1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

prime95 FATAL ERROR... Need Help

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by bshadow, Apr 12, 2007.

  1. bshadow New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    hello guys..
    im new here..
    recently my computer started freezing on random occasions, i understood that it freezes up when i make him process alot of things (make it work hard).. like encoding video or something like that..
    i guesses something is wrong with my hardware so i ran the prime95 test. but i got not idea what to do with its results.. plz help me..
    thanks

    the results:
    [Thu Apr 12 02:35:25 2007]
    Self-test 1024K passed!
    [Thu Apr 12 02:51:29 2007]
    Self-test 8K passed!
    [Thu Apr 12 03:07:18 2007]
    Self-test 10K passed!
    [Thu Apr 12 03:24:38 2007]
    Self-test 896K passed!
    [Thu Apr 12 03:42:10 2007]
    Self-test 768K passed!
    [Thu Apr 12 03:57:45 2007]
    Self-test 12K passed!
    [Thu Apr 12 04:12:50 2007]
    Self-test 14K passed!
    [Thu Apr 12 04:30:19 2007]
    Self-test 640K passed!
    [Thu Apr 12 04:46:18 2007]
    Self-test 512K passed!
    [Thu Apr 12 05:01:45 2007]
    Self-test 16K passed!
    [Thu Apr 12 05:20:57 2007]
    Self-test 20K passed!
    [Thu Apr 12 05:36:17 2007]
    Self-test 448K passed!
    [Thu Apr 12 05:52:44 2007]
    Self-test 384K passed!
    [Thu Apr 12 06:10:59 2007]
    Self-test 24K passed!
    [Thu Apr 12 06:26:08 2007]
    Self-test 28K passed!
    [Thu Apr 12 06:41:41 2007]
    Self-test 320K passed!
    [Thu Apr 12 06:58:30 2007]
    Self-test 256K passed!
    [Thu Apr 12 07:16:54 2007]
    Self-test 32K passed!
    [Thu Apr 12 07:32:10 2007]
    Self-test 40K passed!
    [Thu Apr 12 07:48:53 2007]
    Self-test 224K passed!
    [Thu Apr 12 08:04:29 2007]
    Self-test 192K passed!
    [Thu Apr 12 08:19:46 2007]
    Self-test 48K passed!
    [Thu Apr 12 08:34:56 2007]
    Self-test 56K passed!
    [Thu Apr 12 08:50:29 2007]
    Self-test 160K passed!
    [Thu Apr 12 09:06:19 2007]
    Self-test 128K passed!
    [Thu Apr 12 09:25:30 2007]
    Self-test 64K passed!
    [Thu Apr 12 09:41:36 2007]
    Self-test 80K passed!
    [Thu Apr 12 09:58:45 2007]
    Self-test 112K passed!
    [Thu Apr 12 10:14:42 2007]
    Self-test 96K passed!
    [Thu Apr 12 10:32:15 2007]
    Self-test 1280K passed!
    [Thu Apr 12 10:48:08 2007]
    Self-test 1536K passed!
    [Thu Apr 12 11:04:29 2007]
    Self-test 1792K passed!
    [Thu Apr 12 11:21:38 2007]
    Self-test 2048K passed!
    [Thu Apr 12 11:38:45 2007]
    Self-test 2560K passed!
    [Thu Apr 12 11:54:00 2007]
    Self-test 3072K passed!
    [Thu Apr 12 12:10:45 2007]
    Self-test 3584K passed!
    [Thu Apr 12 12:27:37 2007]
    Self-test 4096K passed!
    [Thu Apr 12 12:46:17 2007]
    Self-test 1024K passed!
    [Thu Apr 12 13:02:37 2007]
    Self-test 8K passed!
    [Thu Apr 12 13:22:14 2007]
    Self-test 10K passed!
    [Thu Apr 12 13:40:18 2007]
    Self-test 896K passed!
    [Thu Apr 12 13:57:44 2007]
    Self-test 768K passed!
    [Thu Apr 12 14:13:25 2007]
    Self-test 12K passed!
    [Thu Apr 12 14:28:48 2007]
    Self-test 14K passed!
    [Thu Apr 12 14:46:54 2007]
    Self-test 640K passed!
    [Thu Apr 12 15:02:46 2007]
    Self-test 512K passed!
    [Thu Apr 12 15:21:57 2007]
    Self-test 16K passed!
    [Thu Apr 12 15:37:13 2007]
    Self-test 20K passed!
    [Thu Apr 12 15:53:13 2007]
    Self-test 448K passed!
    [Thu Apr 12 16:09:58 2007]
    Self-test 384K passed!
    [Thu Apr 12 16:28:23 2007]
    Self-test 24K passed!
    [Thu Apr 12 16:45:17 2007]
    FATAL ERROR: Rounding was 0.5, expected less than 0.4
    Hardware failure detected, consult stress.txt file.
     
