1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Problem During XP Pro Install! (Urgent)

Discussion in 'General Software' started by Azn Tr14dZ, Jul 21, 2007.

  1. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,299 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    I was re-installing XP Professional today (because Ubuntu didn't work out, cleared my HD). The installation went great (sorta), I pressed F6, installed nVidia RAID 0 Drivers, Restarted computer when prompted (with floppy disc removed). Then went through everything else, and it all seemed fine. It even booted into Windows fine.

    But the problem happened when I tried to put my driver disc in (that came with my mobo). I removed the XP Pro disc, and put in my DFI Driver disc. Then an Error Message pops up, saying there is no disc in the drive. The options are Cancel, Try Again, and Continue. No matter what I choose, the same window re-pops up. I don't know what to do. When I turn off the computer, it says there's a BIOS error, and it won't close.

    Some other weird things to not: My hard drive(s) are E:, not C:. Is something going wrong here? This has never happened before, everything was smooth until I tried putting a disc in.
  2. ex_reven New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    5,225 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    try uninstalling and reinstalling the drive in device manager with a reboot?

    I had a crappy windows install do that to me once (not read disks) because the windows drivers were bodged.
  3. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,776
    When you tried to install Ubuntu, did you actually get so far as to formatting your drives?
  4. FR@NK

    FR@NK

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Messages:
    519 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Yea i had a problem similar to that. I think my XP disk might be getting abit to worn out. I reinstalled with a different optical drive and it was fixed.
  5. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,299 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    I really don't know..I tried partitioning them, and Linux RAID, or something like that. Why, could that affect the installation?

    Btw, when I installed XP Pro, everything was connected this time. The last time I isntalled, I believe the only things I had connected were Monitor, Mouse, and Keyboard.
  6. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,299 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Also, does it make a difference that my Hard Drive is E:, not C:?
  7. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,776
    I only ask because, every once in a while, when a drive is formatted in a non-Windows format, such as ext2/3 or Reiser, the quick format on the XP disk doesn't work properly.

    Try to redo it with a full format instead.


    EDIT: Windows doesn't care if the drive is E. But some program installers default to C, so you would have to change the drive letter for the program's destination to E.
    Azn Tr14dZ says thanks.
  8. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,299 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Yeah, I remember my partitions being ext3! OMG Thank you so much! And I always use a quick format too whenever I install. Could that also be the reason why my hard drives (read as one 160GB) is E:, not C:? Also, does that affect my disc drive not being able to read discs?

    Sorry, it's just that I have a clan scrim tomorrow (or sunday? idk) for DoD:S, and I don't want to miss out. Lol...thanks for the input guys, keep 'em coming.
  9. ex_reven New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    5,225 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    that shouldnt matter, windows should have drivers for every piece of hardware
    except video cards and other deviant bits and pieces like RAID and special network cards.
    Pretty much everything is plug and play. Having it connected when you install is no problem, its just that some hardware requires software installation before being placed in the system, but thats rare and sometimes totally unnecessary.

    With regards to the hard drive, it being assigned a different letter shouldnt cause the problems your experiencing

    EDIT - Just read WILE E's post - Yeah quick format is evil :)
  10. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,299 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    I'm re-installing it right now, and when the option appears, I HOPE I choose the "long" format....should that just about do it?
  11. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,299 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    What I'm wondering though, is if I do the "long" format, not the quick, will that really solve my problem of not being able to read the driver disc?
  12. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,776
    Yeah, if any bit of the foreign disk format is left on the drive, it can cause all kinds of corruptions in Windows.
  13. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,299 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    One more question (my main comp is currently formatting).

    Can I re-install XP (as well as activate of course) as many times on the same computer (same specs, everything) without having to call MS to activate?
  14. ex_reven New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    5,225 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Think about it. If all youve installed is windows and the cd drive doesnt work.

    a) You know that it MUST be software related (due to hardware working previously)
    b) It MUST be the windows install since thats all there is on the system

    So I bet on a dodgy install or drivers.
  15. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,776
    No way to tell. It seems to randomly decide when you have to call. And so what if it does? It only takes a few minutes of your time.
  16. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,117 (5.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    Have you tested your memory? Make the memory boot disk test if you havent yet.

    Can u boot? If not try one stick of memory at a time.



    Can I re-install XP (as well as activate of course) as many times on the same computer (same specs, everything) without having to call MS to activate?

    No, you will have to call them after 5 times IF you activate them. The way around this is with Ghost.
  17. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,299 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Oh no, last time, it took 3 days of my time, yup, 3 days.

    I heard OEM versions can be installed on the same computer over and over, but if you change a part, you're screwed (that's what the reviews said on newegg)
  18. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,299 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    I installed it about 3-4 times today, and twice before, but only 2 times I activated. So, still good?

    By the way, thanks for all the help guys, I really appreciate it!
  19. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,117 (5.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    it only makes you call and do the 5 min thing when u activate them.
  20. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,299 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Thank you sir!
  21. ex_reven New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    5,225 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Thats incorrect. OEM is exactly the same as the full version, it just lacks the documentation that noobs crave. :)
  22. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,299 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Everything works perfectly, thanks!
  23. ex_reven New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    5,225 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Im sure Wile E would like another thanks added to his rather large collection :roll:

    :toast:
    Wile E says thanks.
  24. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,299 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Done!

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page