conference at CES right now maybe we'll find more.
    It should be 10-15% over the 580 and it's a mid-high range GPU something like the 560Ti.
     
  6. Damn_Smooth

    Damn_Smooth New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,435 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    478
    Location:
    A frozen turdberg.
    I don't know. Every other leak seems to be way overshooting it but this one seems to be undershooting it. Hopefully they will say something at the conference.
     
  7. DarkOCean

    DarkOCean

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,618 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    Location:
    on top of that big mountain on mars(Romania)
    looks like gf 114 +50% on everything ;12 tesselation units meh ...indeed somewhat a midrange gpu .
    Source?
     
  8. ViperXTR

    ViperXTR

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    1,394 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    407
    if this is true then it looks like nVidia is integrating the shader clocks to the rop/tmu clocks now, just like the radeons (or maybe it was hidden again, just like n the G70)
     
  9. DarkOCean

    DarkOCean

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,618 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    Location:
    on top of that big mountain on mars(Romania)
    If the shader clock are fixed like on fermi doesn't matter anyway if they are hidden or not.
     
  10. alwayssts

    alwayssts

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    378 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    82
    This looks like a realistic design, but flawed...and look, 4 alus per shader...that sounds familiar!

    I think last gen showed where the optimal rop/shader ratio was, and this undershoots shaders in favor of rops...oh wait...LIKE EVERY OTHER NVIDIA DESIGN. I thought they were going to fix that?

    This would be faster than 7970 per clock, sure, but it will not be as efficient. Since 7970 can use it's 300w tdp and overclock pretty linearly on voltage, it would be the overall better design.

    On the over-under game, this would appear to be 1-2 48sp units light of maximum efficiency. That would probably be a big-ass chip, granted, hence why it was smart of AMD to stay at 32 ROPs, even if using less units. I still argue they didnt really need over 30 CUs...perhaps just barely hence it makes sense to overshoot on an enthusiast part (and to allow breathing space for a 1792 part...) and that will be proven by Pitcairn which should have amazing efficiency, even if just barely shader-light (assuming 24 rop, 1408sp)...It should be within 1 CU in average use.

    That all said, a salvage 32 rop part using this design should be perfect with 10 GPCs...lots of wasted transistors though.

    IOW, this sounds like typical nvidia. What AMD would need to match it will boil down to how nvidia implements their alus. They will probably lose efficiency to fermi as it was super granular (2 scalar alus with 2x clock), but gain die savings moving closer to AMDs (and Intel's) design. Rough guess would be AMD would need 7970 in the 11xx range.

    Bring on the inevitable 1200mhz AMD sku with (hopefully) .28ns gddr5...
     
  11. okidna

    okidna

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Messages:
    474 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    351
    Location:
    Indonesia
    I believe this is from OBR blog HERE.
     
  12. Recus

    Recus

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    530 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Code:
    http://translate.google.lt/translate?sl=auto&tl=en&js=n&prev=_t&hl=lt&ie=UTF-8&layout=2&eotf=1&u=http%3A%2F%2Fnvidia.adrenaline.uol.com.br%2Ftecnologia%2Fnoticias%2F11032%2Fnvidia-gk104-gtx-660-sera-15-mais-veloz-que-gtx-580-e-custara-us-399.html
    If it's true GTX660 could be best video card ever made. [​IMG]
     
  13. Red_Machine

    Red_Machine

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,741 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    384
    Location:
    Marlow, ENGLAND
    1536MB AGAIN? nVIDIA, get your act together, AMD has you beat in this segment...

    And dayuuuuuuuum, a GTX 660 will beat my 580...
     
  14. Fishymachine New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    208 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    3.2 bilion transistors on 28nm = 256 bit GDDR5, for starters
     
  15. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,463 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    783
    if the 399USD is true i will properly but one [​IMG]
     
  16. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,964 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,219
    Sausages in the background? LOLWUT?
     
    Damn_Smooth says thanks.
  17. Damn_Smooth

    Damn_Smooth New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,435 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    478
    Location:
    A frozen turdberg.
    Seems legit.
     
    Crap Daddy says thanks.
  18. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,760 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,051
    The sausages are fine. I just found out that NV has some "new" mobile GPUs which is the 600 series, saw a laptop with GT610M on offer. They are of course rebranded mobile fermis. Anyway I think this is a clear indication that the new desktop GPUs (whenever they come out) will be the 700 series. Maybe I was the only one not aware of this but anyway.
     
    Damn_Smooth says thanks.
  19. Red_Machine

    Red_Machine

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,741 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    384
    Location:
    Marlow, ENGLAND
    What makes you say that? nVIDIA only skips a generation when they have custom OEM cards on offer.
     
  20. Damn_Smooth

    Damn_Smooth New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,435 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    478
    Location:
    A frozen turdberg.
    I heard a rumor that the desktop GPUs were going to be 700s but that is the first actual evidence I have heard that shows it could be true.
     
  21. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,760 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,051
    Damn_Smooth says thanks.
  22. Damn_Smooth

    Damn_Smooth New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,435 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    478
    Location:
    A frozen turdberg.
    Now if Nvidia would just hurry up and release some concrete details we would be set. I'm thinking about waiting to see if there is a price war anyway, I need Ivy more than I need a GPU upgrade right now and anything I could save would help.
     
  23. Red_Machine

    Red_Machine

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,741 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    384
    Location:
    Marlow, ENGLAND
    They missed out the 100 and 300 series because OEMs had their own special cards and nVIDIA didn't want to confuse consumers. There were mobile versions of the 200 series cards AND the 400 series cards after all, and nVIDIA didn't skip them.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page