  2. LiNKiN

    LiNKiN Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,760 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    302
    How about giving us your hardware specs? How about are you ocing or not? Need more INPUT!! :roll:
     
  3. DR.Death

    DR.Death New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,757 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    Canada
    prime95 tests ram and cpu if my memory is correct
     
  4. bshadow New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    sorry for not giving hardware specs..

    i got no idea what info u need or where to get it... plz help me explain to u
     
  5. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    8,248 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,000
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    What kind is it? Amd/Intel
    Processor speed?
    How much RAM do you have?
    Is this system overclocked at all? (probably not since you are unsure of where to get your system specs, you probably haven't messed with FSB settings and such).

    Have you opened your PC case and vacuumed out the dust? Dust, if allowed to build up can cause your PC to do all sorts of strange things including freeze, crash, etc..

    Download SiSandra and it will tell you plenty about your PC.
     
  6. GIGGLA

    GIGGLA New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2004
    Messages:
    156 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Do you have a program that monitors the temperature of the cpu? Yeah maybe your cpu is getting to hot and then it makes an error. If it is to hot then you need to clean the dust out of the cpu heatsink. I use a q-tip being carefull not to leave any of the cotton behind from the q-tip or a toothpick or a compressed air canister.
     
  7. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    8,248 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,000
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    If the cpu is getting hot enough to make an error, (that'd be damn hot!!) it'd probably give a warning and/or shut down. Usually if a cpu fails, it's not stable under the load Prime gives it. It could be choking for voltage..and with vdroop still common for intel boards, it's definately touch and go. Same for memory though, if your memory is in need of extra juice that's not there, it's gonna create errors. Download Orthos, and run CPU at priority 9 overnight or as long as possible and see what you come up with...if that's okay, then run memtest overnight and see what that comes up with. But first and foremost inspect for dust and remove any found dust!

    The main deal with heat, is the hotter you let your components get, the more drastic the decrease overall life of that component will be, so monitoring temps is a must, and keeping in a safe temp zone range is a must.
     
  8. bshadow New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    intel pentium 4 3.2ghz...
    2gb ram
    the computer is clean from the inside... i already had heat problems in the past but i replaced the fan to something better and cooler.
    what else?
     
  9. bshadow New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  10. Beertintedgoggles

    Beertintedgoggles

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    736 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    211
    A little more info might still be useful.... what's the output wattage of your PSU. Cheap or underpowered PSU's can cause all kinds of irrational system instability even at stock settings. How many HD's, case fans do you have? Do you have a vid card or is it integrated? Errors with memory will also cause freezes and random reboots. Another factor that I've run into with older motherboards is a bad battery for the motherboard. I've actually had old MB batteries effect my stability. These are just a few causes for the effects you're seeing. Only through systematic testing of each component at a time will you pinpoint the prob.
     
  11. bshadow New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i got an expensive cooler master brand power supply also my cpu fan is cooler master, i got three fans in my case, vid card is not integrated its pci express ati with 2 hdd..

    i also did a prime95 small fft test maybe it will help:
    the results:

    Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 3.20GHz
    CPU speed: 3211.31 MHz
    CPU features: RDTSC, CMOV, Prefetch, MMX, SSE, SSE2
    L1 cache size: 16 KB
    L2 cache size: 1024 KB
    L1 cache line size: 64 bytes
    L2 cache line size: 128 bytes
    TLBS: 64
    Prime95 32-bit version 24.14, RdtscTiming=1
    Best time for 512K FFT length: 15.070 ms.
    [Fri Apr 13 16:26:23 2007]
    Self-test 8K passed!
    [Fri Apr 13 16:41:48 2007]
    Self-test 10K passed!
    [Fri Apr 13 16:57:51 2007]
    Self-test 12K passed!
    [Fri Apr 13 17:14:17 2007]
    Self-test 14K passed!
    [Fri Apr 13 17:29:34 2007]
    Self-test 16K passed!
    [Fri Apr 13 17:46:06 2007]
    Self-test 20K passed!
    [Fri Apr 13 18:02:15 2007]
    Self-test 24K passed!
    [Fri Apr 13 18:10:17 2007]
    FATAL ERROR: Final result was 43BA1666, expected: B0680C2B.
    Hardware failure detected, consult stress.txt file.
     
