1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Problem closing CPU socket cover on new motherboard, would love some HELP??!!

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by mrmotivator, May 24, 2012.

1. mrmotivator

Thanks Received:
    I am a first time builder and i have a Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H motherboard and a Intel i5-3570K CPU.

I fitted the CPU into the slot perfectly but when it comes to fitting the bracket which holds it into place over it and pulling the lever down to lock it into place it seems to put alot of pressure onto the CPU in fact i only got the leaver down half way before i heard a scrunching sound. I immediately stopped as was always told now pressure should be put on the motherboard or CPU. I checked with a video on you tube for the build of my motherboard and the guy says his is stiff as well and feels like your going o break it when you lock it into place but do i take that risk i just spent nearly 400 pounds.

Would love some suggestions on the matter, thanks in advance!!!!!

Leon
  2. brandonwh64

brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

Thanks Received:
    as long as its lined up with the socket notches then you should be fine. It does feel like a lot of pressure but it has to seat the CPU into the socket and pins.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. mrmotivator

Thanks Received:
    thanks man will go for it ;)

4. The Von Matrices

The Von Matrices

Thanks Received:
    That sound and pressure is normal for LGA1155. It's much more than LGA1366 or LGA775 - I had to get used to it at first too. Just make sure the notches are lined up as brandonwh64 said and you should be OK.
  5. Black Panther

Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

Thanks Received: