1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Primochill Typhoon III

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Kantastic, Dec 29, 2009.

  1. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,156 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    993
    Can someone tell me what the benefits are for this reservoir? I'm getting into water cooling soon (thanks ShadowDust! :toast:) with my soon-to-arrive Sniper (thanks peet :D) and would like to know what setup would benefit from the Typhoon III?

    If I want two loops, one for the CPU and the other for the GPU, would using the Typhoon III mean I don't need a second rad?
     
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,901 (13.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,309
    Benefits? I don't know, it depends on your loop I guess. If you can benefit from mounting your pump directly to the resevoir, then yes. I have a MCP355 pump hooked up to a XPSC res/top and I love it. Saves room and it's less tubing you need to use. You don't need a 2nd radiator as long as the one you have is sufficient.
     
    Kantastic says thanks.
  3. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,156 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    993
    Right, I forgot to mention I'll be using a D5 pump so I'll be able to mount it in the PTIII if I get it. What makes this res so special aside from conserving space? Why does it reduce the amt of tubing needed?
     
  4. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,901 (13.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,309
    Hooking the pump to the res. I suppose would be the reason it's special. It's a nice res, but it's not a necessary piece of equipment. Perhaps you get more head pressure with the pump, not sure on that. What radiator are you using? What do you plan to cool with it exactly?
     
    Kantastic says thanks.
  5. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,156 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    993
    I'll be cooling the B50 (unlocked 550) in my sig, I know my TRUE Black is more than enough to handle it but I couldn't pass up the deal, it was absolutely dirt cheap. I'm not too sure on the rest of the equipment, it was a Danger Den clearance kit at Fry's. Let me dig up the specs...
     
  6. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,901 (13.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,309
    Either way for your CPU it will be more than fine.
     
  7. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,156 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    993
    Okay, here's what it comes with:

    1-MC TDX CPU COOLER
    1-Black Ice Xtreme II Radiator
    1-D5 12 volt pump (fixed speed)
    2-Yate Loon Fan (preinstalled onto the radiator) These fans are both 120 mm
    5-Tygon Tubing, 17", 22" 4.75", 4", and 10.5" lengths
    10-Hose Clamps
    1-Cooling System Fillport
    1-Polypropleyne "T" 1/2 inch
    2-Fittings
    1-Power Supply Jumper
    1-Ceramique
    1-Tubing Plug
    1-Syringe
    1-Instructional DVD

    I'm not sure if the CPU block supports AM2, if not I'm going to sell it and wait until I have more money for a Fuzion or an Apogee because right now I'm completely broke. I spent every last penny getting this kit.
     
  8. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,901 (13.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,309
    The fitting T and the tubing plug are for if you aren't using a resevoir. Looks good.
     
    Kantastic says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page