  12. bshadow New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  13. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,957 (3.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,034
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    Unless you have a significant power supply issue, I think your vcore may be to low. Try increasing your vcore in bios a small amount, then run Orthos prime. Also, you may want to try a stability program called OCCT. I think it's much better at testing real world stability, and you can run a short (30 min.) test for basic stability.
     
  14. bshadow New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i ran occt, after 20min my computer got frozen..... :(
     
  15. bshadow New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    ok....
    this is getting seriously, i cant play my games..
    i try to play nba live 07 and uefa champions league 06/07, i play for like 5-10 min and the computer freezes!!!!
    nothing to do but to shut down it from the button on the case :(

    plz.... im thinking on throwing it through the window :)
    plz help me with this,,

    thanks
     
  16. Oliver_FF

    Oliver_FF New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    546 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    download the RightMark RAM Tester (google it) and see what that says, some of your RAM may be slowly dying - after all, it is pretty cheap RAM and it's pushing 6 years old :p
     
  17. bshadow New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    ok ill try that and update
     
  18. bshadow New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    when i try to run the test im giving an error :
    failed to reserve 1572 mb of memory
     
  19. D007

    D007

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,360 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    488
    Location:
    Pompano beach, Florida
    remove and try each memory stick individually.. see if they pass individually.. sorry but there is no easy way to fix things like this.. it's going to take time to find the problem. then fix the problem.. i agree with trying to up your voltage a bit.. but you say your screen freezes? it doesnt boot you out? getting booted out is typical of low power.. a screen freeze tends to be something different.. i would uninstall and reinstall my video drivers .. 1st look for any new drivers or updates and reinstall them.. have you installed any program at all that you can remember that was around the time you started having these problems? if so.. remove it..

    if all esle fails try a repair on the operating system by starting up with it in the cd rom and hitting esc then booting to cd.. just try the repair oprtion 1st before reinstalling it all. saves a bunch of time. check all your connections on every port.. make sure their nice and snug. if you have overclocked anything, then lower whatever it was you OC"d before this started happening.
    make sure every connection is secure on your mobo ( i cant stress that enough, just moving a pc can make something pop out by chance or become loose especially sata cables).. I hope this helps.. it's a standard procedure i use to hunt down basic problems.

    fyi: if your using memtest and you have 2048 memory then run one at 900 and one at "all available memory"... that error is making me think your memory is ded.. when you boot does it still register the memory? can u see 2048 or 1024? trying each stick individually will let you know for sure.. my best guess so far is your memory is crapping out..lol.. sorry.. it happens though..hell you got a great run out of that memory though.. lucky it lasted that long..
     
  20. bshadow New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i think my memory is fine, after i took the memtest36...
    and i didnt installed any prog, and its not my video driver coz i tried that..
    its happens to be something that makes my computer works harder and when some prog pushing it resources to the limit or something its freezes!! even games...
     
  21. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,958 (2.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,650
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Do You know what motherboard make you have? Is this a pre-built system (like a Dell or HP, etc.)?

    I suspect a bad stick of memory like others have mentioned - I'm actually going through sort of the same thing myself on my old rig... a GeiL 512 stick has gone completely bad, and I'm sending it back. Ironically, I have close tot he same system as you, but a 630 CPU and slightly different memory... the motherboard I'm talking about is an Abit AG8 - i915 northbridge.

    When the memory was working, I had to bump up the memory voltage slightly above stock and everything seemed fine for a while, but then random crashes, BSOD's, etc. It's hosed.
     
  22. bshadow New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    as i said... my motherboard is asus p5gd1
     
  23. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    you said youve replaced the stock cooler, have you monitored your temps while your cpu is at load? with 775 heatsinks sometimes it can be easy to not push in one the pins all the way in to secure it and youll normally have random freezes/shutdowns if its over heating, doesnt sound like a psu problem to me as you have a coolermaster which have good amperage even for the lower models im thinking at least 400w+? which would run your rig happily all day and night unless its deffective.
     
  24. bshadow New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    so... what u suggest?
     
  25. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,958 (2.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,650
    Location:
    Manchester, NH

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page